Left arrow

Van Gerwen lays down early World Championship marker as Waites and Baggish win sudden death thrillers

Right arrow

World Darts Championship 2020/21 Day Six: Evening Session preview and order of play

Martijn Kleermaker ruled out of the World Darts Championship

Jamie Shaw in World Darts Championship 20 Dec 2020
Dutch ace Kleermaker will miss his scheduled debut appearance (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Martijn Kleermaker has been withdrawn from the World Darts Championship after testing positive for Covid-19.

Dutch ace Kleermaker had been set to make his William Hill World Championship debut on Sunday December 20 against Cameron Carolissen.

However, the 29-year-old has tested positive for Covid-19 and has been withdrawn from the event as per PDC protocols.

Kleermaker said: “I am very disappointed that I won’t be able to take part in the World Championship.

“My health is my main priority and currently I am not displaying any symptoms, but I would ask everyone to respect my privacy at this difficult time.

“Thank you for your support and understanding.”

As confirmed prior to the PDPA Tour Card Holder Qualifier, Josh Payne – the highest ranked player of the six final round losers at the qualifier – was the first reserve.

Although Payne has received a negative Covid test, he has been in close contact with someone in the last 24 hours who has returned a positive test and must therefore self-isolate in accordance with UK government protocols.

With no further opportunity to replace Kleermaker before tonight’s scheduled tie, Carolissen now receives a first round bye, with Sunday’s evening session to feature just three matches.

All other players and officials tested so far have received negative results.


William Hill World Darts Championship – Revised Schedule

Sunday December 20

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)

3x First Round, 1x Second Round

Derk Telnekes v Nick Kenny (R1)
Jason Lowe v Dmitriy Gorbunov (R1)
Maik Kuivenhoven v Matthew Edgar (R1)
Vincent van der Voort v Ron Meulenkamp (R2)

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)

2x First Round, 2x Second Round

Cameron Carolissen – Bye (R1)
Keegan Brown v Ryan Meikle (R1)
Jeffrey de Zwaan v Ryan Searle (R2)
Jonny Clayton v John Henderson (R2)