Left arrow

The race to the 2020 Betfred World Matchplay: Latest qualification tables

Right arrow

World Matchplay to feature crowd noise and virtual fan interaction

Betfred World Matchplay 2020 Draw: Cross to face Clemens

Jamie Shaw in World Matchplay 12 Jul 2020
Rob Cross is the defending champion (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Rob Cross will begin the defence of his Betfred World Matchplay title with a clash against Gabriel Clemens in Milton Keynes.

Cross, who claimed the title in 2019 courtesy of an 18-13 win over Michael Smith in the final, starts his latest campaign against German star Clemens – a former World Series event finalist.

World number one Michael van Gerwen, a two-time World Matchplay champion, has been handed a show-down with former World Grand Prix finalist Brendan Dolan.

This year’s Betfred World Matchplay will take place behind closed doors at the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes from July 18-26, with 32 players competing for the Phil Taylor Trophy.

It will be the first time the prestigious major has not been staged at the Winter Gardens in Blackpool since the tournament began in 1994.

The top 16 players in the PDC Order of Merit will be joined by the 16 highest ranked players from the ProTour Order of Merit.

Reigning World Champion Peter Wright, the number two seed, faces a stand-out opening tie against Portugal’s Jose De Sousa – one of three debutants in the field.

Gary Anderson, the 2018 champion, will face Taunton’s Justin Pipe, while 2007 champion and six-time finalist James Wade plays former World Youth Champion Keegan Brown.

Two-time Grand Slam champion Gerwyn Price faces Dutch ace Danny Noppert, while former Matchplay semi-finalists Glen Durrant and Jeffrey de Zwaan collide.

The full schedule of play will be confirmed in due course.


Betfred World Matchplay 2020 Draw

First Round

Michael van Gerwen (1) v Brendan Dolan
Peter Wright (2) v Jose De Sousa
Gerwyn Price (3) v Danny Noppert
Rob Cross (4) v Gabriel Clemens
Michael Smith (5) v Jonny Clayton
Nathan Aspinall (6) v Dimitri van den Bergh
Daryl Gurney (7) v Ricky Evans
Gary Anderson (8) v Justin Pipe
James Wade (9) v Keegan Brown
Dave Chisnall (10) v Vincent van der Voort
Ian White (11) v Joe Cullen
Mensur Suljovic (12) v Jamie Hughes
Krzysztof Ratajski (13) v Jermaine Wattimena
Adrian Lewis (14) v Steve Beaton
Glen Durrant (15) v Jeffrey de Zwaan
Simon Whitlock (16) v Ryan Joyce