Left arrow

Record field set for 2020 PDC Qualifying School

Right arrow

Blades, Lowe and Leitinger secure Tour Cards on Day One of Qualifying School

PDC Qualifying School 2020 Day One: Draw, live scores and match updates from UK and European Q School

Jamie Shaw in Q School 16 Jan 2020
Get £50 in Free Bets with Bet365 (Photo by PDC)

The draw for the opening day of 2020 PDC Qualifying School has been made, with a vast field vying for the first three automatic Tour Cards.

Two separate Qualifying Schools will run simultaneously as a vast field of 853 men and women compete for just 31 two-year Tour Cards.

Both events will run from January 16-19, with UK Q School being held at the Robin Park Sports Centre in Wigan, and European Q School taking place at Halle 39 in Hildesheim, Germany.

The final two players on each day at UK Q School with secure a Tour Card as 521 hopefuls head to Wigan, while the final player on each day of the 332-strong European Q School will also join the circuit.

Players will earn ranking points per victory in each full round of the event (not including byes), which will be used to form Order of Merits for each Q School, from which a further 19 players will win Tour Cards (12 from UK Q School and seven from European Q School).

Among the notable entrants at UK Q School include reigning Women’s World Champion Mikuru Suzuki and PDC World Championship superstar Fallon Sherrock.

Four-time Women’s World Champion Lisa Ashton and 16-year-old rising star Beau Greaves are also among a 16-strong female contingent.

Jim Williams, runner-up in last week’s BDO World Championship, is also among the field, as are former BDO World Champions Scott Mitchell and Scott Waites, plus the likes of Andy Hamilton, David Evans, Wes Newton and John O’Shea.

Three-time World Champion John Part, former BDO World Champion Richie Burnett, former BDO world finalist Alan Norris, former Players Champion Paul Nicholson and former PDC world finalist Mark Dudbridge are also among a formidable UK field.

European Q School will feature BDO stars Wesley Harms, Richard Veenstra, Michael Unterbuchner and Martijn Kleermaker, as well as 2012 Lakeside Champion Christian Kist, Ronny Huybrechts, Jose Justicia and Boris Koltsov.

Play will commence at 10.30am BST, with all matches non-streamed and to be contested over the best of nine legs.

UK Qualifying School 2020 Day One Draw

Selected Last 512 ties

David Evans v Daryl Fitton
Scott Waites v Adam Huckvale
Keane Barry v Peter Mitchell
Lorraine Winstanley v Chris Quantock
Kasumi Sato v Scott Mitchell
Kirsty Chubb v Mikuru Suzuki
Arron Monk v Kyle McKinstry
Kevin Painter v Stu Wilson
Fallon Sherrock v Billy Gallie
Paul Nicholson v Martyn Fowler
Andy Hamilton v Mario Portela
John Part v Rees Hall
Cameron Menzies v Darron Brown
Damon Heta v Beau Greaves
Lisa Ashton v Richie Walsh
James Hubbard v Lewis Williams
Nathan Rafferty v Brian Woods
Tony O’Shea v Matthew Finch
Alan Norris v Derek Coulson
Mark Dudbridge v Jeremy Dolan


European Qualifying School 2020 Day One Draw

Selected Last 256 ties

Wesley Harms v Maikel Verberk
Michael Rasztovits v Justin van Tergouw
Mike De Decker v Krzysztof Kciuk
Christian Kist v Wesley Brown
Michael Unterbuchner v Patrick Heitmueller
Andreas Harrysson v Fabian Herz