Left arrow

German Darts Championship 2020 Day Three preview and order of play: Title hunt culminates in Hildesheim

Right arrow

European Darts Grand Prix live stream: How to watch live online

Prolific Petersen picks up first PDC title at the German Darts Championship

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 27 Sep 2020
Petersen claims glory in Hildesheim (Photo by Tobias Wenzel/PDC Europe)

Devon Petersen created history by securing his first PDC ranking title at the German Darts Championship in Hildesheim, defeating Jonny Clayton 8-3 in the final.

Petersen had come agonisingly close to opening his account during the Autumn Series a fortnight ago, missing four match darts in defeat to Gerwyn Price in the final.

However, the South African star went one better at Halle 39 in Hildesheim as he clinched the £25,000 top prize to become the latest new winner on the European Tour.

Petersen averaged 99 or above in each of his games from Round Two onwards, culminating in a 102.7 average in a dominant display to deny Clayton a second Euro Tour triumph.

“I’ve been working hard for what feels like a lifetime, since I was 15-years-old,” said an emotional Petersen.

“The last two to three years have felt like the hardest because of the level of players I’ve been competing against.

“Sometimes you just feel like you’re never going to get there because the players out there are so good.

“Losing to Gerwyn Price at the Autumn Series spurred me on to win this title.

“It’s an amazing feeling. To stand on this stage as a PDC champion in front of fans is just fantastic, it’s a very special night for me.”

Petersen celebrates a landmark triumph (Photo by Tobias Wenzel/PDC Europe)

Petersen’s victory sees him become the first African player to pick up a PDC ranking title and also secures him a place in November’s Grand Slam of Darts.

He climbs ten places in the main Order of Merit to 41st and will be a debutant in Monday’s World Grand Prix draw.

Clayton, who secured his place in the World Grand Prix this weekend, admitted: “Devon is absolutely class and this is well deserved.

“He’s been in tremendous form for months and he’s proven to the darting world that he’s on the map.

“For myself this weekend has been brilliant. I’ve enjoyed some good wins and the German crowd were great as always.”

Petersen quickly took charge of the final, taking out 76 to establish a 2-0 lead before finishing 70 and 78 in storming 5-1 ahead.

He then missed one dart at double 16, allowing Clayton to stop the rot in leg seven, but atoned for it in the following leg with a 64 checkout.

Clayton landed double 16 to peg back to 6-3 behind, but Petersen powered on towards the winning line, hitting double 16 before firing in a sixth 180 and double 18 to complete a memorable triumph.

Petersen had begun the final day with a narrow last-leg victory over Rob Cross with a 100.5 average, before overcoming Krzysztof Ratajaski 6-3 in the Quarter-Finals.

The African Warrior then sealed his spot in the final with a 7-4 win over Danny Noppert with a 100.7 average.

Clayton’s run to the final included a 6-3 victory over World Champion Peter Wright, a thrilling 6-5 success over Dave Chisnall and a commanding 7-3 defeat of Mervyn King.

King had kicked off the day’s action with a 6-1 rout of a below-par Michael van Gerwen – who averaged just 89.6.

Following the German Darts Championship, the 32-man field for the upcoming World Grand Prix is now confirmed, with Adrian Lewis holding on to the 16th and final spot via the main Order of Merit and Kim Huybrechts securing the 16th and final berth from the ProTour Order of Merit.


German Darts Championship 2020 Results

Sunday September 27

Afternoon Session

Last 16
Michael van Gerwen 1-6 Mervyn King
Mensur Suljovic 1-6 James Wade
Peter Wright 3-6 Jonny Clayton
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Nathan Aspinall
Max Hopp 4-6 Danny Noppert
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Glen Durrant
Devon Petersen 6-5 Rob Cross
Krzysztof Ratajaski 6-2 Joe Cullen

Evening Session

Mervyn King 6-2 James Wade
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Dave Chisnall
Danny Noppert 6-2 Daryl Gurney
Devon Petersen 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski

Mervyn King 3-7 Jonny Clayton
Danny Noppert 4-7 Devon Petersen

Devon Petersen 8-3 Jonny Clayton