Left arrow

Ladbrokes UK Open to be held behind closed doors in Milton Keynes

Right arrow

UK Open Darts 2021 live stream: How to watch live online

UK Open Darts 2021 Draw: Van Barneveld handed Soutar show-down

Jamie Shaw in UK Open 01 Mar 2021
Raymond van Barneveld makes his UK Open return (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The draw for the opening three rounds of the 2021 UK Open has been confirmed, with Raymond van Barneveld versus Alan Soutar among the notable ties.

This year’s UK Open will take place behind closed doors at the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes from March 5-7.

Commonly referred to as the ‘FA Cup of Darts’, the 2021 UK Open features a unique open draw format from the outset, with all Tour Card holders invited to compete.

With no amateur qualifiers in this year’s field, the line-up is comprised of 154 players, including top-ups from the 2020 Development Tour and Challenge Tour Order of Merit, as well as 16 non-qualified players from the respective Qualifying School Orders of Merit.

Van Barneveld, back-to-back UK Open champion in 2006 and 2007, makes his return to the prestigious major having come out of retirement and regained his Tour Card at Qualifying School before claiming a first ranking title for over seven years at the recent Super Series.

The Dutch legend will enter the opening day of the tournament at the second round stage, and has drawn Scottish debutant Soutar – who has made an impressive start to life as a PDC Tour Card Holder.

Players will enter the tournament based on their ranking position, with the world’s top 32 joining at the Fourth Round stage.

The following PDC Tour Card Holders have withdrawn from the tournament: Wesley Harms, Robert Marijanovic, Daniel Larsson, Michael Unterbuncher, Darren Penhall and Boris Kcrmar. As a result, six players received a bye in the First Round.

Notable First Round ties include American ace Danny Baggish making his UK Open debut against Brett Claydon, while former World Champion Richie Burnett faces Dutch youngster Geert Nentjes.

Russia’s Boris Koltsov faces Austrian ace Rusty-Jake Rodriguez, while impressive newcomer Chas Barstow takes on Germany’s Lukas Wenig.

Second Round ties include four-time Women’s World Champion Lisa Ashton against Aaron Beeney and two-time Lakeside Champion Scott Waites against Bristol’s Steve Brown.

Wayne Jones, one of three UK Open ever-presents in the field, will face Martijn Kleermaker in Round Two, with Steve Beaton entering in Round Three against Mark McGeeney.

Two-time UK Open winner James Wade, the only other player to have appeared in the event each year since 2003, enters at the fourth round stage alongside the world’s top 32 on Friday evening.

Play is held simultaneously in the early rounds across eight stages, with the allocations for Friday’s afternoon session to be confirmed in due course.


Ladbrokes UK Open 2021 Draw

First Round
Robert Collins Bye
David Evans Bye
Andrew Gilding Bye
Michael Rasztovits Bye
Martin Thomas Bye
Scott Mitchell Bye
Rhys Griffin v Sean Fisher
Matt Jackson v Nathan Rafferty
Brett Claydon v Danny Baggish
Keelan Kay v Kevin McDine
Boris Koltsov v Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Rowby-John Rodriguez v Brian Raman
Berry van Peer v Martin Schindler
Jitse Van der Wal v Florian Hempel
Geert De Vos v Niels Zonneveld
Martin Lukeman v Maikel Verberk
Scott Taylor v John Michael
Shane McGuirk v Jack Main
Jason Heaver v Lorenzo Pronk
Luc Peters v Lewis Williams
Jim McEwan v Sebastian Bialecki
Chas Barstow v Lukas Wenig
Joe Murnan v Matthew Dennant
Joe Davis v Kevin Doets
Adam Gawlas v Gino Vos
Geert Nentjes v Richie Burnett
John Brown v Gavin Carlin
Jake Jones v Dom Taylor
Zoran Lerchbacher v Jim Williams
Gordon Mathers v Kirk Shepherd
Peter Hudson v Ryan De Vreede
Ritchie Edhouse v Damian Mol

