Left arrow

Van Barneveld battles back to hold Price as Gurney denies Durrant in Glasgow

Right arrow

Cameron Menzies “schoolboy error” blows UK Open dream

Van Gerwen coasts to Players Championship Three triumph

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 16 Feb 2019
Van Gerwen celebrates victory (credit:Taylor Lanning)
Michael van Gerwen claimed his fourth PDC title of 2019 with victory at Players Championship Three in Wigan on Saturday, defeating Ian White 8-5 in the final.
Van Gerwen, the reigning World Champion and Masters king, followed up last Saturday’s success with further dominance at the Robin Park Sports Centre.
The world number one was below his best for much of the day, but did produce a flash of brilliance with a nine-dart finish in the Last 32 and was rarely troubled en route to collecting the £10,000 winner’s cheque.
“I didn’t really play well today so I was quite happy with my performance in the final,” said Van Gerwen.
“You always need to be a bit critical to yourself.
“I made a few mistakes here and there but I also had some phenomenally good finishing.
“I can be proud of myself even with the pressure on me and not playing my absolute best, I did it today.
“Ian had a tough run today and he had some good finishes as well so I had to play well and I’m glad I won.”
He began his run by defeating Ryan Searle 6-3 and overcoming Ross Smith 6-4, before landing his 18th career nine-darter to wrap up a 6-3 win over Jamie Hughes.
The unique perfect leg saw MVG register scores of 177 and 174 before landing a sensational 150 checkout to complete the feat.
He then denied World Youth Champion Dimitri van den Bergh 6-3 in a high quality contest which saw both players average 103, before ending the run of dangerous newcomer Gavin Carlin with a 6-3 triumph in the Quarter-Finals.
An average of just 91 proved sufficient for the Dutchman to see off Mervyn King 7-3 in a low-key Semi-Final.
Van Gerwen began the final with a 75 finish for first blood before following up a maximum with double 16 to double his lead.
White got off the mark in style with a 120 checkout and swiftly levelled up with a 60 finish, but Van Gerwen responded emphatically with a 160 checkout and a 13-darter to lead 4-2.
The duo traded the next two legs before MVG crashed in a magnificent 170 checkout and followed it up with a 160 outshot in the next leg to make it 7-3.
The clinical finishing continued as White hit back with checkouts of 127 and 105 to close the gap, but MVG duly completed the job in the following leg.
White, who topped the Players Championship Order of Merit in 2018, began his run with a 103 average in a 6-1 rout of Vincent Kamphuis before dispatching Mark Webster, Ryan Joyce and Darren Webster to reach the Last Eight.
There, he defeated Premier League ‘Contender’ John Henderson 6-4 before defying an average of 103 from Chris Dobey in the Semi-Finals with a ton average of his own in prevailing 7-5.
Ireland’s Carlin, a Tour Card winner at Qualifying School last month, enjoyed a superb run to his first ranking Quarter-Final, while Mervyn King notably averaged 110 in a 6-0 whitewash of Mickey Mansell en route to the Semi-Finals.
There was disappointment for three-time BDO World Champion Glen Durrant, who suffered a First Round exit at the hands of Luke Woodhouse, while the likes of James Wade, Simon Whitlock and Joe Cullen also crashed out at the first hurdle.

