Left arrow

WDF World Championship 2022 | Day Three Preview and Order of Play

Right arrow

WDF World Championship 2022 | Day Five Preview and Order of Play

WDF World Championship 2022 | Day Four Preview and Order of Play

Jamie Shaw in WDF Darts 05 Apr 2022
Wayne Warren reacts (Photo by PDC)

The Second Round action continues at the 2022 WDF World Darts Championship at Lakeside on Tuesday as a host of familiar names begin their campaigns.

Four seeded players safely progressed on Day Three of the inaugural event on Monday, including 15-year-old sensation Luke Littler and top seed Brian Raman.

The Women’s draw saw Rhian O’Sullivan continue her superb run of form by knocking out second seed Corrine Hammond in a third set decider, joining Maria O’Brien in the Quarter-Finals.

The afternoon session on Tuesday kicks off with a clash between Nick Fullwell – one of five PDC Tour Card holders competing in the event – and Canadian qualifier Rory Hansen, who defeated Mark Barilli in straight sets in his opener.

Women’s number three seed Anca Zijlstra aims to reach her first World Championship Quarter-Final since 2016 at the expense of Dutch compatriot Priscilla Steenbergen.

Northern Ireland’s Neil Duff, the number five seed, marks his Lakeside debut with a clash against Australian veteran Justin Thompson – who dispatched Paul Hogan in straight sets in Round One.

Cameron Menzies, who secured a PDC Tour Card at Qualifying School in January for the first time, has been installed as one of the favourites to claim glory on his return to Frimley Green.

The four-time PDC Challenge Tour event winner and number 14 seed starts out against Lakeside debutant Ian Jones – who battled his way past Canada’s David Cameron in a third set decider on Sunday.

The evening session commences with a tie between sixth seed James Hurrell, a former World Masters quarter-finalist, and Belgium’s John Desreumaux.

Third seed Wayne Warren, the last ever winner of the BDO World Championship two years ago, starts his campaign as unofficial defending champion against England’s Lee Shewan.

Warren defeated fellow Welshman Jim Williams in the final at the Indigo O2 in 2020 but his triumph was tarnished by significantly reduced prize money and a bitter dispute over the trophy with controversial BDO Chairman Des Jacklin.

Kirsty Hutchinson, the 2021 Welsh Open winner and sixth seed in the women’s competition, marks her first Lakeside appearance with a tie against Jo Clements – who qualified via the WDF world rankings.

Jules van Dongen, the Dutch-born American who recently clinched a PDC Tour Card at Q School, opens up against rapid Dutchman Ryan de Vreede – who edged out Italy’s Francesco Raschini 2-1 at the weekend.

The action gets under way from 1pm BST, with all Men’s Second Round ties to be contested over the best of five sets and Women’s Second Round ties best of three sets. All sets are best of five legs.


WDF World Championship 2022 Day Four Schedule

Tuesday April 5

R2 – Nick Fullwell v Rory Hansen
R2 – Anca Zijlstra v Priscilla Steenbergen
R2 – Neil Duff v Justin Thompson
R2 – Cameron Menzies v Ian Jones

R2 – James Hurrell v John Desreumaux
R2 – Kirsty Hutchinson v Jo Clements
R2 – Jules van Dongen v Ryan de Vreede
R2 – Wayne Warren v Lee Shewan