Left arrow

Players Championship Darts live stream: How to watch events 25 & 26 exclusively live online

Right arrow

Suljovic denies nine-dart White to claim Players Championship 26 title

Gurney claims glory at Players Championship 25

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 21 Sep 2019
Northern Irish star Gurney celebrates (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)
Daryl Gurney claimed his first floor title of the year at Players Championship 25 in Barnsley on Saturday with an 8-5 victory over Nathan Aspinall in the final.
World number three Gurney ended his wait for a Players Championship triumph stretching back to April 2017 as he claimed the £10,000 top prize in style at the Barnsley Metrodome.
The reigning Players Championship Finals champion produced a string of dominant displays throughout the day, winning all seven games by at least a three-leg margin.
“It feels too long [since last winning a Players Championship event], I often struggle and don’t bring my ‘A-game’,” said Gurney, who also claimed the German Championship title in March.
“This week everything went great for me and I found something extra. I kicked in well with plenty of 180s to give myself opportunities which I took.
“These events are harder to win than TV tournaments; you can play an unbelievable game and then you’re straight back into your next game just a few minutes later.”
A closely-contested final began with eight consecutive holds of throw, including a superb 155 checkout from UK Open champion Aspinall – who was competing in his third ProTour final of the year.
Gurney, a runner-up at Players Championship Seven in March, cleaned up double 16 to land the first break of the match in leg ten to go 6-4 in front.
The Northern Irishman then fired in his fifth and sixth 180s of the contest as he kept Aspinall at bay, before cruising over the line in leg 13.
Gurney’s day began with a 6-2 victory over Darren Webster, before seeing off Steve Lennon and Mervyn King 6-3 and defeating Jelle Klaasen by the same scoreline to reach the Quarter-Finals.
There, he defeated in-form Peter Wright 6-2 before overcoming top seed Ian White 7-4 to reach the final.
US Masters champion Aspinall began his day with a hard-fought 6-5 win over Cameron Menzies, before dispatching Alan Norris 6-4 and Ryan Meikle 6-3.
The Stockport star then edged out Spain’s Toni Alcinas in a decider before denying Justin Pipe 6-4 in the Last Eight and Michael Smith 7-5 in the Semi-Finals.
Elsewhere, Jeffrey de Zwaan landed a sensational nine-dart finish on his way to a 6-3 win over fellow countryman Ron Meulenkamp in the Last 32.
Following Players Championship 25, only Dimitri Van den Bergh and Mervyn King are at risk of losing their provisional places in October’s World Grand Prix.
The next eight players below them on the ProTour Order of Merit can force their way into the field with a run at Sunday’s Players Championship 26.

