Left arrow

PDC Home Tour 2020 Draw, Live Scores and Schedule of Play

Right arrow

PDC Home Tour live stream: How to watch exclusively live online

Anderson and Gurney withdraw from PDC Home Tour due to WiFi issues

Jamie Shaw in PDC Home Tour 17 Apr 2020
Gary Anderson has blamed his internet provider for a slow connection (Photo by PDC)

Gary Anderson and Daryl Gurney are the latest big names to pull out of the PDC Home Tour.

The two Premier League stars have withdrawn from the event, which gets underway on Friday, due to issues with their home internet connection.

All 128 Tour Card Holders had been given the opportunity to take part in the inaugural PDC Home Tour, which will feature four players in action each night.

A daily league format will see all four competitors play each other once, with a winner crowned each night.

Following the conclusion of the initial 32 nights of league phase action, the 32 group winners will advance to the second phase of the competition.

Anderson was the first to opt out of the competition, citing WiFi issues in his Burnham-on-Sea home, before Londonderry-based Gurney quickly followed suit.

This comes after world number one Michael van Gerwen told Dutch broadcaster RTL7 that he will not participate.

Van Gerwen said: “I cannot meet the requirements of the PDC.

“For example, it has to be quiet, but with a newborn baby, a child of 2.5 years and three dogs, it really won’t work. It is also two match days in the month. My training hours with Vincent (van der Voort) are worth more.”

It is unclear who will replace withdrawn Tour Card holders in the field, though Challenge Tour players are expected to be drafted in as top-ups.

Though the event does not count towards the Order of Merit, players will receive a fixed appearance fee.

The format will mirror that of the recent PDC At Home events, with the action commencing from 7.30pm and commentary and on-screen live scoring available.

The tournament gets underway on Friday April 17 and will be streamed exclusively live online, with all matches to be contested over the best of nine legs.