Left arrow

Players Championship Darts live stream: How to watch events 21 & 22 exclusively live online

Right arrow

Dolan ends five-year title drought at Players Championship 22

Fantastic fifth PDC title for Ratajski at Players Championship 21

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 03 Aug 2019
Polish ace Ratajski celebrates (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)
Krzysztof Ratajski secured his fifth PDC ranking title at Players Championship 21 with a dramatic deciding leg victory over Dimitri Van den Bergh in the final in Hildesheim on Saturday.
Ratajski maintained his perfect record in PDC ranking finals over the past 18 months as he denied the Belgian youngster a first senior PDC title with a narrow 8-7 triumph.
The Polish number one kick-started his road to glory with back-to-back 6-2 wins over Maik Kuivenhoven and Jonathan Worsley before overcoming Gabriel Clemens and Conan Whitehead for the loss of just three legs.
He then recovered from 4-3 and 5-4 down to edged out Mickey Mansell 6-5 in the Quarter-Finals, before thrashing Danny Noppert 7-1 with a 104 average in the Semi-Finals.
Ratajski kicked off the final with a stunning 160 checkout for a 12-darter, before Van den Bergh took the next two legs to move in front.
Ratajski incredibly bust 130 in leg four but still managed to recover and win the leg, but Van den Bergh replied with successive legs again to go 4-2 ahead.
The former World Master hit back in level seven and punished two missed darts at doubles from the Belgian in the eighth to level, only for Van den Bergh to again establish a two-leg cushion at 6-4.
Ratajski landed double 16 and then levelled by hitting the bull for a 69 checkout, before nudging in front by punishing four missed doubles from his opponent.
Van den Bergh replied double 16 to force a deciding leg, but was unable to take out 121 as Ratajski stepped in to finish 82 on tops for the title.
“I’m very happy,” said Ratajski, whose victory moves him into the world’s top 32 for the first time. “It was very tight and it was really, really hard.
“I played my semi-final against Danny Noppert and I had never beaten him, but today I played almost a 104 average and it was superb.
“In the final with Dimitri, I’ve also lost with him many times, and I thought about it. When I was 7-7, I said to myself that I must win. It’s a very important result for me.”
Van den Bergh saw off Joe Cullen, Rowby-John Rodriguez, Justin Pipe, Simon Whitlock and Ron Meulenkamp before coming from 5-1 and 6-3 down to win his Semi-Final with Ian White 7-6.
That fightback moved the Belgian into his second Players Championship final of the year, but he was agonisingly left waiting to claim his first senior title.

