Left arrow

Whitlock “gutted” to miss out on Premier League place and slams “stupid” Contenders concept

Right arrow

Premier League Darts 2020 Challengers confirmed

Premier League Darts 2020 line-up confirmed: Aspinall and Durrant handed debut spots

Jamie Shaw in Premier League Darts 02 Jan 2020
The nine Premier League players have been confirmed (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The line-up for the 2020 Premier League has been confirmed, with Nathan Aspinall and Glen Durrant handed debut spots, while Fallon Sherrock and John Henderson have been named as the first two Challengers.

Nine of the sport’s box office stars will compete in the 16-week tour of arenas across Europe from February-May, with a different ‘Challenger’ to feature in each of the opening nine weeks.

Aspinall has rocketed to prominence over the past 12 months, with back-to-back World Championship Semi-Final appearances sandwiching televised titles at the UK Open and U.S Masters.

The 28-year-old has climbed to eighth on the PDC Order of Merit and has been rewarded with a place in the Premier League as he looks to compete for more major silverware.

Durrant, meanwhile, enjoyed a superb first season on the PDC circuit in 2019, reaching three televised semi-finals and the World Championship Quarter-Finals.

Like Aspinall, the three-time Lakeside Champion made his Premier League debut as a Contender in 2019 and has now progressed to compete on a full-time basis this year.

Newly-crowned World Champion Peter Wright and World Championship runner-up Michael van Gerwen are joined as automatic selections by Grand Slam champion Gerwyn Price and World Matchplay and European Championship winner Rob Cross.

Two-time Premier League champion Gary Anderson is among the invited players, returning to the line-up after withdrawing through injury last season, while 2018 runner-up Michael Smith and 2019 semi-finalist Daryl Gurney complete the nine regulars.

The tournament begins at the new P&J Live in Aberdeen on Thursday February 6 and will feature nine Challengers over the opening nine league nights, with the ninth-placed player in the league table following Judgement Night eliminated.

Challengers cannot amount points towards the league table, however any points acquired by their opponents will count.

Scottish crowd favourite Henderson will be the Challenger in Aberdeen on the opening night, having enjoyed an unforgettable night in ‘The Granite City’ in 2019 when he drew with Van Gerwen.

Sherrock, meanwhile, will follow up her historic run at the World Championship and her inclusion in the 2020 World Series with an appearance at the Motorpoint Arena in Nottingham the following week.

The seven remaining ‘Challengers’ are to be confirmed in due course.

Unibet Premier League Darts 2020 Field

Michael van Gerwen
Peter Wright
Gerwyn Price
Rob Cross
Michael Smith
Gary Anderson
Daryl Gurney
Nathan Aspinall
Glen Durrant

Unibet Premier League Darts 2020 Challengers

Night One – John Henderson
Night Two – Fallon Sherrock
Rest TBC

Premier League Darts 2020 Dates and Venues

Night One – Thursday February 6
P&J Live, Aberdeen

Night Two – Thursday February 13
Motorpoint Arena, Nottingham

Night Three – Thursday February 20
Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff

Night Four – Thursday February 27
3Arena, Dublin

Night Five – Thursday March 5
Westpoint Exeter

Night Six – Thursday March 12
M&S Bank Arena, Liverpool

Night Seven – Thursday March 19
Utilita Arena, Newcastle

Night Eight – Wednesday March 25
Rotterdam Ahoy

Judgment Night – Thursday March 26
Rotterdam Ahoy

Night Ten – Thursday April 2
The SSE Arena, Belfast

Night 11 – Thursday April 9
FlyDSA Arena, Sheffield

Night 12 – Thursday April 16
The Manchester Arena

Night 13 – Thursday April 23
Mercedes-Benz Arena, Berlin

Night 14 – Thursday April 30
Arena Birmingham

Night 15 – Thursday May 7
The SSE Hydro, Glasgow

Night 16 – Thursday May 14
First Direct Arena, Leeds

Play-Offs – Thursday May 21
The O2, London