Players Championship 25 Results

Saturday September 21
First Round
Ian White 6-2 Alan Tabern
Niels Zonneveld 6-3 Nathan Derry
Kim Huybrechts 6-0 William O’Connor
Mike van Duivenbode 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Ryan Harrington 6-1 Ricky Evans
Ron Meulenkamp 6-1 Michael Barnard
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 Robert Owen
Richard North 6-5 Vincent Van der Meer
Joe Cullen 6-2 Gavin Carlin
Jonathan Worsley 6-4 Martin Schindler
Max Hopp 6-2 Ryan Searle
Matt Clark 6-3 Tony Newell
Geert Nentjes 6-5 Glen Durrant
Harry Ward 6-5 Ronny Huybrechts
Luke Humphries 6-2 John Henderson
Reece Robinson 6-4 Zoran Lerchbacher
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Darren Webster
Steve Lennon 6-1 Christian Kist
Mervyn King 6-5 Yordi Meeuwisse
Josh Payne 6-4 Benito van de Pas
Boris Koltsov 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Steve West 6-4 Terry Temple
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Simon Stevenson 6-0 Ritchie Edhouse
Peter Wright 6-5 Gary Anderson
James Wilson 6-5 Mario Robbe
Simon Whitlock 6-1 Scott Baker
Ryan Joyce 6-3 Stephen Burton
Raymond van Barneveld 6-5 Jonny Clayton
Brendan Dolan 6-2 Jamie Lewis
Kevin Burness 6-3 Chris Dobey
Callan Rydz 6-2 Mark Wilson
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Adrian Gray
Jose De Sousa 6-3 Kirk Shepherd
Conan Whitehead 6-2 Peter Hudson
Davy Van Baelen 6-3 Jamie Hughes
Vincent Kamphuis 6-5 Barrie Bates
Michael Smith 6-5 Ross Smith
Mark Webster 6-2 Eddie Dootson
Mensur Suljovic 6-4 Tytus Kanik
Joe Murnan 6-4 Mark Dudbridge
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Christian Bunse
Matthew Edgar 6-4 Ted Evetts
Adrian Lewis 6-1 Carl Wilkinson
Jose Justicia 6-3 Cody Harris
Danny Noppert 6-2 James Richardson
Andy Boulton 6-0 Mark McGeeney
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Devon Petersen
Justin Pipe 6-3 Cristo Reyes
Berry van Peer 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Arron Monk 6-5 Darius Labanauskas
Andy Jenkins 6-5 Rob Cross
Robert Thornton 6-3 John Michael
Keegan Brown 6-3 Madars Razma
Adam Hunt 6-5 Maik Kuivenhoven
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Jamie Bain
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Marko Kantele
Wayne Jones 6-2 Gabriel Clemens
Toni Alcinas 6-3 Jan Dekker
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Cameron Menzies
Alan Norris 6-4 Bradley Brooks
Steve Beaton 6-1 Gary Eastwood
Ryan Meikle 6-5 George Killington
Second Round
Ian White 6-3 Niels Zonneveld
Mike van Duivenbode 6-2 Kim Huybrechts
Ron Meulenkamp 6-1 Ryan Harrington
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 Richard North
Joe Cullen 6-5 Jonathan Worsley
Max Hopp 6-3 Matt Clark
Geert Nentjes 6-3 Harry Ward
Luke Humphries 6-3 Reece Robinson
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Steve Lennon
Mervyn King 6-0 Josh Payne
Steve West 6-3 Boris Koltsov
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Simon Stevenson
Peter Wright 6-3 James Wilson
Ryan Joyce 6-2 Simon Whitlock
Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Callan Rydz 6-2 Kevin Burness
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Conan Whitehead 6-2 Jose De Sousa
Davy Van Baelen 6-4 Vincent Kamphuis
Michael Smith 6-3 Mark Webster
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Joe Murnan
Matthew Edgar 6-2 Vincent van der Voort
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Jose Justicia
Andy Boulton 6-3 Danny Noppert
Justin Pipe 6-4 Krzysztof Ratajski
Berry van Peer 6-2 Arron Monk
Robert Thornton 6-4 Andy Jenkins
Keegan Brown 6-5 Adam Hunt
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Luke Woodhouse
Toni Alcinas 6-5 Wayne Jones
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Alan Norris
Ryan Meikle 6-0 Steve Beaton
Losers: £500
Last 32
Ian White 6-2 Mike van Duivenbode
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 Ron Meulenkamp – *De Zwaan hits a nine-darter*
Max Hopp 6-5 Joe Cullen
Luke Humphries 6-4 Geert Nentjes
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Mervyn King
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Steve West
Peter Wright 6-2 Ryan Joyce
Callan Rydz 6-4 Raymond van Barneveld
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Conan Whitehead
Michael Smith 6-0 Davy Van Baelen
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Matthew Edgar
Andy Boulton 6-3 Adrian Lewis
Justin Pipe 6-4 Berry van Peer
Keegan Brown 6-5 Robert Thornton
Toni Alcinas 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Ryan Meikle
Losers: £1,000
Last 16
Ian White 6-0 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Max Hopp 6-5 Luke Humphries
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Peter Wright 6-3 Callan Rydz
Michael Smith 6-1 Gerwyn Price
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Andy Boulton
Justin Pipe 6-0 Keegan Brown
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Toni Alcinas
Losers: £1,500
Ian White 6-3 Max Hopp
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Peter Wright
Michael Smith 6-2 Mensur Suljovic
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Justin Pipe
Losers: £2,250
Daryl Gurney 7-4 Ian White
Nathan Aspinall 7-5 Michael Smith
Losers: £3,000
Daryl Gurney 8-5 Nathan Aspinall
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

  • Watch the World Seniors Championship streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register
  • Bet £5 and Get £20 in Free Bets when you join
  • Premier League Darts specials and price boosts
  • Get £40 in Bonuses when you register and stake £10
  • Price Boosts and Specials on all Darts events