Left arrow

Gibraltar Darts Trophy 2019 Day One preview and order of play: Qualifiers collide on The Rock

Right arrow

Rydz tops Challenge Tour Order of Merit as Noguera also secures PDC Tour Card

Durrant battles back to deny Dobey as Van Gerwen launches Gibraltar Trophy title defence

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 29 Sep 2019
Durrant denies Dobey to reach the Last 16 (credit:PDC Europe)
Glen Durrant battled back from 3-0 and 4-1 down to defeat Chris Dobey 6-4 in Round Two of the Gibraltar Darts Trophy on Saturday, while Michael van Gerwen saw off Jose De Sousa in his opening tie.
Durrant, the reigning Lakeside Champion, recovered from a slow start to book his place in Sunday’s Last 16 at the Victoria Stadium with a 104 average.
Defending champion Van Gerwen got off and running with a 6-3 victory over Portuguese star De Sousa – who looked on course to pull off a famous win when he led 3-1 before the world number one reeled off five consecutive legs to progress with a 103.5 average.
Elsewhere, Michael Smith confirmed his place in October’s European Championship courtesy of a 6-1 rout of Danny Noppert despite an average of just 85.
Grand Slam champion Gerwyn Price whitewashed Gibraltar’s David Francis 6-0 with a 98 average, while Peter Wright disposed of the other remaining host nation qualifier Dyson Parody for the loss of just one leg, averaging 100.
Jonny Clayton was the only seeded player to bow out at the first hurdle as he went down 6-3 to an inspired Kim Huybrechts, while Dutch World Cup star Jermaine Wattimena pulled off an impressive 6-2 win over Dimitri van den Bergh.
UK Open champion Nathan Aspinall registered a blistering 109.8 average and five 180s on his way to a 6-4 defeat of Ryan Joyce, while Rob Cross saw off Poland’s Krzysztof Kciuk 6-3 with an average of just 87.
Kcuik’s compatriot Krzysztof Ratajski fared better in his clash with Steve Beaton as he prevailed 6-3 with high checkouts of 124 and 126, while Daryl Gurney safely dispatched debutant qualifier Carl Wilkinson 6-4.
Dave Chisnall averaged 103 and landed five maximums in a high quality last-leg victory over Jeffrey de Zwaan, as James Wade overcame veteran Paul Rowley 6-2 and Ian White powered past Germany’s Michael Rosenauer 6-1.
Joe Cullen began his quest for a second Euro Tour title of the season by defeating Ritchie Edhouse 6-3 with a 98.5 average and four 180s, as Mensur Suljovic thrashed Dutch youngster Wessel Nijman 6-1 to set up a Last 16 show-down with Wright.

Gibraltar Darts Trophy 2019 Results

Saturday September 28
Second Round
Afternoon Session
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Ryan Joyce
James Wade 6-2 Paul Rowley
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Steve Beaton
Jonny Clayton 3-6 Kim Huybrechts
Rob Cross 6-3 Krzysztof Kciuk
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Carl Wilkinson
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Michael Smith 6-1 Danny Noppert
Evening Session
Ian White 6-1 Michael Rosenauer
Jermaine Wattimena 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Wessel Nijman
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Jose De Sousa
Peter Wright 6-1 Dyson Parody
Joe Cullen 6-3 Ritchie Edhouse
Glen Durrant 6-4 Chris Dobey
Gerwyn Price 6-0 David Francis