Players Championship Three Results

Saturday February 16
First Round
van Gerwen, Michael 6-3 Searle, Ryan
Smith, Ross 6-5 van Duivenbode, Mike
Hughes, Jamie 6-2 Clemens , Gabriel
Michael, John 6-3 Killington, George
Wattimena, Jermaine 6-1 Eastwood, Gary
Van den Bergh, Dimitri 6-2 Clark, Matt
Thornton, Robert 6-2 Bunting, Stephen
Schindler, Martin 6-5 Dekker, Jan
Smith, Michael 6-2 Hunt, Adam
Carlin, Gavin 6-4 Prins, Dave
De Zwaan, Jeffrey 6-4 Rodriguez, Rowby John
Tabern, Alan 6-5 Monk, Arron
Price, Gerwyn 6-2 Barnard, Michael
Bates, Barrie 6-2 Whitehead, Conan
Lennon, Steve 6-2 Nentjes, Geert
Huybrechts, Kim 6-3 Hudson, Peter
Suljovic, Mensur 6-0 Dootson, Eddie
Evetts, Ted 6-0 Kist, Christian
Meulenkamp, Ron 6-4 Payne, Josh
Huybrechts, Ronny 6-3 Klaasen, Jelle
Owen, Robert 6-5 Cullen, Joe
Koltsov, Boris 6-3 Burness, Kevin
West, Steve 6-4 Labanauskas, Darius
Stevenson, Simon 6-1 Murschell, Dawson
O’Connor, William 6-5 Wade, James
Dolan, Brendan 6-2 van Duijvenbode, Dirk
Ratajski, Krzysztof 6-2 Brown, Keegan
Boulton, Andy 6-4 Van Baelen, Davy
Chisnall, Dave 6-3 Baker, Scott
Kanik, Tytus 6-1 Carroll, Shaun
King, Mervyn 6-0 Mansell, Mickey
van der Voort, Vincent 6-0 Temple, Terry
White, Ian 6-1 Kamphuis, Vincent
Webster, Mark 6-1 Petersen, Devon
Joyce, Ryan 6-5 Robinson, Reece
Woodhouse, Luke 6-3 Durrant, Glen
Webster, Darren 6-4 Humphries, Luke
Aspinall, Nathan 6-4 Newell, Tony
Noppert, Danny 6-1 Murnan, Joe
Lewis, Jamie 6-4 van de Pas, Benito
Cross, Rob 6-5 Meeuwisse, Yordi
Harrington, Ryan 6-5 Reyes, Cristo
Henderson, John 6-3 Edgar, Matthew
Worsley, Jonathan 6-5 Kantele, Marko
Jones, Wayne 6-4 Clayton, Jonny
Wilkinson, Carl 6-3 Goldie, John
Pipe, Justin 6-3 Beaton, Steve
De Sousa, Jose 6-3 Pallett, David
Lewis, Adrian 6-2 Robbe, Mario
Burton, Stephen 6-5 Brooks, Bradley
Dobey, Chris 6-1 Wilson, Mark
Razma, Madars 6-3 Bunse, Christian
Gurney, Daryl 6-2 Kuivenhoven, Maik
Lerchbacher, Zoran 6-2 McGeeney, Mark
Evans, Ricky 6-2 Edhouse, Ritchie
Meikle, Ryan 6-4 Gray, Adrian
Wright, Peter 6-0 Bain, Jamie
Richardson, James 6-5 North, Richard
Anderson, Kyle 6-4 Shepherd, Kirk
Dudbridge, Mark 6-4 Marijanovic, Robert
Derry, Nathan 6-2 Whitlock, Simon
Alcinas, Toni 6-1 Zonneveld, Niels
Ward, Harry 6-3 Wilson, James
Van der Meer, Vincent 6-2 Norris, Alan
Second Round
van Gerwen, Michael 6-4 Smith, Ross
Hughes, Jamie 6-3 Michael, John
Van den Bergh, Dimitri 6-3 Wattimena, Jermaine
Schindler, Martin 6-5 Thornton, Robert
Carlin, Gavin 6-5 Smith, Michael
De Zwaan, Jeffrey 6-3 Tabern, Alan
Price, Gerwyn 6-0 Bates, Barrie
Huybrechts, Kim 6-1 Lennon, Steve
Suljovic, Mensur 6-1 Evetts, Ted
Meulenkamp, Ron 6-4 Huybrechts, Ronny
Owen, Robert 6-3 Koltsov, Boris
West, Steve 6-0 Stevenson, Simon
O’Connor, William 6-5 Dolan, Brendan
Boulton, Andy 6-5 Ratajski, Krzysztof
Kanik, Tytus 6-5 Chisnall, Dave
King, Mervyn 6-4 van der Voort, Vincent
White, Ian 6-3 Webster, Mark
Joyce, Ryan 6-2 Woodhouse, Luke
Webster, Darren 6-4 Aspinall, Nathan
Lewis, Jamie 6-4 Noppert, Danny
Cross, Rob 6-3 Harrington, Ryan
Henderson, John 6-3 Worsley, Jonathan
Jones, Wayne 6-3 Wilkinson, Carl
De Sousa, Jose 6-5 Pipe, Justin
Lewis, Adrian 6-2 Burton, Stephen
Dobey, Chris 6-5 Razma, Madars
Lerchbacher, Zoran 6-4 Gurney, Daryl
Evans, Ricky 6-5 Meikle, Ryan
Wright, Peter 6-2 Richardson, James
Dudbridge, Mark 6-5 Anderson, Kyle
Alcinas, Toni 6-2 Derry, Nathan
Ward, Harry 6-3 Van der Meer, Vincent
Losers: £500
Last 32
van Gerwen, Michael 6-3 Hughes, Jamie
Van den Bergh, Dimitri 6-4 Schindler, Martin
Carlin, Gavin 6-3 De Zwaan, Jeffrey
Huybrechts, Kim 6-5 Price, Gerwyn
Meulenkamp, Ron 6-4 Suljovic, Mensur
West, Steve 6-2 Owen, Robert
Boulton, Andy 6-5 O’Connor, William
King, Mervyn 6-5 Kanik, Tytus
White, Ian 6-4 Joyce, Ryan
Webster, Darren 6-4 Lewis, Jamie
Henderson, John 6-5 Cross, Rob
De Sousa, Jose 6-2 Jones, Wayne
Dobey, Chris 6-5 Lewis, Adrian
Lerchbacher, Zoran 6-3 Evans, Ricky
Wright, Peter 6-4 Dudbridge, Mark
Alcinas, Toni 6-4 Ward, Harry
Losers: £1,000
Last 16
van Gerwen, Michael 6-3 Van den Bergh, Dimitri
Carlin, Gavin 6-1 Huybrechts, Kim
West, Steve 6-1 Meulenkamp, Ron
King, Mervyn 6-4 Boulton, Andy
White, Ian 6-4 Webster, Darren
Henderson, John 6-5 De Sousa, Jose
Dobey, Chris 6-5 Lerchbacher, Zoran
Wright, Peter 6-2 Alcinas, Toni
Losers: £1,500
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Gavin Carlin
Mervyn King 6-5 Steve West
Chris Dobey 6-3 Peter Wright
Ian White 6-4 John Henderson
Losers: £2,250
Michael van Gerwen 7-3 Mervyn King
Ian White 7-5 Chris Dobey
Losers: £3,000
Michael van Gerwen 8-5 Ian White
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000