Left arrow

Adrian Lewis brands Peter Wright a “cheat” after Players Championship Finals confrontation

Right arrow

Van Gerwen blasts “ridiculous” playing conditions in Minehead

Dolan dispatches Price at the Players Championship Finals as Van Gerwen continues title defence

Jamie Shaw in Players Championship Finals 28 Nov 2021
Brendan Dolan celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Brendan Dolan pulled off a sensational Third Round scalp of Gerwyn Price on an incident-filled Day Two of the Players Championship Finals in Minehead.

Four sessions of action took place across two stages on another hectic day at Butlins Minehead Resort, with 32 players whittled down to just eight by the end of play.

Having defeated Ritchie Edhouse 6-3 in the Second Round earlier in the day, Dolan recorded one of the most notable results of his career by dispatching the world number one 10-8.

The former World Grand Prix finalist punished a staggering 27 missed darts at doubles from an out of sorts Price as he sealed his spot in Sunday’s Quarter-Finals.

“Gezzy was nowhere near his best tonight, I’m no fool,” admitted Dolan.

“But when it came down to it at the end of the match I held my nerve so I have to be happy with that.

“I want to thank my wife, she’s my biggest supporter. In my darkest times she’s put me back on the right path.”

Dolan will now face top seed Jose de Sousa after he came through a last-leg decider with Darius Labanauskas in Round Two before defeating William O’Connor 10-7 to reach the Last Eight for the first time.

The pick of the Quarter-Final ties will see reigning and six-time champion Michael van Gerwen face world number two Peter Wright.

Van Gerwen recorded victories over two icons of the sport – Raymond van Barneveld and Gary Anderson – while Wright came back to win a feisty affair with Adrian Lewis, before battling past Damon Heta.

Van Gerwen’s 6-3 win over his former World Cup winning team-mate Van Barneveld saw him average 95.6 with 60 per cent on the doubles, before defeating rival Anderson 10-6 with another 95 average.

The defending champion then hit out at the playing conditions in the main arena in his post-match interview, which he described as “absolutely ridiculous.”

Wright’s win over Lewis ended with a confrontation between the two players on stage, with security having to separate the pair.

The incident appeared to have been sparked by a disagreement over a loose floorboard on the stage, and after Wright played down proceedings, Lewis took to social media to accuse the Scotsman of “cheating.”

Meanwhile, Jonny Clayton continued his quest for a fifth televised title of the year by edging out Luke Humphries 10-9 in a high-quality Last 16 tie, having earlier whitewashed Scott Mitchell 6-0.

Humphries hit back from 8-4 down to force a decider, only to miss two match darts and allow the Welshman off the hook to clinch a dramatic victory.

Clayton will now face Vincent van der Voort – who prevailed in a last-leg shoot-out against Andy Boulton before defeating fellow Dutchman Danny Noppert 10-7 with a 98.5 average.

Daryl Gurney continued his resurgent run by posting a 104.3 average in his 10-7 win over James Wade, having earlier survived an astonishing ten match darts from Michael Smith in an eventual 6-5 win.

Local hero Ryan Searle battled back from 5-1 down to beat Ryan Joyce 6-5 in the afternoon session before getting the better of European Champion Rob Cross 10-7 in the evening.


Players Championship Finals 2021 Day Two Results

Saturday November 27

Afternoon Session

Main Stage
Callan Rydz 5-6 James Wade
Rob Cross 6-4 Nathan Aspinall
Ryan Meikle 2-6 Gary Anderson
Peter Wright 6-5 Adrian Lewis
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Raymond van Barneveld
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Martin Schindler
Jonny Clayton 6-0 Scott Mitchell
Dimitri Van den Bergh 2-6 Danny Noppert

Stage Two
Andy Boulton 5-6 Vincent van der Voort
Ryan Searle 6-5 Ryan Joyce
Michael Smith 5-6 Daryl Gurney
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Ritchie Edhouse
Damon Heta 6-2 Gabriel Clemens
Ross Smith 5-6 Luke Humphries
William O’Connor 6-4 Krzysztof Ratajski
Jose de Sousa 6-5 Darius Labanauskas

Evening Session

Third Round

Main Stage
Peter Wright 10-8 Damon Heta
Michael van Gerwen 10-6 Gary Anderson
Gerwyn Price 8-10 Brendan Dolan
Jonny Clayton 10-9 Luke Humphries

Stage Two
Ryan Searle 10-7 Rob Cross
Daryl Gurney 10-7 James Wade
Jose de Sousa 10-7 William O’Connor
Vincent van der Voort 10-7 Danny Noppert

  • Watch The Masters streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register
  • Get £40 in Bonuses when you register and stake £10
  • Price Boosts and Specials on all Darts events