Players Championship 21 Results

Saturday August 3
First Round
Bradley Brooks 6-2 Arron Monk
Steve West 6-0 Reece Robinson
Harry Ward 6-5 Matt Clark
Jamie Hughes 6-5 Wayne Jones
Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Davy Van Baelen
Chris Dobey 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Diogo Portela 6-3 Patrick van den Boogaard
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Jose Justicia
David Pallett 6-5 Danny van Trijp
James Wilson 6-4 Toni Alcinas
Berry van Peer 6-3 Christian Kist
Mensur Suljovic 6-0 Yordi Meeuwisse
Devon Petersen 6-3 Ryan Harrington
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Scott Taylor
Martin Schindler 6-1 Jerry Hendriks
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Joe Cullen
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-4 Tony Newell
Alan Tabern 6-3 Ross Smith
Justin Pipe 6-3 Vincent Van der Meer
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Christian Bunse
Jan Dekker 6-1 Kevin Garcia
Matthew Edgar 6-3 John Henderson
Joe Murnan 6-3 Tom Lonsdale
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Robert Thornton
Kevin Burness 6-4 Michael Barnard
Ron Meulenkamp 6-3 James Richardson
Andy Boulton 6-4 George Killington
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Jose De Sousa
Adrian Gray 6-4 Robert Owen
Mervyn King 6-1 Alan Norris
Mario Robbe 6-4 Zoran Lerchbacher
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Kirk Shepherd
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Robert Marijanovic
William O’Connor 6-2 Arjan Konterman
Cristo Reyes 6-1 Mark Webster
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 Dave Prins
Ronny Huybrechts 6-5 Brendan Dolan
Danny Noppert 6-4 Steve Lennon
Madars Razma 6-0 Benito van de Pas
Adam Hunt 6-3 Glen Durrant
Ryan Meikle 6-2 Brett Claydon
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Ryan Joyce
Mark McGeeney 6-5 Jamie Lewis
Michael Smith 6-5 Raymond van Barneveld
Barrie Bates 6-5 Mike van Duivenbode
Darren Webster 6-1 Cody Harris
Niels Zonneveld 6-5 Mark Wilson
Gavin Carlin 6-2 Ricky Evans
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 Simon Stevenson
Luke Humphries 6-2 Ryan Searle
Josh Payne 6-1 Luke Woodhouse
Carl Wilkinson 6-5 Steve Beaton
Mickey Mansell 6-1 Callan Rydz
Keegan Brown 6-5 Marko Kantele
Justin Smith 6-1 Kim Huybrechts
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Maik Kuivenhoven
Jonathan Worsley 6-2 Geert Nentjes
Gabriel Clemens 6-0 Peter Hudson
Ritchie Edhouse 6-3 Vincent Kamphuis
Conan Whitehead 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Tytus Kanik 6-2 Scott Baker
Richard North 6-4 Max Hopp
Ted Evetts 6-1 Wessel Nijman
Second Round
Ian White 6-2 Bradley Brooks
Harry Ward 6-5 Steve West
Darius Labanauskas 6-4 Jamie Hughes
Diogo Portela 6-5 Chris Dobey
Jonny Clayton 6-1 David Pallett
Berry van Peer 6-2 James Wilson
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Devon Petersen
Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Martin Schindler
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Justin Pipe 6-3 Alan Tabern
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Jan Dekker
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Joe Murnan
Kevin Burness 6-5 Nathan Aspinall
Ron Meulenkamp 6-1 Andy Boulton
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Adrian Gray
Mervyn King 6-4 Mario Robbe
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Andrew Gilding
William O’Connor 6-2 Cristo Reyes
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-1 Ronny Huybrechts
Danny Noppert 6-5 Madars Razma
Adam Hunt 6-4 Ryan Meikle
Mark McGeeney 6-5 Kyle Anderson
Michael Smith 6-2 Barrie Bates
Darren Webster 6-5 Niels Zonneveld
Gavin Carlin 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Luke Humphries 6-1 Josh Payne
Mickey Mansell 6-0 Carl Wilkinson
Keegan Brown 6-5 Justin Smith
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Jonathan Worsley
Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Ritchie Edhouse
Conan Whitehead 6-4 Tytus Kanik
Ted Evetts 6-5 Richard North
Losers: £500
Last 32
Ian White 6-1 Harry Ward
Darius Labanauskas 6-2 Diogo Portela
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Berry van Peer
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Vincent van der Voort
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4 Justin Pipe
Simon Whitlock 6-0 Matthew Edgar
Ron Meulenkamp 6-1 Kevin Burness
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Mervyn King
Dave Chisnall 6-3 William O’Connor
Danny Noppert 6-5 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Mark McGeeney 6-3 Adam Hunt
Michael Smith 6-5 Darren Webster
Luke Humphries 6-3 Gavin Carlin
Mickey Mansell 6-4 Keegan Brown
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Gabriel Clemens
Conan Whitehead 6-3 Ted Evetts
Losers: £1,000
Last 16
Ian White 6-3 Darius Labanauskas
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Simon Whitlock
Ron Meulenkamp 6-2 Jermaine Wattimena
Danny Noppert 6-3 Dave Chisnall
Michael Smith 6-4 Mark McGeeney
Mickey Mansell 6-3 Luke Humphries
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Conan Whitehead
Losers: £1,500
Ian White 6-4 Mensur Suljovic
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Danny Noppert 6-3 Michael Smith
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Losers: £2,250
Dimitri Van den Bergh 7-6 Ian White
Krzysztof Ratajski 7-1 Danny Noppert
Losers: £3,000
Krzysztof Ratajski 8-7 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

  • Watch the World Seniors Championship streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register
  • Bet £5 and Get £20 in Free Bets when you join
  • Premier League Darts specials and price boosts
  • Get £40 in Bonuses when you register and stake £10
  • Price Boosts and Specials on all Darts events