Left arrow

PDC Winter Series Day Three Draw: The First Round line-up for Players Championship 21

Right arrow

PDC Winter Series Day Four Draw: The First Round line-up for Players Championship 22

Price picks up eighth title of 2020 at the PDC Winter Series

Jamie Shaw in PDC Winter Series 12 Nov 2020
Gerwyn Price celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Gerwyn Price secured his eighth title of the year on Day Three of the PDC Winter Series in Coventry on Thursday, defeating Damon Heta 8-6 in the final.

The Welshman continued his blistering spell of success by following up last weekend’s PDC World Cup triumph with a £10,000 Players Championship title at the Ricoh Arena.

The world number three stepped up his preparation for next week’s Grand Slam title defence in style, denying Heta a second ranking title of the season in a close final.

“I’m happy to win, but I think I played poorly in the final,” admitted Price.

“This week I’ve lost games when I’ve played well and today I’ve won playing poorly in the final.

“I felt I was in control for most of the game but I thought he was going to pinch it at the end.

“I just needed to play well this week and that’s what I’ve done the last two days.

“I’ve had a really bad head all week, I’m going home tomorrow for a day and coming back on Saturday.”

After receiving a Bye in Round One, Price produced his best performance of the day in his first outing as he edged past Reece Robinson 6-5 with a 102 average.

He then thrashed Gavin Carlin 6-1 before averaging 99 in a 6-0 whitewash of Canada’s Jeff Smith to reach the Quarter-Finals.

There, ‘The Ice Man’ overcame Stephen Bunting 6-4 before powering past William O’Connor 7-3 to seal his spot in the final.

A nip and tuck final saw Price open up with an 11-darter, taking out 87 for the first, before Heta replied with success legs to move in front.

Price levelled before Heta took out 74 to make it 3-2 and the duo remained locked level at five apiece before a crucial moment saw Price break throw to lead 6-5.

However, an immediate break back brought Heta level, but only for Price to reply with a 66 finish before falling over the line on double two.

Heta was appearing in his third PDC final and recorded five averages in excess of 99 along the way.

The Australian ace averaged 99.9 in a 6-5 success over Adrian Lewis in Round One before averaging 99.5 in defeating Niels Zonneveld by the same scoreline.

He then defeated Justin Pipe 6-3 with a 103 average before seeing off Ross Smith 6-4 with a 103.2 average in the Quarter-Finals.

There, he ended the run of an in-form Krzysztof Kciuk with a 6-2 victory and another 99.5 average, before denying Callan Rydz a first senior PDC final appearance with a 7-5 Semi-Final success.

Rydz reached his first ProTour Semi-Final with wins over the likes of Daryl Gurney, Brendan Dolan, Simon Whitlock and Ian White along the way.

The third of five consecutive days of Players Championship events at the Ricoh Arena saw Nick Kenny hit a nine-dart leg in a 6-3 First Round defeat to Dimitri Van den Bergh.

Having picked up titles in each the first two days, Michael Smith remains top of the PDC Winter Series Order of Merit, while Jermaine Wattimena stays in the provisional qualifying place for the Grand Slam as the highest ranked non-qualified player.


