Left arrow

Whitlock edges Van Gerwen in epic decider on incredible Quarter-Final day at the Grand Slam of Darts

Right arrow

De Sousa and Wade confirm Grand Slam of Darts final clash

Grand Slam of Darts 2020 Semi-Finals preview and order of play: Final four face off

Jamie Shaw in Grand Slam of Darts 23 Nov 2020
Wade and Van den Bergh go head-to-head (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The final four battle it out at the 2020 Grand Slam of Darts on Monday as they aim to move a step closer to the £125,000 title.

A new name is guaranteed to be inscribed on the Eric Bristow Trophy come Tuesday night, with an evenly-matched quartet left standing in Coventry.

An incredible day of Quarter-Final action saw 121 of a possible 124 legs played on Sunday, with two matches going all the way to a last-leg decider.

The darting drama is set to continue on Monday, with three major winners and one of the sport’s most impressive rising stars comprising the Semi-Final line-up.

Simon Whitlock pulled off an astonishing 16-15 victory over three-time champion Michael van Gerwen last night, landing a tournament record twenty 180s and surviving eight match darts in the process.

The Australian ace had previously never been beyond the Last Eight stage in three previous attempts, but recorded his third straight televised triumph over the world number one to keep his title dream alive.

Whitlock is looking to end an eight-year wait for a major title, with his first and only so far having come at the 2012 European Championship.

The 2010 PDC world finalist came through the qualifier to book his place in this event and continued his outstanding resurgence to move within one win of an eighth PDC major final.

Looking to break the spell of ‘The Wizard’ is Portuguese sensation Jose De Sousa – who has enjoyed a dream run to the penultimate stage in his debut Grand Slam appearance.

The three-time PDC ranking event winner has continued his meteoric rise up the world rankings which will see him reach at least 24th come the end of the tournament.

The Special One finished runner-up behind Michael Smith in Group C but went on to defeat ‘Bully Bully’ 16-14 in an epic Quarter-Final tussle on Sunday afternoon.

He has already made history as Portugal’s most successful darting export and will look to stay the distance again over the long format and extend Whitlock’s wait for a second piece of major silverware.

The second Semi-Final sees nine-time major winner James Wade up against reigning World Matchplay champion Dimitri van den Bergh.

Van den Bergh has been arguably the stand-out performer of the tournament so far, setting a new Grand Slam record average of 118.45 alongside two further ton-plus averages in topping his group.

He then went on to thrash Jonny Clayton 10-3 in the Last 16 with a 103.6 average, before edging out Premier League finalist Nathan Aspinall 16-15 in a marathon battle with a 97.8 average.

Quarter-finalist in 2018, the year in which he also hit a nine-darter, Van den Bergh has broken new ground this week and has twice missed double 12 for the perfect leg once again.

The charismatic Belgian is looking to add to his remarkable World Matchplay title in July, but faces another formidable hurdle against one of the sport’s most experienced and consistent performers.

Wade is out to book his place in a third Grand Slam final a decade on from his first – in which he squandered an 8-0 lead in an eventual 16-12 defeat to Scott Waites.

Runner-up in the recent European Championship, ‘The Machine’ appears rebooted and refocused as he looks to add to his tally of nine televised titles – the third most in PDC history.

Wade dropped only seven legs in topping his group with maximum points, before thrashing Ian White 10-4 with a 98 average and overcoming Damon Heta 16-13 with a clinical 101.6 average.

The Aldershot ace has not lost in a major Semi-Final since the 2016 European Championship and will be out to utilise his vast experience against the lively young talent.

The action gets underway from 7pm GMT, with Semi-Final matches to be contested over the best of 31 legs.


Boylesports Grand Slam of Darts 2020 Schedule

Monday November 23


7.15pm Simon Whitlock v Jose De Sousa
8.45pm James Wade v Dimitri Van den Bergh