Left arrow

Players Championship Darts live stream: How to watch events 27 & 28 exclusively live online

Right arrow

World Grand Prix 2019 Day One preview and order of play: Big names aim to avert opening night exit

De Sousa doubles PDC title tally at Players Championship 28

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 05 Oct 2019
In-form De Sousa claims glory on the Emerald Isle (credit:PDC Europe)
Jose De Sousa secured a second PDC ranking title in the space of four weeks as he defeated Glen Durrant 8-6 to triumph at Players Championship 28 in Dublin on Saturday.
The Portuguese number one, who clinched his Tour Card at Qualifying School in January, opened his account at Players Championship 23 last month as a 150/1 outsider and proved that victory was no flash in the pan by quickly adding a second success.
The 45-year-old produced a series of superb displays, culminating in a hard-fought win over the three-time Lakeside Champion, to seal the £10,000 top prize at the Citywest Hotel.
“The final was not my best game, it was a complicated game,” admitted De Sousa. “This final was a moment of magic for me, a great moment.
“If I play my best game I can beat almost anyone. I practice so hard, every day and I want to make a big future for myself.
“I didn’t think this was possible, I could not imagine this.
“This is my first year in the PDC, all I wanted was experience but this has been amazing. I will continue my work and in the future we will see what happens.”
A 98 average in a 6-2 win over former world finalist Mark Dudbridge began the day for De Sousa, before a remarkable 6-1 triumph, with an average of almost 108 saw ‘El Triple 20’ move safely in to the Last 32.
A narrow 6-4 victory over 2008 Lakeside Champion Mark Webster and a 6-2 win over Spain’s Jesus Noguera saw De Sousa move in to the Quarter-Finals.
Another ton-plus average followed, this time in a 6-3 win over a resurgent Kim Huybrechts, before De Sousa eased to a 7-3 defeat of Mensur Suljovic – who had produced a nine-dart finish in his victory over Adam Hunt earlier in the day. 
De Sousa kicked off the final with a 180 and finished 79 to clinch the opening leg before going on to claim three of the next four legs to move 4-1 ahead.
Durrant dug deep to reel off three consecutive legs for parity before De Sousa steadied the ship with double two to regain the upper-hand at 5-4.
Costly missed doubles from ‘Duzza’ in leg ten allowed De Sousa to restore a two-leg cushion but a 177 and double four, proceeded by a 21-darter on double one saw the Teessider draw level once again.
De Sousa, however, held firm with tops to move one away from the winning line, which he crossed by virtue of hitting double ten.
Durrant, who was featuring in his fourth PDC final since his switch from the BDO, had another successful day with notable wins against Ian White and a Semi-Final victory against Friday’s champion Gerwyn Price.
World number one Michael van Gerwen, meanwhile, suffered a shock Second Round exit at the hands of a resurgent Alan Norris, while Gary Anderson also fell at the second hurdle as he went down 6-3 to David Evans.
The final two Players Championship events of the season will take place from October 14-15, following which the field for the Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals will be confirmed.

