Left arrow

PDC Order of Merit following the 2022/23 World Darts Championship

Michael Smith scoops hat-trick in 2022 PDC Annual Awards

Jamie Shaw in World Darts Championship 31 Jan 2023
Smith pictured with his trio of awards (Photo by Taylor Lanning/PDC)

Michael Smith has picked up a hat-trick of honours in the 2022 PDC Annual Awards following his sensational success over the last 12 months.

Newly-crowned World Champion Smith, who also claimed Grand Slam and US Masters glory last season, was named PDC Player of the Year in Tuesday’s Awards.

Smith received global acclaim following his historic exploits at Alexandra Palace, which saw him land an incredible nine-darter en route to victory over Michael van Gerwen in an epic final on January 3.

The 32-year-old also appeared in UK Open and European Championship finals in 2022, while celebrating three Players Championship wins and a European Tour success at the Dutch Darts Championship.

Smith’s treble success in the 2022 PDC Annual Awards also saw him crowned Fans’ Player of the Year and PDPA Players’ Player of the Year.

The world number one received almost 60% of the vote from a record number of fans who took part in the Selco Fans’ Player of the Year poll, while he claimed 40% of the votes from his fellow professionals.

“To pick up three awards shows I’m doing something right!” joked Smith, who joins the likes of Van Gerwen, Phil Taylor, Gary Anderson and Gerwyn Price in claiming multiple awards in one year.

“At the minute I’m on a massive rollercoaster and I’m loving every minute. I’ve put so much hard work in and I’m getting rewarded for it now.

“The fans’ award is one of the special ones, because they have lived it with me. They have felt the heartache I’ve felt, and they felt the joy when I won it. It feels really special.

“I won the Players’ Player of the Year in 2019, so to win my second one, I must be one of the players that people enjoy watching!

“I’m lost for words really. To win awards like this is amazing, but the hard work starts now. That was for 2022, and now I’ve got to work even harder in 2023.”

Elsewhere, Ross Smith, Luke Humphries and Josh Rock were also among the players recognised following their achievements over the last 12 months.

Ross Smith’s display in October’s European Championship final was judged the Televised Performance of the Year, as the Kent star celebrated his first televised title in Dortmund.

World number five Humphries was awarded ProTour Player of the Year after scooping five titles throughout 2022, which included four European Tour successes.

The 27-year-old claimed a maiden Players Championship crown, before lifting European Tour titles in Munich, Prague, Stuttgart and Trier to cap off a superb ProTour campaign where he earned £187,750 in prize money.

Elsewhere, emerging star Rock received the Best Newcomer and Young Player of the Year awards following a sensational breakthrough season in 2022.

Rock, who claimed five Development Tour titles and a maiden ProTour crown last term, announced his big stage arrival at November’s Grand Slam, landing a nine-dart finish in a titanic tussle against Van Gerwen.

The 21-year-old then lifted the World Youth Championship title just weeks later, before he continued his remarkable rise with a run to the last 16 on his World Championship debut.

PDC Annual Awards 2022

PDC Player of the Year
WINNER: Michael Smith
Michael van Gerwen
Gerwyn Price
Joe Cullen

ProTour Player of the Year
WINNER: Luke Humphries (£187,750)
Michael van Gerwen (£135,250)
Damon Heta (£134,750)
Rob Cross (£123,000)

Moneybarn Best Newcomer
WINNER: Josh Rock (36)
Rowby-John Rodriguez (51)
Scott Williams (57)
Jim Williams (59)

Toyo Tires Televised Performance of the Year
WINNER: Ross Smith – Cazoo European Championship Final
Gerwyn Price – Cazoo Premier League Belfast Semi-Final
Michael Smith – Cazoo World Darts Championship Final
Michael van Gerwen – Betfred World Matchplay Final

Selco Fans’ Player of the Year
WINNER: Michael Smith
Second: Michael van Gerwen
Third: Gerwyn Price

PDPA Players’ Player of the Year
WINNER: Michael Smith
Second: Josh Rock
Third: Michael van Gerwen

Winmau Young Player of the Year
WINNER: Josh Rock
Nathan Rafferty
Keane Barry
Sebastian Bialecki

LATEST DARTS FREE BET OFFERS (18+ | T&Cs apply | Be Gamble Aware)

  • Watch the International Darts Open streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £30 in Free Bets when you register
  • Get a Free Bet if Aspinall or Dobey win the night
  • 20+ markets on Premier League Darts matches
  • Bet £10 and Get £30 in Free Bets when you join
  • Daily Price Boosts and Specials