Left arrow

Players Championship Darts live stream: How to watch events 23 & 24 exclusively live online

Right arrow

Van Baelen enjoys dream debut at the International Open as Van den Bergh and Kyle Anderson also turn on the style

Wade secures fantastic fifth Players Championship title of 2019

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 11 Sep 2019
Wade denies Chisnall in the final (credit:Chris Dean/PDC)
James Wade picked up his fifth PDC ranking title of the season at Players Championship 24 as he defeated Dave Chisnall 8-6 in the final in Barnsley on Wednesday.
Wade, who had won all four of his ranking final appearances this year heading into the decider, maintained his flawless record by fending off a late ‘Chizzy’ fightback to clinch the £10,000 title.
The world number eight began his run with a 6-3 win over Finland’s Marko Kantele in Round One before thrashing Jonathan Worsley and James Richardson 6-1 to reach the latter stages.
Wade then overcome five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld 6-3 in the Last 16 before edging past Jermaine Wattinema in a deciding leg to reach the Semi-Finals – where he ended the run of Scott Taylor with a 7-4 triumph. 
The multiple major champion raced into a 4-0 lead in the final and stretched his advantage to 7-3, and though Chisnall closed the gap to 7-6, ‘The Machine’ kept his cool to get over the line.
“It was a nerve-wracking final,” admitted Wade.
“I thought I was going to have it over and done with a lot quicker than I did but it’s onwards and upwards from here.”
Like Wade, Chisnall was also yet to lose in a ranking final this year, but was punished for a slow start to the final by Wade – who took out 76 to break throw in the opening leg, before finding double one in leg three for a second break of throw.
From there, Wade maintained his commanding position with holds of throw, while Chisnall needed to take out a magnificent 126 checkout on the bull to hold throw at 5-2.
Another three holds of throw followed, as Wade went within a leg of the match at 7-3, before Chisnall held and then took out 98 in two darts for a first break of throw to stay alive at 7-5.
Chisnall then inadvertently left 14 but made no mistake on double seven to go within a leg of Wade for the first time, only for Wade to find his favourite double ten with his last dart in hand for an 82 checkout to seal victory.
The second day of the mid-week ProTour double-header also saw John Henderson hit a nine-dart finish in his Last 16 victory over Ron Meulenkamp, while Czech Open winner Jamie Hughes made it three ProTour semi-finals for the year.
Bolton’s Scott Taylor took advantage of Michael van Gerwen’s withdrawal by reaching the Semi-Finals and picking up £3,000 in prize money after being drafted in at the eleventh hour.
Gary Anderson suffered a shock First Round exit at the hands of Ritchie Edhouse, while Tuesday’s winner Jose Sousa bowed out to Alan Norris in Round Two.

