Left arrow

WDF World Championship 2022 postponed until April

Right arrow

Fallon Sherrock in WDF World Championship U-turn as Russian competitors withdrawn

PDC grants exemption for new Tour Card Holders to compete in WDF World Championship

Jamie Shaw in WDF Darts 31 Jan 2022
Cameron Menzies celebrates (Photo by PDC Europe)

The PDC has granted a special exemption for new Tour Card Holders to participate in the 2022 WDF World Championship.

The PDC’s Player Contract requires Tour Card Holders to obtain permission to compete in broadcasted events which are not organised by the PDC.

The WDF World Championship had been scheduled for early January before being moved to early April, with seven original qualifiers subsequently securing a PDC Tour Card at Qualifying School a fortnight ago.

Following a meeting, the PDC’s Board of Directors have agreed a one-off exception to permit these seven players to compete without penalty in the rearranged event.

The seven players are: Nick Fullwell, Cameron Menzies, Ross Montgomery, Brian Raman, Connor Scutt, Mario Vandenbogaerde and Jules van Dongen.

Of those seven players, Scotland’s Montgomery and Belgium’s Vandenbogaerde have declined their invitations to participate.

They will be replaced in the draw by the highest ranked players in the WDF regional tables that had not previously accepted the original invitation to compete: Roman Obukhov and Donovan Lottering. New Zealand’s Warren Parry declined an invitation.

The 2022 WDF World Championship will take place at the Lakeside Country Club in Frimley Green from April 2-10.

The tournament marks the sport’s televised return to Lakeside for the first time since 2019 – when the BDO hosted its penultimate World Championship before being liquidated the following year.

The men’s event will incorporate a prize fund of £200,000, with £50,000 on offer to the winner, while the women’s event features a total prize fund of £87,500, with a £25,000 top prize up for grabs.

The top 16 players are seeded through to the Second Round of the men’s draw, while the next highest 16 players from the WDF world rankings join a series of qualifiers in Round One.

Raman is the number one seed in the Men’s Draw, ahead of France’s Thibault Tricole and 2020 BDO World Champion Wayne Warren.

Three-time BDO World Champion Martin Adams is the oldest player in the field at 65 and has been drawn to face 21-year-old Lakeside debutant Jarred Cole – a former PDC Development Tour event winner.

Luke Littler will make his senior Lakeside debut at the age of 14, while the likes of James Richardson, Richard Veenstra and Dave Parletti also feature.

Deta Hedman is the top seed in the Women’s Draw and is joined by former World Champions Mikuru Suzuki and Anastasia Dobromyslova.


WDF World Championship 2022 Schedule

Saturday April 2
R1 – Martin Adams (Eng) v Jarred Cole (Eng)
R1 – Leonard Gates (US) v Johnny Haines (Eng)
R1 – Paula Jacklin (Eng) v Rhian O’Sullivan (Wal)
R1 – Ben Hazel (Eng) v Haupai Puha (NZ)
R1 – Andreas Harrysson (Swe) v Laszlo Kadar (Rom)
R1 – Amanda Harwood (Eng) v Marjolein Noijens (Ned)

R1 – Jim McEwan (Sco) v Roman Obukhov (RDF)
R1 – Corrine Hammond (Aus) v Darlene van Sleeuwen (Can)
R1 – Mark Barilli (Sco) v Rory Hansen (Can)
R1 – Mark Graham (Wal) v Dave Prins (Eng)
R1 – Suzanne Smith (Eng) v Elena Shulgina (RDF)
R1 – Paul Hogan (Eng) v Justin Thompson (Aus)

Sunday April 3

R1 – Ian Jones (Eng) v David Cameron (Can)
R1 – John Desreumaux (Bel) v Donovan Lottering (Aus)
R1 – Lorraine Hyde (Sco) v Tori Kewish (Aus)
R1 – Francesco Raschini (Ita) v Ryan de Vreede (Ned)
R1 – Lee Shewan (Eng) v Jordan Brooks (Eng)
R1 – Vicky Pruim (Swe) v Desi Mercer (NZ)

R1 – Dave Parletti (Eng) v Shaun McDonald (Sco)
R1 – Paula Murphy (US) v Veronika Ihasz (Hun)
R1 – Connor Scutt (Eng) v Shawn Burt (Can)
R1 – Steve Hine (Eng) v Kevin Luke (US)
R1 – Laura Turner (Eng) v Mikuru Suzuki (Jpn)
R1 – James Richardson (Eng) v Sebastian Steyer (Pol)

Monday April 4

R2 – Michael Warburton.13 (Wal) v Graham/Prins
R2 – Maria O’Brien.7 (Eng) v Harwood/Noijens
R2 – Aaron Turner (Eng) v McEwan/Obukhov
R2 – Luke Littler.8 (Eng) v Hazel/Puha

R2 – Antony Allen.16 (Eng) v Adams/Cole
R2 – Anastasia Dobromyslova.2 (RDF) v Jacklin/O’Sullivan
R2 – Richard Veenstra.9 (Ned) v Harrysson/Kadar
R2 – Brian Raman.1 (Bel) v Gates/Haines

Tuesday April 5

R2 – Nick Fullwell.12 (Eng) v Barilli/Hansen
R2 – Anca Zijlstra.3 (Ned) v Hammond/van Sleeuwen
R2 – Neil Duff.5 (Nir) v Hogan/Thompson
R2 – Cameron Menzies.14 (Sco) v Jones/Cameron

R2 – James Hurrell.6 (Eng) v Desreumaux/Lottering
R2 – Kirsty Hutchinson.6 (Eng) v Smith/Shulgina
R2 – Jules van Dongen.11 (Ned) v Raschini/de Vreede
R2 – Wayne Warren.3 (Wal) v Shewan/Brooks

Wednesday April 6

R2 – Thibault Tricole.2 (Fra) v Scutt/Burt
R2 – DetaHedman.1 (Eng) v Hyde/Kewish
R2 – Aleksey Kadochnikov.15 (RDF) v Hine/Luke
R2 – Andy Baetens.7 (Bel) v Parletti/McDonald

R2 – Scott Marsh.10 (Eng) v Richardson/Steyer
R2 – Lorraine Winstanley.8 (Eng) v Pruim/Mercer
R3 – 2 x Men’s matches

Thursday April 7

R2 – Beau Greaves.5 (Eng) v Murphy/Ihasz
R3 – 3 x Men’s matches

R2 – Aileen de Graaf.4 (Ned) v Turner/Suzuki
R3 – 3 x Men’s matches

Friday April 8

QF – 2 x Women’s matches
QF – 2 x Men’s matches

QF – 2 x Women’s matches
QF – 2 x Men’s matches

Saturday April 9

SF – Boys: Luis Liptow (Ger) v Bradly Roes (Ned)
SF – Women
SF – Men

SF – Boys: Leighton Bennett (Eng) v Charlie Large (Eng)
SF – Women
SF – Men

Sunday April 10

FINAL – Girls: Eleanor Cairns (Eng) v Wibke Riemann (Ger)
FINAL – Boys
FINAL – Women

Today's Top Offers

  • Watch the New South Wales Darts Masters streamed live
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register
  • Get 6/1 for Usyk OR 15/1 for Joshua to win
  • Available to new 888 Sport customers