Left arrow

Gary Anderson opts out of 2021 World Cup of Darts

Right arrow

World Cup of Darts live stream | How to watch live online

World Cup of Darts 2021 Teams & Draw | Wales handed Finland opener

Jamie Shaw in World Cup of Darts 07 Sep 2021
Price and Clayton lifted the trophy in 2020 (Photo by Kais Bodensieck, PDC Europe)

The draw and team line-ups for the 2021 World Cup of Darts have been confirmed, with Wales beginning their title defence against Finland.

The annual 32-nation event will see two-player teams competing from September 9-12 in Jena, Germany – featuring both Singles and Doubles matches over the four days.

The top eight countries are seeded in the draw based on the lowest combined PDC Order of Merit ranking of the two representatives.

Reigning champion Wales, who will feature World Champion Gerwyn Price and Premier League winner Jonny Clayton, have been drawn to face Finland’s Marko Kantele and Veijo Viinikka in Thursday’s opening First Round ties.

Third seeds Netherlands, represented this year by Michael van Gerwen and debutant Dirk van Duijvenbode, begin their bid to win a fifth World Cup title against Denmark’s Andreas Toft Jørgensen and Niels Heinsøe.

Scotland will see Peter Wright and John Henderson team up this year, and the 2019 champions will take on Chinese debutants Jianfeng Lu and Wenqing Liu.

Former finalists Australia – represented by Simon Whitlock and Damon Heta will meet Italy, while Thursday’s opening night will also see Singapore – including veteran star Paul Lim – meet Gibraltar.

Czech Republic will face Poland, while Hungary clash with Lithuania and Sweden face USA – for whom Chuck Puleo partners Danny Lauby in the absence of Danny Baggish.

The first round will conclude on Friday, with top seeds England being represented by the new pairing of James Wade and Dave Chisnall as they take on Brazi’s Diogo Portela and Artur Valle.

UK Open champion Wade will be making his first appearance since the inaugural World Cup in 2010, while Chisnall previously competed in 2017 and 2018.

Fourth seeds Belgium, for whom Dimitri Van den Bergh partners Kim Huybrechts, will face Greece after Croatia withdrew from the tournament due to Boris Krcmar taking ill.

Former finalists Ireland will take on Portugal as Grand Slam champion Jose de Sousa makes his second World Cup appearance, while Northern Ireland’s Daryl Gurney and Brendan Dolan take on Hong Kong.

Host nation Germany, for whom Gabriel Clemens and Max Hopp reached the 2020 Semi-Finals, drew Canada in a tasty tie as Jeff Smith and Matt Campbell renew a partnership which reached the Quarter-Finals last year.

Austria will play the Philippines, South Africa will face the new Spanish pairing of Jesus Noguera and Jose Justicia and Russia’s Boris Koltsov and Evgenii Izotov take on Japan’s Matsuda Jun and Yoshihisa Baba.

Following the First Round on Thursday and Friday, the Second Round will be split across two sessions on Saturday September 11.

Sunday’s afternoon session will feature the Quarter-Finals, ahead of the Semi-Finals and final in the decisive evening session.


World Cup of Darts 2021 Draw

First Round

(1) England v Brazil
Spain v South Africa
(8) Germany v Canada
Russia v Japan
(4) Belgium v Greece
Austria v Philippines
(5) Northern Ireland v Hong Kong
Republic of Ireland v Portugal
(2) Wales v Finland
Hungary v Lithuania
(7) Australia v Italy
USA v Sweden
(3) Netherlands v Denmark
Gibraltar v Singapore
(6) Scotland v China
Czech Republic v Poland

World Cup of Darts 2021 Teams

(1) England – James Wade & Dave Chisnall
(2) Wales – Gerwyn Price & Jonny Clayton
(3) Netherlands – Michael van Gerwen & Dirk van Duijvenbode
(4) Belgium – Dimitri Van den Bergh & Kim Huybrechts
(5) Northern Ireland – Daryl Gurney & Brendan Dolan
(6) Scotland – Peter Wright & John Henderson
(7) Australia – Simon Whitlock & Damon Heta
(8) Germany – Gabriel Clemens & Max Hopp
Austria – Mensur Suljovic & Rowby-John Rodriguez
Brazil – Diogo Portela & Artur Valle
Canada – Jeff Smith & Matt Campbell
China – Jianfeng Lu & Wenqing Liu
Czech Republic – Karel Sedlacek & Adam Gawlas
Denmark – Andreas Toft Jørgensen & Niels Heinsøe
Finland – Marko Kantele & Veijo Viinikka
Gibraltar – Sean Negrette & Justin Hewitt
Greece – John Michael & Veniamin Symeonidis
Hong Kong – Kai Fan Leung & Man Lok Leung
Hungary – János Végső & Patrik Kovács
Italy – Danilo Vigato & Michele Turetta
Japan – Matsuda Jun & Yoshihisa Baba
Lithuania – Darius Labanauskas & Mindaugas Barauskas
Philippines – Lourence Ilagan & Christian Perez
Poland – Krzysztof Ratajski & Krzysztof Kciuk
Portugal – Jose de Sousa & Jose Marques
Republic of Ireland – William O’Connor & Steve Lennon
Russia – Boris Koltsov & Evgenii Izotov
Singapore – Paul Lim & Harith Lim
South Africa – Devon Petersen & Carl Gabriel
Spain – Jesus Noguera & Jose Justicia
Sweden – Daniel Larsson & Johan Engström
USA – Danny Lauby & Chuck Puleo