Players Championship 24 Results

Wednesday September 11
First Round
Ian White 6-3 Peter Hudson
Devon Petersen 6-5 Andy Boulton
Jose De Sousa 6-2 Jamie Lewis
Alan Norris 6-2 Ronny Huybrechts
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Cody Harris
Nathan Rafferty 6-5 Arron Monk
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-5 Kevin Burness
Scott Taylor 6-2 Christian Bunse
Joe Cullen 6-2 Alan Tabern
Richard North 6-2 Conan Whitehead
Vincent van der Voort 6-1 Simon Stevenson
Justin Pipe 6-1 Vincent Van der Meer
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Stephen Burton
Kyle Anderson 6-5 Brendan Dolan
Keegan Brown 6-5 Robert Thornton
Josh Payne 6-5 Geert Nentjes
Peter Wright 6-3 Barrie Bates
Matthew Edgar 6-0 Gary Eastwood
Mervyn King 6-2 Christian Kist
Tytus Kanik 6-5 George Killington
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Mark Dudbridge
Mario Robbe 6-2 Berry van Peer
Luke Woodhouse 6-1 Chris Dobey
Ross Smith 6-3 Steve West
James Wade 6-3 Marko Kantele
Jonathan Worsley 6-4 Mickey Mansell
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Ryan Meikle
James Richardson 6-3 Kirk Shepherd
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Rob Cross
David Pallett 6-3 Mark Webster
Steve Beaton 6-0 Ryan Harrington
Raymond van Barneveld 6-3 Jose Justicia
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Adam Hunt
Martin Schindler 6-5 Callan Rydz
Darren Webster 6-1 Bradley Brooks
Michael Barnard 6-3 Eddie Dootson
Davy Van Baelen 6-4 Ricky Evans
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-2 Luke Humphries
Jamie Hughes 6-3 William O’Connor
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 Wayne Jones
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-5 Andy Jenkins
Ritchie Edhouse 6-5 Gary Anderson
James Wilson 6-5 Max Hopp
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Toni Alcinas
Glen Durrant 6-1 Scott Baker
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-2 Mike van Duivenbode
Simon Whitlock 6-2 Harry Ward
Ryan Searle 6-5 Reece Robinson
Daryl Gurney 6-5 Yordi Meeuwisse
Steve Lennon 6-4 Ryan Joyce
John Henderson 6-2 Nathan Derry
Gavin Carlin 6-2 Ted Evetts
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Terry Temple
Matt Clark 6-2 Kim Huybrechts
Danny Noppert 6-2 Boris Koltsov
Ron Meulenkamp 6-2 Tony Newell
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Jan Dekker
Mark Wilson 6-3 Niels Zonneveld
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Mark McGeeney
Joe Murnan 6-2 Adrian Gray
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-4 Michael Smith
Benito van de Pas 6-3 Madars Razma
Carl Wilkinson 6-1 Stephen Bunting
Cristo Reyes 6-3 Robert Owen
Second Round
Devon Petersen 6-2 Ian White
Alan Norris 6-4 Jose De Sousa
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Nathan Rafferty
Scott Taylor 6-5 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Joe Cullen 6-2 Richard North
Justin Pipe 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
Kyle Anderson 6-5 Adrian Lewis
Keegan Brown 6-0 Josh Payne
Peter Wright 6-4 Matthew Edgar
Mervyn King 6-2 Tytus Kanik
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Mario Robbe
Ross Smith 6-1 Luke Woodhouse
James Wade 6-1 Jonathan Worsley
James Richardson 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Jelle Klaasen 6-4 David Pallett
Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Steve Beaton
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Martin Schindler
Darren Webster 6-4 Michael Barnard
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-5 Davy Van Baelen
Jamie Hughes 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-1 Ritchie Edhouse
James Wilson 6-3 Andrew Gilding
Glen Durrant 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Simon Whitlock 6-2 Ryan Searle
Steve Lennon 6-3 Daryl Gurney
John Henderson 6-4 Gavin Carlin
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Matt Clark
Ron Meulenkamp 6-2 Danny Noppert
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Mark Wilson
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Joe Murnan
Benito van de Pas 6-5 Zoran Lerchbacher
Cristo Reyes 6-3 Carl Wilkinson
Losers: £500
Last 32
Devon Petersen 6-2 Alan Norris
Scott Taylor 6-3 Nathan Aspinall
Justin Pipe 6-1 Joe Cullen
Kyle Anderson 6-3 Keegan Brown
Peter Wright 6-1 Mervyn King
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Ross Smith
James Wade 6-1 James Richardson
Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Darren Webster
Jamie Hughes 6-2 Maik Kuivenhoven
James Wilson 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
Glen Durrant 6-1 Simon Whitlock
John Henderson 6-3 Steve Lennon
Ron Meulenkamp 6-5 Jonny Clayton
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Gabriel Clemens
Benito van de Pas 6-1 Cristo Reyes
Losers: £1,000
Last 16
Scott Taylor 6-5 Devon Petersen
Justin Pipe 6-4 Kyle Anderson
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Peter Wright
James Wade 6-3 Raymond van Barneveld
Jamie Hughes 6-5 Gerwyn Price
James Wilson 6-3 Glen Durrant
John Henderson 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp – *Henderson hits a nine-darter*
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Benito van de Pas
Losers: £1,500
Scott Taylor 6-4 Justin Pipe
James Wade 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Jamie Hughes 6-3 James Wilson
Dave Chisnall 6-3 John Henderson
Losers: £2,250
James Wade 7-4 Scott Taylor
Dave Chisnall 7-6 Jamie Hughes
Losers: £3,000
James Wade 8-6 Dave Chisnall
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

  • Watch the World Seniors Championship streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register
  • Bet £5 and Get £20 in Free Bets when you join
  • Premier League Darts specials and price boosts
  • Get £40 in Bonuses when you register and stake £10
  • Price Boosts and Specials on all Darts events