Left arrow
World Darts Championship 2019/20 Tournament Schedule of Play

Raymond van Barneveld: “To warm up for the World Championship is the only reason I'm here”

Right arrow
Wilson celebrates in Minehead

James Wilson reveals he feared his career was over amid injury “hell”

World Darts Championship 2019/20 Tournament Schedule of Play

Jamie Shaw in World Darts Championship 01 Jan 2020
Nathan Aspinall, Michael van Gerwen, Raymond van Barneveld and Glen Durrant pictured with the trophy (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The annual festive feast of darts returns as the greatest players on the planet battle it out at the World Championship, and you can follow all the latest results and fixture lists here.

This year’s William Hill World Championship will feature a star-studded field of 96 players competing for £2.5 million in prize money and the iconic Sid Waddell Trophy at London’s Alexandra Palace from December 13 to January 1.

The First Round draw sees the 32 ProTour Order of Merit Qualifiers pitted against the 32 international and domestic Qualifiers, with the winners set to take on the top 32 seeded players from the PDC Order of Merit in Round Two.

Michael van Gerwen claimed the title for the third time in 2019 courtesy of a 7-3 victory over Michael Smith in the final, becoming the outright second most successful player in the history of the event, behind only Phil Taylor.

The world number one is aiming to retain the title for the first time and will kick off his campaign on opening night at Ally Pally against either 2006 Lakeside Champion Jelle Klaasen or PDPA qualifier Kevin Burness.

Rob Cross is the number two seed as he looks to replicate his fairy-tale success on debut in 2018, when he claimed the crown, while man of the moment Gerwyn Price is looking to improve on a below-par record at Ally Pally and continue his blistering run of form, having retained the Grand Slam title in between finishing runner-up in the European Championship and Players Championship Finals.

Two-time World Champion Gary Anderson, 2019 runner-up Michael Smith, 2014 runner-up Peter Wright and multiple major winners Daryl Gurney and James Wade are among the other key contenders.

Five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld is making his final appearance in the sport’s show-piece before bringing his illustrious career to an end at the close of the tournament and is aiming to bow out on a high.

Three-time BDO World Champion Glen Durrant is a notable debutant, while the likes of Nathan Aspinall, James Wade, Adrian Lewis, Ian White and Dave Chisnall will also be out to challenge for the biggest prize of all.


First Round – Best of five sets (no tie-break)
Second Round – Best of five sets
Third Round – Best of seven sets
Fourth Round – Best of seven sets
Quarter-Finals – Best of nine sets
Semi-Finals – Best of 11 sets
Final – Best of 13 sets

William Hill World Darts Championship 2019/20 Schedule of Play

Friday December 13

First Round

Jelle Klaasen 3-1 Kevin Burness (First Round)
Kim Huybrechts 3-2 Geert Nentjes (First Round)
Luke Humphries 3-1 Devon Petersen (First Round)
Michael van Gerwen 3-1 Jelle Klaasen (Second Round)

Saturday December 14

First Round

Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)
Darius Labanauskas 3-0 Matthew Edgar
Ryan Meikle 1-3 Yuki Yamada
Luke Woodhouse 3-0 Paul Lim
Jermaine Wattimena 2-3 Luke Humphries (Second Round)

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Mark McGeeney 3-1 Matt Campbell
Jamie Hughes 2-3 Zoran Lerchbacher
Raymond van Barneveld 1-3 Darin Young
Rob Cross 0-3 Kim Huybrechts (Second Round)

Sunday December 15

First Round
Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)
Kyle Anderson 3-2 Xiaochen Zong
Ross Smith 0-3 Ciaran Teehan
Brendan Dolan 3-0 Nitin Kumar
Ian White 1-3 Darius Labanauskas (Second Round)

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Arron Monk 0-3 Jose Justicia
Andy Boulton 2-3 Danny Baggish
James Richardson 3-2 Mikuru Suzuki
Michael Smith 1-3 Luke Woodhouse (Second Round)

Monday December 16

First Round

Steve Lennon 2-3 Callan Rydz
William O’Connor 3-0 Marko Kantele
Vincent van der Voort 3-0 Keane Barry
Gary Anderson 3-0 Brendan Dolan (Second Round)

Tuesday December 17

First Round

Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)
Ryan Searle 3-2 Robbie King
Cristo Reyes 3-2 Lourence Ilagan
Rowby-John Rodriguez 0-3 Noel Malicdem
Krzysztof Ratajski 3-1 Zoran Lerchbacher (Second Round)

