Left arrow

Gerwyn Price and Adrian Lewis clash at the Czech Darts Open

Right arrow

Czech Darts Open 2022 | Day Three Preview and Order of Play

Jose Justicia stuns Jonny Clayton at the Czech Darts Open as Price and Smith also crash out

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 14 May 2022
Justicia knocks out Clayton (Photo by Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe)

Jose Justicia pulled off a shock victory over Jonny Clayton in Round Two of the 2022 Czech Darts Open on Saturday, as nine seeds departed the competition.

World number 102 Justicia enjoyed one of the biggest wins of his career to date as he dispatched Premier League champion Clayton in a last-leg decider.

The Spaniard, who averaged 98 in a high quality contest, defied an average of 100.4 from ‘The Ferret’ as he landed six from ten on the doubles in a fine display.

Justicia will now face Jose de Sousa in his maiden European Tour Third Round appearance, with the Portuguese ace having safely seen off Martijn Kleermaker 6-2.

Adrian Lewis came out on top in a fiery encounter with number one seed Gerwyn Price, reeling off five consecutive legs from 3-1 down to claim a 6-3 victory.

The two-time World Champion narrowly missed double 12 for a nine-darter in leg seven – which he eventually won in 18 darts on double three.

A fourth straight leg followed for ‘Jackpot’, before he produced an assured 13-darter to complete the turnaround, punishing 15 missed darts at doubles from the Welshman.

Lewis had approached and hugged Price after hitting the winning double, but the Welshman did not welcome his opponent’s embrace.

The pair then exchanged words, with referee Russ Bray stepping in to defuse the situation before an irate Price departed the stage.

Lewis will now faces Vincent van der Voort in Sunday’s Last 16 after he overcame Germany’s Martin Schindler in a deciding leg.

Masters winner Joe Cullen joined the list of seeded casualties as he went down 6-4 to Ross Smith after missing 12 darts at doubles.

Michael van Gerwen launched his quest for a third consecutive Euro Tour title with a routine 6-2 win over Czech qualifier Vitezslav Sedlak despite an average of just 86.

Home hopes on the final day will rest on Adam Gawlas – who delighted a partisan Prague crowd by sealing a 6-4 scalp of eighth seed Damon Heta.

Gawlas will now take on in-form Ryan Searle – who stormed to a 6-0 whitewash of Ritchie Edhouse with a 107.4 average.

Rowby-John Rodriguez is through to the Last 16 of a European Tour event for the first time in three years after he saw off recent double ProTour winner Michael Smith 6-4.

The 2021 World Cup of Darts finalist will now take on Dirk van Duijvenbode – who sealed a 6-3 success over Czech number two Karel Sedlacek.

Dave Chisnall battled back from 4-2 down to defeat Daryl Gurney 6-5 in a thrilling encounter which saw both players average 103, with Gurney missing one match dart.

A repeat of last month’s German Darts Grand Prix final saw Luke Humphries once again comfortably come out on top 6-1 over Martin Lukeman.

Dimitri van den Bergh racked up an eighth consecutive victory over Nathan Aspinall, closing out a hard-fought 6-4 success.

Ricky Evans was the first player to seal a Third Round spot following an emphatic whitewash of Krzysztof Ratajski with a 103.6 average and six from seven on the doubles.

Evans now faces European Champion Rob Cross – who piled in three ton-plus checkouts en route to an impressive 6-2 victory over American debutant Jules van Dongen.

Mickey Mansell held his nerve to edge out Northern Irish compatriot Brendan Dolan in a last-leg decider and set up a show-down with MVG on Sunday.


Czech Darts Open 2022 Day Two Results

Saturday May 14

Second Round

Afternoon Session
Krzysztof Ratajski 0-6 Ricky Evans
Brendan Dolan 5-6 Mickey Mansell
Luke Humphries 6-1 Martin Lukeman
Rob Cross 6-2 Jules van Dongen
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4 Nathan Aspinall
Jose de Sousa 6-2 Martijn Kleermaker
Daryl Gurney 5-6 Dave Chisnall
Michael Smith 4-6 Rowby-John Rodriguez

Evening Session
Damon Heta 4-6 Adam Gawlas
Martin Schindler 5-6 Vincent van der Voort
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Karel Sedlacek
Jonny Clayton 5-6 Jose Justicia
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Vítězslav Sedlák
Gerwyn Price 3-6 Adrian Lewis
Joe Cullen 4-6 Ross Smith
Ryan Searle 6-0 Ritchie Edhouse

  • Watch The Masters streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register
  • Get £40 in Bonuses when you register and stake £10
  • Price Boosts and Specials on all Darts events