PDC Winter Series Day Three Results

Tuesday November 10

First Round
Reece Robinson 6-4 Karel Sedlacek
Gavin Carlin 6-3 Chris Dobey
John Michael 6-4 Boris Krcmar
Ryan Murray 6-2 Gabriel Clemens
Ciaran Teehan 6-3 Steve West
Jeff Smith 6-4 Jamie Hughes
Aaron Beeney 6-5 Joe Murnan
Jan Dekker 6-5 Krzysztof Ratajski
Matthew Dennant 6-5 Darius Labanauskas
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Robert Collins
Steve Brown 6-4 Mickey Mansell
Martin Schindler 6-2 Devon Petersen
Scott Taylor 6-4 Darren Penhall
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Luke Woodhouse
David Pallett 6-5 Michael Barnard
Ted Evetts 6-1 Jose De Sousa
Darren Webster 6-2 Adam Hunt
Madars Razma 6-5 Peter Jacques
Jitse Van der Wal 6-2 Yordi Meeuwisse
Glen Durrant 6-5 Kai Fan Leung
Scott Mitchell 6-1 Jonathan Worsley
Ryan Searle 6-1 Bradley Brooks
Christian Bunse 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
James Wade 6-2 Simon Stevenson
William O’Connor 6-3 James Wilson
Martijn Kleermaker 6-4 Richard North
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Nick Kenny – *Kenny hits a nine-darter*
William Borland 6-4 Rob Cross
Keane Barry 6-4 Ryan Meikle
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Kirk Shepherd
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-5 Jason Lowe
Peter Wright 6-0 Ron Meulenkamp
Simon Whitlock 6-0 Derk Telnekes
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-4 Mark McGeeney
Jim Williams 6-2 Gary Blades
Brendan Dolan 6-2 Richie Burnett
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Matthew Edgar
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Luke Humphries
Callan Rydz 6-3 Marko Kantele
Andy Boulton 6-2 Joe Cullen
Max Hopp 6-0 Barrie Bates
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Scott Baker
Josh Payne 6-4 Scott Waites
Ian White 6-5 Martin Atkins
Robert Thornton 6-5 Toni Alcinas
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 Steve Lennon
Ritchie Edhouse 6-4 Steve Beaton
Nathan Aspinall 6-1 Adrian Gray
David Evans 6-5 Ricky Evans
Ryan Joyce 6-1 Conan Whitehead
Carl Wilkinson 6-4 Maikel Verberk
Mike De Decker 6-3 Dave Chisnall
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-1 Benito van de Pas
Mervyn King 6-4 Alan Tabern
Daniel Larsson 6-5 John Henderson
Michael Smith 6-1 Harald Leitinger
Wayne Jones 6-5 Kevin Doets
Ross Smith 6-2 Keegan Brown
Matt Clark 6-2 Kim Huybrechts
Danny Noppert 6-3 Lisa Ashton
Justin Pipe 6-5 Jesus Noguera
Damon Heta 6-5 Adrian Lewis
Niels Zonneveld 6-2 Andy Hamilton

Second Round
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Reece Robinson
Gavin Carlin 6-5 John Michael
Ryan Murray 6-5 Ciaran Teehan
Jeff Smith 6-0 Aaron Beeney
Jan Dekker 6-2 Matthew Dennant
Steve Brown 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Scott Taylor 6-4 Martin Schindler
Stephen Bunting 6-4 David Pallett
Ted Evetts 6-4 Darren Webster
Madars Razma 6-3 Jitse Van der Wal
Glen Durrant 6-5 Scott Mitchell
Ryan Searle 6-3 Christian Bunse
William O’Connor 6-5 James Wade
Martijn Kleermaker 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Keane Barry 6-3 William Borland
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Simon Whitlock 6-1 Peter Wright
Jim Williams 6-4 Maik Kuivenhoven
Brendan Dolan 6-1 Jelle Klaasen
Callan Rydz 6-5 Daryl Gurney
Andy Boulton 6-5 Max Hopp
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Josh Payne
Ian White 6-1 Robert Thornton
Ritchie Edhouse 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 David Evans
Ryan Joyce 6-2 Carl Wilkinson
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-4 Mike De Decker
Mervyn King 6-1 Daniel Larsson
Michael Smith 6-1 Wayne Jones
Ross Smith 6-3 Matt Clark
Justin Pipe 6-2 Danny Noppert
Damon Heta 6-5 Niels Zonneveld
Losers: £500

Last 32
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Gavin Carlin
Jeff Smith 6-2 Ryan Murray
Jan Dekker 6-5 Steve Brown
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Scott Taylor
Madars Razma 6-1 Ted Evetts
Ryan Searle 6-4 Glen Durrant
William O’Connor 6-4 Martijn Kleermaker
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Keane Barry
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Jim Williams
Callan Rydz 6-2 Brendan Dolan
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Andy Boulton
Ian White 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Ryan Joyce
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-2 Mervyn King
Ross Smith 6-4 Michael Smith
Damon Heta 6-3 Justin Pipe
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Gerwyn Price 6-0 Jeff Smith
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Jan Dekker
Ryan Searle 6-4 Madars Razma
William O’Connor 6-5 Jonny Clayton
Callan Rydz 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Ian White 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-3 Nathan Aspinall
Damon Heta 6-4 Ross Smith
Losers: £1,500

Gerwyn Price 6-4 Stephen Bunting
William O’Connor 6-3 Ryan Searle
Callan Rydz 6-2 Ian White
Damon Heta 6-2 Krzysztof Kciuk
Losers: £2,250

Gerwyn Price 7-3 William O’Connor
Damon Heta 7-5 Callan Rydz
Losers: £3,000

Gerwyn Price 8-6 Damon Heta
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000