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Ritchie Edhouse 3-1 Boris Koltsov
Jose De Sousa 0-3 Damon Heta
Ted Evetts 2-3 Fallon Sherrock
Jeffrey de Zwaan 3-2 Darin Young (Second Round)

Wednesday December 18

First Round

Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)
Ron Meulenkamp 3-0 Ben Robb
Mickey Mansell 0-3 Seigo Asada
Harry Ward 3-2 Madars Razma
Stephen Bunting 3-2 Jose Justicia (Second Round)

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
James Wilson 1-3 Nico Kurz
Josh Payne 3-0 Diogo Portela
Gabriel Clemens 2-3 Benito van de Pas
James Wade 3-0 Ritchie Edhouse (Second Round)

Thursday December 19

Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)
Justin Pipe 3-2 Benjamin Pratnemer (First Round)
Ryan Joyce 2-3 Jan Dekker (First Round)
John Henderson 3-0 James Richardson (Second Round)
Steve Beaton 3-1 Kyle Anderson (Second Round)

Second Round

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Chris Dobey 3-2 Ron Meulenkamp
Danny Noppert 3-2 Callan Rydz
Dave Chisnall 3-1 Vincent van der Voort
Gerwyn Price 3-2 William O’Connor

Friday December 20

Second Round

Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)
Darren Webster 3-0 Yuki Yamada
Mervyn King 3-2 Ciaran Teehan
Jonny Clayton 3-0 Jan Dekker
Ricky Evans 3-1 Mark McGeeney

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Nathan Aspinall 3-1 Danny Baggish
Joe Cullen 1-3 Nico Kurz
Max Hopp 3-2 Benito van de Pas
Peter Wright 3-2 Noel Malicdem

Saturday December 21

Second Round

Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)
Keegan Brown 2-3 Seigo Asada
Simon Whitlock 3-0 Harry Ward
Steve West 0-3 Ryan Searle
Adrian Lewis 3-2 Cristo Reyes

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Daryl Gurney 3-0 Justin Pipe
Glen Durrant 3-0 Damon Heta
Mensur Suljovic 1-3 Fallon Sherrock
Dimitri Van den Bergh 3-0 Josh Payne

Sunday December 22

Third Round

Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)
Jonny Clayton 0-4 Stephen Bunting
Darius Labanauskas 4-2 Max Hopp
Nathan Aspinall 4-3 Krzysztof Ratajski

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
James Wade 2-4 Steve Beaton
Kim Huybrechts 4-2 Danny Noppert
Michael van Gerwen 4-0 Ricky Evans

Monday December 23

Third Round

Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)
Nico Kurz 2-4 Luke Humphries
Adrian Lewis 4-3 Darren Webster
Luke Woodhouse 2-4 Dimitri van den Bergh

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Dave Chisnall 3-4 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Gary Anderson 4-3 Ryan Searle
Peter Wright 4-2 Seigo Asada

Friday December 27

Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)

Third Round
Simon Whitlock 4-1 Mervyn King
Daryl Gurney 2-4 Glen Durrant
Fallon Sherrock 2-4 Chris Dobey

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Gerwyn Price 4-0 John Henderson (RD3)
Gary Anderson 2-4 Nathan Aspinall (RD4)
Michael van Gerwen 4-0 Stephen Bunting (RD4)

Saturday December 28

Fourth Round

Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)
Steve Beaton 2-4 Darius Labanauskas
Kim Huybrechts 1-4 Luke Humphries
Adrian Lewis 3-4 Dimitri van den Bergh

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Peter Wright 4-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Glen Durrant 4-3 Chris Dobey
Gerwyn Price 4-2 Simon Whitlock

Sunday December 29


Afternoon Session (12.30pm-4.30pm)
Nathan Aspinall 5-3 Dimitri van den Bergh
Luke Humphries 3-5 Peter Wright

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Michael van Gerwen 5-2 Darius Labanauskas
Gerwyn Price 5-1 Glen Durrant

Monday December 30

Semi-Finals (7pm-10pm)

Gerwyn Price 3-6 Peter Wright
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Nathan Aspinall

Wednesday January 1


Michael van Gerwen 3-7 Peter Wright

Prize Fund
Winner: £500,000
Runner-up: 200,000
Semi-Final losers: £100,000
Quarter-Final losers: £50,000
Fourth Round losers: £35,000
Third Round losers: £25,000
Second Round losers: £15,000
First Round losers: £7,500