Left arrow

Van Barneveld to miss the World Matchplay in his final season

Right arrow

Players Championship Darts live stream: How to watch events 17 & 18 exclusively live online

The race to the World Matchplay: The latest standings with three events to go

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 02 Dec 2019
Ryan Searle currently occupies the final qualification spot (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)
The race to secure places in the 2019 World Matchplay enters the final straight with just three events remaining before the cut off is made.
The 26th staging of the annual summer show-piece will feature the top 16 players from the Main PDC Order of Merit joined by the next highest 16 ranked players from the ProTour Order of Merit.
This year’s World Matchplay, sponsored for the first time by Betfred, features a record prize fund of £700,000, with £150,000 up for grabs for the winner.
The field of players heading to the Winter Gardens from July 20-28 will be confirmed following the Czech Darts Open on June 30, with the draw expected to take place in the following days.
The Czech Open is preceded by a double-header of Players Championship events this weekend which will signal the final opportunity for a number of players to book their place at Blackpool.
As it stands, 20 players have already rubber-stamped their spot in the event, while the scramble for qualification via the ProTour Order of Merit looks set to go down to the wire.
Nathan Aspinall, Ricky Evans, Krzysztof Ratajski and Glen Durrant are confirmed debutants, while the likes of Chris Dobey, Danny Noppert and Ryan Searle are also on course to grace the iconic Winter Gardens stage for the first time.
Searle is one of three players locked on £31,750 on the ProTour Order of Merit, below Kyle Anderson and above James Wilson on the countback rule.
Ross Smith and Keegan Brown are within touching distance, while Gabriel Clemens and William O’Connor both have work to do if they are to gatecrash the line-up.
World number 15 Darren Webster is the only current member of the top 16 not assured of a place in the main event.
Former finalist Raymond van Barneveld’s withdrawal from this week’s European Tour qualifiers and ProTour double-header means he will miss the Matchplay in his final season on the circuit.

PDC Order of Merit – Top 16

1. Michael van Gerwen £1,604,750 (Q)
2. Rob Cross £798,000 (Q)
3. Daryl Gurney £526,750 (Q)
4. Gary Anderson £525,750 (Q)
5. Peter Wright £475,000 (Q)
6. Michael Smith £473,500 (Q)
7. Gerwyn Price £415,750 (Q)
8. James Wade £374,000 (Q)
9. Mensur Suljovic £359,000 (Q)
10. Ian White £327,250 (Q)
11. Simon Whitlock £314,750 (Q)
12. Dave Chisnall £309,500 (Q)
13. Nathan Aspinall £272,000 (Q)
14. Jonny Clayton £260,250 (Q)
15. Darren Webster £256,750
16. Adrian Lewis £254,000 (Q)
17. Joe Cullen £227,000
18. Stephen Bunting £209,750

PDC ProTour Order of Merit – Top 16 (outside of top 16 of Main OOM)

1. Ricky Evans £55,250 (Q)
2. Krzysztof Ratajski £51,250 (Q)
3. Glen Durrant £50,000 (Q)
4. Joe Cullen £49,250 (Q)
5. Steve Beaton £48,500 (Q)
6. Jermaine Wattimena £45,000
7. Jeffrey de Zwaan £44,750
8. Chris Dobey £42,000
9. Max Hopp £41,500
10. Danny Noppert £40,500
11. Stephen Bunting £37,250
12. John Henderson £35,750
13. Mervyn King £33,750
14. Vincent van der Voort £33,500
15. Kyle Anderson £31,750
16. Ryan Searle £31,750
17. James Wilson £31,750
18. Ross Smith £30,500
19. Keegan Brown £30,500
20. Gabriel Clemens £28,000
21. Steve West £26,500
22. William O’Connor £24,250
23. Martin Schindler £23,500
24. Ron Meulenkamp £22,750
25. Harry Ward £22,500
26. Steve Lennon £21,750
27. Josh Payne £21,500
28. Kim Huybrechts £21,500
29. Dimitri van den Bergh £21,000
30. Raymond van Barneveld £20,500 (NQ)
31. Jelle Klaasen £20,250
32. Jamie Hughes £19,500

  • Watch the World Seniors Championship streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register
  • Bet £5 and Get £20 in Free Bets when you join
  • Premier League Darts specials and price boosts
  • Get £40 in Bonuses when you register and stake £10
  • Price Boosts and Specials on all Darts events