Left arrow

BBC to broadcast inaugural World Seniors Darts Championship

Right arrow

Ted Hankey withdraws from World Seniors Championship

Burness and Howson complete 2022 World Seniors Championship field

Jamie Shaw in World Seniors Darts 15 Nov 2021
Burness is heading to the Circus Tavern (Photo by PDC)

Kevin Burness and Richie Howson will compete in the 2022 World Seniors Championship after coming through the qualifiers.

The World Seniors Championship is a joint venture between MODUS Sports and Snooker Legends promoter Jason Francis, open to any amateur player over the age of 50.

The tournament runs from February 3-6 at the Circus Tavern in Purfleet – the legendary former home of the PDC World Championship.

The event will incorporate a top prize of £30,000 – exceeding that of the last BDO World Championship – and features 12 former World Champions from both PDC and BDO codes, plus a further ten invited players.

The qualifiers took place at The Crucible Club in Reading last weekend, with former PDC Tour Card Holder Howson defeating former PDC World Championship qualifier Ian Moss 6-5 in the final of Qualifier One.

Sunday’s Qualifier Two saw two-time PDC World Championship participant Burness defeat five-time Lakeside qualifier Dave Prins 6-3 in the final.

The field is headed by 16-time World Champion Phil Taylor, who was the first player to be confirmed back in April.

At 75, three-time World Champion John Lowe is set to be the oldest player in the line-up, ahead of 73-year-old Bob Anderson.

Wayne Warren, the 2020 BDO World Champion, will also be in action, alongside 1995 Lakeside Champion Richie Burnett.

Keith Deller, the 1983 World Champion, will also feature, having also won the League of Legends event back in 2009.

Ladies legend Trina Gulliver MBE will make her return to televised action, alongside two-time BDO World Champion Ted Hankey and 1997 World Champion Les Wallace.

John Part is one of two former PDC World Champions in action, while three-time BDO World Champion Martin Adams and 2001 champion John Walton also accepted their invitations.

Former PDC world finalists Kevin Painter and Peter Manley are among the wildcards, as well as crowd favourites Tony O’Shea and Terry Jenkins.

Multiple major winner Robert Thornton, who dropped off the PDC circuit at the end of last season, also features alongside former UK Open champion Roland Scholten and Singapore legend Paul Lim.

Two-time World Champion Dennis Priestley, two-time world finalist Bobby George and 2009 Women’s World Champion Francis Hoenselaar have each accepted ambassadorial roles.

All matches are to be shown live on the BBC iPlayer and BBC Sport website in the UK. The draw will be confirmed in due course.


World Seniors Championship 2022 field

Phil Taylor
Keith Deller
Bob Anderson
Martin Adams
John Walton
Wayne Warren
John Lowe
Ted Hankey
Richie Burnett
John Part
Les Wallace
Trina Gulliver
Kevin Painter
Tony O’Shea
Terry Jenkins
Peter Manley
Robert Thornton
Roland Scholten
Paul Lim
Darryl Fitton
Deta Hedman
Alan Warriner-Little
Richie Howson (Q)
Kevin Burness (Q)

Qualifier One Results (QFs onwards)

Colin McGarry 5-4 Jim McEwan
Richie Howson 5-4 Brian Dawson
Ian Moss 5-3 Dave Prins
Kevin Burness 5-4 Johnny Haines

Richie Howson 6-4 Colin McGarry
Ian Moss 6-2 Kevin Burness

Richie Howson 6-5 Ian Moss

Qualifier Two Results (QFs onwards)

Mark Layton 5-1 Paul Holloway
Kevin Burness 5-2 Johnny Haines
Dave Prins 5-1 Jim Walker
David Airey 5-1 Gareaint Thomas

Kevin Burness 6-1 Mark Layton
Dave Prins 6- 2 David Airey

Kevin Burness 6-3 Dave Prins