Second Round
Scott Waites v Steve Brown
S Taylor/Michael v Lukeman/Verberk
Nick Kenny v Ryan Meikle
Ciaran Teehan v Claydon/Baggish
Peters/L Williams v Scott Mitchell
Keane Barry v Nentjes/Burnett
Maik Kuivenhoven v Koltsov/Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Kay/McDine v Rowby-John Rodriguez/Raman
Murnan/Dennant v Kai Fan Leung
Andy Hamilton v Edhouse/Mol
Alan Soutar v Raymond van Barneveld
McGuirk/Main v Robert Collins
McEwan/Bialecki v Van der Wal/Hempel
Barstow/Wenig v Martin Thomas
Michael Rasztovits v Peter Jacques
William Borland v Davis/Doets
Aaron Beeney v Lisa Ashton
Martin Atkins v Bradley Brooks
Heaver/Pronk v Eddie Lovely
De Vos/Zonneveld v Derk Telnekes
Jon Worsley v Andrew Gilding
Martijn Kleermaker v Wayne Jones
Hudson/De Vreede v Jesus Noguera
Lerchbacher/J Williams v Mathers/Shepherd
J Brown/Carlin v Jackson/Rafferty
J Jones/D Taylor v Gary Blades
Steffen Siepmann v David Evans
Mike De Decker v Griffin/Fisher
Alan Tabern v Gawlas/Vos
Ryan Murray v Krzysztof Kciuk
Jeff Smith v Van Peer/Schindler
Harald Leitinger v Karel Sedlacek

Third Round
Beeney/Ashton v Darius Labanauskas
Barry/Nentjes/Burnett v Luke Woodhouse
Max Hopp v William O’Connor
Murnan/Dennant/Leung v Kenny/Meikle
Peters/L Williams/Mitchell v Worsley/Gilding
Leitinger/Sedlacek v De Decker/Griffin/Fisher
James Wilson v Keegan Brown
Steve West v Jason Lowe
Murray/Kciuk v Kim Huybrechts
Kuivenhoven/Koltsov/Rusty-Jake Rodriguez v Brendan Dolan
McGuirk/Main/Collins v Ryan Searle
Ryan Joyce v Cristo Reyes
Mark McGeeney v Steve Beaton
Heaver/Pronk/Lovely v Ron Meulenkamp
Lerchbacher/J Williams/Mathers/Shepherd v Madars Razma
Ted Evetts v Darren Webster
J Smith/Van Peer/Schindler v Kleermaker/W Jones
Justin Pipe v Luke Humphries
John Henderson v Matt Edgar
S Taylor/Michael/Lukeman/Verberk v Adam Hunt
Kay/McDine/Rowby-John Rodriguez/Raman v Josh Payne
Damon Heta v Siepmann/D Evans
Borland/Davis/Doets v Steve Lennon
McEwan/Bialecki/Van der Wal/Hempel v De Vos/Zonneveld/Telnekes
Hudson/De Vreede/Noguera v Tabern/Gawlas/Vos
J Brown/Carlin/Jackson/Rafferty v Barstow/Wenig/Thomas
Andy Boulton v Jelle Klaasen
Hamilton/Edhouse/Mol v J Jones/D Taylor/Blades
Ross Smith v Callan Rydz
Raztovits/Jacques v Teehan/Claydon/Baggish
Atkins/Brooks v Waites/S Brown
Soutar/Van Barneveld v Mickey Mansell

Top 32 in the PDC Order of Merit (enter in Fourth Round)

1 Gerwyn Price
2 Michael van Gerwen
3 Peter Wright
4 Rob Cross
5 James Wade
6 Gary Anderson
7 Dave Chisnall
8 Michael Smith
9 Dimitri Van den Bergh
10 Nathan Aspinall
11 Daryl Gurney
12 Ian White
13 Glen Durrant
14 Krzysztof Ratajski
15 Jose de Sousa
16 Joe Cullen
17 Stephen Bunting
18 Jonny Clayton
19 Simon Whitlock
20 Mensur Suljovic
21 Mervyn King
22 Danny Noppert
23 Jeffrey de Zwaan
24 Adrian Lewis
25 Chris Dobey
26 Vincent van der Voort
27 Jermaine Wattimena
28 Jamie Hughes
29 Gabriel Clemens
30 Dirk van Duijvenbode
31 Ricky Evans
32 Devon Petersen