Players Championship 28 Results

Saturday October 5
First Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Devon Petersen
Alan Norris 6-3 Davy Van Baelen
Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Cameron Menzies
Terry Temple 6-4 Christian Kist
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 James Richardson
Andrew Gilding 6-1 Jamie Lewis
Michael Smith 6-5 Robert Owen
Steve Lennon 6-1 Tony Newell
Peter Wright 6-3 Carl Wilkinson
Martin Schindler 6-4 Mike van Duivenbode
Gary Anderson 6-1 Vincent van der Voort
David Evans 6-4 Ted Evetts
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Alan Tabern
Adam Hunt 6-3 Mark Wilson
Keegan Brown 6-2 Mark McGeeney
William O’Connor 6-3 Max Hopp
Cody Harris 6-5 Dave Chisnall
Christian Bunse 6-5 Nathan Derry
Zoran Lerchbacher w/o Mervyn King
Josh Payne 6-4 Vincent Van der Meer
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Brendan Dolan
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Dawson Murschell
Gavin Carlin 6-2 Steve Beaton
Scott Baker 6-5 Reece Robinson
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Ryan Searle
Mark Webster 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Jose De Sousa 6-2 Mark Dudbridge
Stephen Burton 6-5 Darren Webster
Joe Murnan 6-4 Adrian Lewis
Madars Razma 6-2 Ryan Joyce
Jesus Noguera 6-2 Ricky Evans
Boris Koltsov 6-5 Wayne Jones
Gerwyn Price 6-0 Jonathan Worsley
Justin Pipe 6-1 Ronny Huybrechts
Luke Humphries 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Robert Thornton 6-2 Bradley Brooks
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Benito van de Pas
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-4 Luke Woodhouse
Jamie Hughes 6-1 Harry Ward
Ryan Harrington 6-4 Barrie Bates
James Wade 6-1 Steve West
Arron Monk 6-2 Matthew Edgar
John Henderson 6-2 Eddie Dootson
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-0 George Killington
Joe Cullen 6-1 Mario Robbe
Matt Clark 6-5 Richard North
Jose Justicia 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Mickey Mansell 6-0 Jan Dekker
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
Scott Taylor 6-2 Michael Barnard
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Geert Nentjes
Ritchie Edhouse 6-2 Kevin Burness
Glen Durrant 6-3 Ross Smith
Cristo Reyes 6-4 Berry van Peer
Chris Dobey 6-3 Adrian Gray
Ryan Meikle 6-3 Darius Labanauskas
Ian White 6-2 Niels Zonneveld
Andy Boulton 6-3 Ron Meulenkamp
Danny Noppert 6-1 Simon Stevenson
Tytus Kanik 6-4 Marko Kantele
Rob Cross 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Conan Whitehead 6-0 Gary Eastwood
David Pallett 6-4 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Callan Rydz 6-4 Peter Hudson
Second Round
Alan Norris 6-4 Michael van Gerwen
Gabriel Clemens 6-2 Terry Temple
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Andrew Gilding
Michael Smith 6-3 Steve Lennon
Peter Wright 6-2 Martin Schindler
David Evans 6-3 Gary Anderson
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Adam Hunt – *Suljovic hits a nine-darter*
Keegan Brown 6-2 William O’Connor
Christian Bunse 6-4 Cody Harris
Josh Payne 6-4 Zoran Lerchbacher
Kim Huybrechts 6-1 Nathan Aspinall
Scott Baker 6-3 Gavin Carlin
Mark Webster 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
Jose De Sousa 6-1 Stephen Burton
Madars Razma 6-3 Joe Murnan
Jesus Noguera 6-5 Boris Koltsov
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Justin Pipe
Luke Humphries 6-3 Robert Thornton
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Maik Kuivenhoven
Jamie Hughes 6-0 Ryan Harrington
James Wade 6-2 Arron Monk
John Henderson 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Joe Cullen 6-3 Matt Clark
Jose Justicia 6-1 Mickey Mansell
Daryl Gurney 6-5 Scott Taylor
Ritchie Edhouse 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Glen Durrant 6-0 Cristo Reyes
Ryan Meikle 6-1 Chris Dobey
Ian White 6-3 Andy Boulton
Danny Noppert 6-3 Tytus Kanik
Conan Whitehead 6-4 Rob Cross
Callan Rydz 6-4 David Pallett
Losers: £500
Last 32
Gabriel Clemens 6-5 Alan Norris
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Michael Smith
Peter Wright 6-2 David Evans
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Keegan Brown
Christian Bunse 6-4 Josh Payne
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Scott Baker
Jose De Sousa 6-4 Mark Webster
Jesus Noguera 6-4 Madars Razma
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Luke Humphries
Jonny Clayton 6-0 Jamie Hughes
James Wade 6-4 John Henderson
Jose Justicia 6-4 Joe Cullen
Ritchie Edhouse 6-5 Daryl Gurney
Glen Durrant 6-3 Ryan Meikle
Ian White 6-2 Danny Noppert
Conan Whitehead 6-4 Callan Rydz
Losers: £1,000
Last 16
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1Gabriel Clemens
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Peter Wright
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Christian Bunse
Jose De Sousa 6-2 Jesus Noguera
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Jonny Clayton
James Wade 6-5 Jose Justicia
Glen Durrant 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse
Ian White 6-4 Conan Whitehead
Losers: £1,500
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Jermaine Wattimena
Jose De Sousa 6-3 Kim Huybrechts
Gerwyn Price 6-2James Wade
Glen Durrant 6-5 Ian White
Losers: £2,250
Jose De Sousa 7-3 Mensur Suljovic
Glen Durrant 7-6 Gerwyn Price
Losers: £3,000
Jose De Sousa 8-6 Glen Durrant
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000