Left arrow

Players Championship Finals 2019 Day Two: Afternoon Session preview and order of play

Right arrow

Van Gerwen claims fantastic fifth Players Championship Finals title

Players Championship Finals 2019 Draw, Live Scores and Tournament Schedule

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 02 Dec 2019
Daryl Gurney is the defending champion (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)
The top performers from the ProTour head to Butlins Minehead for the Players Championship Finals, and you can follow all the latest results and fixtures here.
The £500,000 major features 64 players battling it out in a culmination of the 30 Players Championship events held during the course of the season.
Play in the early rounds will be held across two stages, with main stage matches televised and matches from Stage Two streamed exclusively live online.
Daryl Gurney is the defending champion after he defeated Michael van Gerwen 11-9 in last year’s final to claim his second major title.
Fresh from retaining his Grand Slam title last weekend, Gerwyn Price heads to Somerset as the number one seed, ahead of James Wade, Krzysztof Ratajski and Peter Wright.
Michael van Gerwen is bidding for his fifth Players Championship Finals title, while other in-form contenders include debutant Glen Durrant, Dave Chisnall, Nathan Aspinall and Michael Smith.
Raymond van Barneveld will make his final appearance in this competition before retiring at the end of the season, while Gary Anderson failed to qualify after finishing outside of the top 64 on the Players Championship Order of Merit.
The tournament runs from November 22-24 at the Butlins Minehead Resort. 
First and Second Round ties are to be contested over the best of 11 legs, with Third Round and Quarter-Finals best of 19 and Semi-Finals and Final best of 21 legs.

Players Championship Finals 2019 Tournament Schedule

Friday November 22
First Round
Afternoon Session (12.45pm-5pm)
Main Stage
Dimitri Van den Bergh 2-6 Stephen Bunting
Jose de Sousa 6-3 James Richardson
Glen Durrant 6-2 Scott Baker
Max Hopp 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Chris Dobey 6-1 Cristo Reyes
Jeffrey de Zwaan 5-6 Simon Whitlock
Michael Smith 6-1 Martin Schindler
Ian White 6-4 Devon Petersen
Stage Two
Harry Ward 5-6 Darius Labanauskas
Justin Pipe 5-6 Mervyn King
Brendan Dolan 6-1 Ross Smith
John Henderson 6-5 Ryan Joyce
Keegan Brown 6-3 Andy Boulton
Steve Beaton 5-6 Ricky Evans
Danny Noppert 6-5 Ryan Searle
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Matthew Edgar
Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Main Stage
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-1 Steve Lennon
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Mickey Mansell
James Wade 6-4 Ted Evetts
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Daryl Gurney 5-6 Luke Woodhouse
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Luke Humphries
Peter Wright 5-6 James Wilson
Nathan Aspinall 2-6 Raymond van Barneveld
Stage Two
Jonny Clayton 0-6 Ryan Meikle
Joe Cullen 6-2 Kyle Anderson
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Arron Monk
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Mark McGeeney
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Josh Payne
William O’Connor 6-4 Steve West
Jermaine Wattimena 3-6 Jamie Hughes
Ron Meulenkamp 2-6 Rob Cross
Saturday November 23
Second Round
Afternoon Session (12.45pm-5pm)
Main Stage
Gerwyn Price 6-0 Keegan Brown
James Wade 6-1 Ricky Evans
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Danny Noppert
Luke Woodhouse 3-6 Gabriel Clemens
Adrian Lewis 5-6 Michael van Gerwen – *Van Gerwen hits a nine-darter*
James Wilson 0-6 Chris Dobey
Raymond van Barneveld 6-3 Joe Cullen
Jamie Hughes 4-6 Rob Cross
Stage Two
Simon Whitlock 3-6 John Henderson
Ryan Meikle 6-5 Darius Labanauskas
Jose De Sousa 3-6 Stephen Bunting
Ian White 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Krzysztof Ratajski 3-6 William O’Connor
Glen Durrant 6-5 Max Hopp
Dave Chisnall 4-6 Mervyn King
Michael Smith 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Third Round
Main Stage
Gerwyn Price 10-4 Mensur Suljovic
James Wade 6-10 Michael van Gerwen
Glen Durrant 3-10 Raymond van Barneveld
Mervyn King 10-4 Rob Cross
Stage Two
Stephen Bunting 10-2 Ryan Meikle
William O’Connor 10-7 Gabriel Clemens
Chris Dobey 10-5 John Henderson
Ian White 10-4 Michael Smith
Sunday November 24
Afternoon Session (12.45pm-5pm)
Gerwyn Price 10-3 Stephen Bunting
Raymond van Barneveld 2-10 Chris Dobey
Michael van Gerwen 10-6 Mervyn King
Ian White 10-9 William O’Connor
Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Gerwyn Price 11-8 Chris Dobey
Michael van Gerwen 11-8 Ian White
World Youth Championship Final
Luke Humphries 6-0 Adam Gawlas
Michael van Gerwen 11-9 Gerwyn Price
Prize Fund
Winner: £100,000
Runner-up: £50,000
Semi-Final losers: £25,000
Quarter-Final losers: £15,000
Last 16 losers: £10,000
Last 32 losers: £5,000
First Round losers: £2,500