Left arrow

Rydz runs riot against Wright at the Gibraltar Darts Trophy

Right arrow

Price claims glory at the 2021 Gibraltar Darts Trophy

Gibraltar Darts Trophy 2021 Day Three preview and order of play | Euro Tour draws to a close

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 26 Sep 2021
Joe Cullen reacts (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The 2021 PDC European Tour draws to a close on Sunday as the 16 remaining hopefuls battle it out at the Gibraltar Darts Trophy.

The final chapter of this year’s brief Euro Tour campaign sees eleven seeds and five qualifiers compete for the £25,000 title at the Europa Sports Park.

Michael van Gerwen is bidding to claim this title for the fourth time and go back-to-back in the space of a week, having ended his drought at the Nordic Masters in Copenhagen last Saturday.

The record 32-time European Tour event winner brushed aside Rob Cross with a 100 average in Saturday’s opener and now takes on former World Cup team-mate Danny Noppert in the Last 16 on Sunday afternoon.

Noppert, who missed the Hungarian Darts Trophy due to personal reasons, secured his place in the European Championship courtesy of a comfortable 6-2 win over Sweden’s Andreas Harrysson on Saturday.

Krzysztof Ratajski, who won the most recent staging of this event two years ago, steps up his title defence with a clash against a fellow former World Master – Adam Smith-Neale.

Smith-Neale, a UK Associate Member Qualifier, has enjoyed a dream Euro Tour debut this weekend, defeating Justin Broton and Premier League champion Jonny Clayton to gatecrash the European Championship.

James Wade, winner here in 2014, faces a tough test against German number one Gabriel Clemens – who has dispatched Luke Humphries and Devon Petersen en route to this stage.

Simon Whitlock, whose sole Euro Tour title came nine years ago, looks to remain on course to end the long drought when he faces multiple Development Tour event winner Ted Evetts – who defeated Dirk van Duijvenbode in Round Two.

Despite pulling out of last week’s Nordic Masters, world number one Gerwyn Price showed no sign of injury problems as he swept aside Germany’s Florian Hempel 6-1 with a 97 average on Saturday.

The Welshman now faces former Brisbane Masters winner Damon Heta – who dispatched Adam Hunt in his opener and is out to avenge three defeats to Price this season.

Callan Rydz has proved the stand-out performer of the weekend so far and will look to continue his blistering spell of form when he faces 14th seed Brendan Dolan.

Rydz followed up his 103 average in Round One with a sensational 110.7 average and a 170 checkout in dumping out Peter Wright on Saturday.

Grand Slam champion Jose de Sousa comes up against a resurgent Mensur Suljovic – runner-up in the World Cup of Darts a fortnight ago.

Top seed and two-time Euro Tour event winner Joe Cullen takes on former UK Open champion Nathan Aspinall in the final match of the afternoon, with ‘The Asp’ aiming to follow up his impressive 102.5 average in the last round.

The action gets under way from 12pm BST, with all matches up to and including the Quarter-Finals to be contested over the best of 11 legs, Semi-Finals best of 13 and the final best of 15.


Gibraltar Darts Trophy 2021 Day Three Schedule of Play

All times BST – Local time one hour ahead

Sunday September 26

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)

Third Round
Simon Whitlock v Ted Evetts
Callan Rydz v Brendan Dolan
Adam Smith-Neale v Krzysztof Ratajski
Jose De Sousa v Mensur Suljovic
Gerwyn Price v Damon Heta
Michael van Gerwen v Danny Noppert
James Wade v Gabriel Clemens
Joe Cullen v Nathan Aspinall

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)

Rydz/Dolan v Whitlock/Evetts
De Sousa/Suljovic v Smith-Neale/Ratajski
Van Gerwen/Noppert v Price/Heta
Cullen/Aspinall v Wade/Clemens



Today's Top Offers

  • Watch the New South Wales Darts Masters streamed live
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register