Left arrow

Belgian Darts Championship 2020 Day Three preview and order of play: Last 16 vie for glory in Hasselt

Right arrow

PDC European Tour hit with double postponement due to Coronavirus outbreak

Price picks up inaugural Belgian Darts Championship title

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 01 Mar 2020
Price secures the £25,000 title (Photo by PDC Europe)

Gerwyn Price secured the first European Tour silverware of the season at the 2020 Belgian Darts Championship in Hasselt courtesy of an 8-3 rout of Michael Smith in the final.

Price followed up last Sunday’s Players Championship triumph to double his title tally for the season and claim the third European Tour trophy of his career.

The world number three, who is unbeaten in this season’s Premier League, began the final day in Hasselt by whitewashing Jamie Hughes 6-0 with a 103.6 average.

He then swept aside Mensur Suljovic 6-2 with a 100 average in the Quarter-Finals before recovering from 3-0 down to defeat Dirk van Duijvenbode 7-4 with three ton-plus checkouts along the way.

It was Smith who took the opening leg of the final before Price responded with an 81 checkout for a 12-darter to level.

Smith took out 85 to regain the lead, but Price turned on the style with a rampant run of six consecutive legs, which included checkouts of 112 and 126.

The Welshman missed one match dart in leg ten as Smith stopped the rot, but Price polished off victory with a fifth 180 and tops.

“The crowd were fantastic all weekend, I appreciate everything from them,” said Price.

“I think my checkouts this weekend kept me in the games.

“I hit some big shots when I needed them most to change the way some games were going.

“I think I played pretty well all the way through the tournament and hopefully I can keep this form going into the Premier League and UK Open next week.”

Smith was bidding for his first title of 2020, having also finished runner-up at The Masters last month, but failed to kick on from a promising start to the final.

He began the day by edging out world number one Michael van Gerwen thanks to a 105 checkout in the deciding leg, extending the Dutchman’s wait for a first title of the season.

Smith then thrashed Mervyn King 6-1 with a blistering 107.8 average before overcoming World Champion Peter Wright 7-5 with a 102 average.

Van Duijvenbode enjoyed a superb run to his first European Tour Semi-Final after regaining his Tour Card at European Qualifying School in January.

Van Duivenbode defeated Luke Woodhouse and Ian White in the opening two rounds and went on to pull off further wins over Jeffrey de Zwaan and UK Open champion Nathan Aspinall.

Mensur Suljovic came within the width of the wire of a nine-darter against Steve West in the Last 16 as he narrowly missed double 18 for the 141 checkout.

Belgian Darts Championship 2020 Results

Sunday March 1

Third Round

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)
Michael van Gerwen 5-6 Michel Smith
Mervyn King 6-3 Martijn Kleermaker
Peter Wright 6-3 Danny Noppert
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Rob Cross
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Jeffrey de Zwaan
James Wade 4-6 Nathan Aspinall
Gerwyn Price 6-0 Jamie Hughes
Mensur Suljovic 6-4 Steve West

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)

Michael Smith 6-1 Mervyn King
Peter Wright 6-4 Krzysztof Ratajski
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5 Nathan Aspinall
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Mensur Suljovic

Michael Smith 7-5 Peter Wright
Gerwyn Price 7-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Gerwyn Price 8-3 Michael Smith