Left arrow

PDC Winter Series Day Four Draw: The First Round line-up for Players Championship 22

Right arrow

PDC Winter Series Day Five Draw: The First Round line-up for Players Championship 23

Wright denies De Sousa to claim PDC Winter Series title

Jamie Shaw in PDC Winter Series 13 Nov 2020
Wright adds to his title tally (Photo by Kais Bodensieck, PDC Europe)

Peter Wright edged past Jose De Sousa in a last-leg thriller to clinch the fourth PDC Winter Series title in Coventry on Friday.

The reigning World Champion and European Champion produced another superb day of darts as he scooped the £10,000 top prize in Players Championship 22, continuing his build-up to the BoyleSports Grand Slam of Darts in style.

Wright was rarely troubled in his run to the final, dropping only one leg in wins over Robert Thornton, Steve Lennon, Ricky Evans and Joe Cullen and defeating Jermaine Wattimena 6-3.

He had averaged 106 and 108 in his opening two games and was forced to break the 100-average barrier in the decider as he was pushed all the way by De Sousa.

The Portuguese star took out 100 for an 11-darter to open the final and also led 3-2 before Wright hit back to regain the lead and push into a 7-4 lead.

De Sousa took the next three to take the tie into a deciding leg, but it was Wright who opened with 140 and 180 before finishing 100 to seal victory with an 11-darter of his own.

“It’s a really good win for me,” said Wright. “It was always going to be close with Jose because he’s one of the best players in the world at the moment.

“He’s not been on the circuit long, but he’s amazing. He’s a lovely guy as well, so relaxed and laid back and we have a little bit of banter.

“I changed my darts a couple of times today. I did it in the semi-finals against Joe Cullen to have a bit of a longer point – I had to change something because they weren’t coming down.”

De Sousa was bidding to secure his second title of 2020, following a European Tour victory last month, and posted three ton-plus averages of his own during six wins to reach his third Players Championship final of the year.

Lewis enjoyed his best finish since Players Championship One back in February as he won through to the Semi-Finals, with the two-time World Champion notably defeating Michael van Gerwen and Simon Whitlock on the day.

World number one Van Gerwen made his first appearance of the Winter Series as he returned from a back problem, defeating Richie Burnett before losing out in a high-quality tie with Lewis which saw both players average above 100.

Last month’s International Open winner Cullen was the day’s other semi-finalist, while World Cup winner Jonny Clayton and Autumn Series event winner Damon Heta were among the quarter-finalists.

The PDC Winter Series concludes on Saturday with Day Five at the Ricoh Arena, with a further £75,000 in prize money on offer.

Following Day Five, the final qualifiers for next week’s Grand Slam will be confirmed, although Ian White is now assured of his place in that event as a Players Championship winner on the reserve list.

Jermaine Wattimena is currently the highest-ranked non-qualified player on the PDC Winter Series Order of Merit.

Saturday’s tournament is also the last Players Championship event of 2020, after which the 64 qualifiers for the Players Championship Finals will be confirmed.


PDC Winter Series Day Four Results

Friday November 13

First Round
Richie Burnett 6-5 Reece Robinson
Mickey Mansell 6-4 Chris Dobey
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Simon Whitlock
Ritchie Edhouse 6-5 Gabriel Clemens
Joe Murnan 6-0 Niels Zonneveld
Ryan Searle 6-3 Andy Hamilton
Scott Waites 6-5 Darren Webster
Devon Petersen 6-2 Steve Brown
Ryan Murray 6-3 Josh Payne
Ross Smith 6-0 Mark McGeeney
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 Ciaran Teehan
Ian White 6-2 Matt Clark
Wayne Jones 6-5 Darren Penhall
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 David Pallett
Justin Pipe 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Jose De Sousa 6-5 Andy Boulton
Kirk Shepherd 6-2 Michael Barnard
Adam Hunt 6-5 Ryan Joyce
Gavin Carlin 6-4 Callan Rydz
Brendan Dolan 6-0 Conan Whitehead
David Evans 6-4 Martin Atkins
Mike De Decker 6-4 Jamie Hughes
Darius Labanauskas 6-5 Jonathan Worsley
Michael Smith 6-1 Scott Mitchell
Harald Leitinger 6-4 Peter Jacques
Madars Razma 6-4 Luke Woodhouse
James Wilson 6-5 Jesus Noguera
Lisa Ashton 6-5 Rob Cross
Derk Telnekes 6-4 Ted Evetts
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Christian Bunse
Bradley Brooks 6-0 Carl Wilkinson
Robert Thornton 6-5 Barrie Bates
Steve Lennon 6-2 Maik Kuivenhoven
Jan Dekker 6-5 John Henderson
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Robert Collins
Ricky Evans 6-5 Luke Humphries
Mervyn King 6-2 Martin Schindler
Matthew Dennant 6-1 Marko Kantele
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Steve Beaton
Steve West 6-0 Daniel Larsson
Jermaine Wattimena 6-2 Kevin Doets
Scott Taylor 6-4 Jason Lowe
Danny Noppert 6-5 Jim Williams
Benito van de Pas 6-5 Yordi Meeuwisse
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
Nick Kenny 6-5 William Borland
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Keane Barry
Keegan Brown 6-5 Toni Alcinas
Jeff Smith 6-2 Richard North
Alan Tabern 6-4 Jitse Van der Wal
Damon Heta 6-4 Maikel Verberk
Ron Meulenkamp 6-3 Scott Baker
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Boris Krcmar
Max Hopp 6-2 Aaron Beeney
Joe Cullen 6-4 Matthew Edgar
William O’Connor 6-2 Ryan Meikle
John Michael 6-4 Martijn Kleermaker
Gary Blades 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Simon Stevenson 6-3 Glen Durrant
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Karel Sedlacek
Stephen Bunting 6-0 Adrian Gray
Kai Fan Leung 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez

Second Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Richie Burnett
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Joe Murnan 6-3 Ritchie Edhouse
Ryan Searle 6-2 Scott Waites
Ryan Murray 6-3 Devon Petersen
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-5 Ross Smith
Ian White 6-5 Wayne Jones
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Justin Pipe
Jose De Sousa 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
Adam Hunt 6-3 Gavin Carlin
Brendan Dolan 6-4 David Evans
Mike De Decker 6-4 Darius Labanauskas
Michael Smith 6-2 Harald Leitinger
James Wilson 6-4 Madars Razma
Derk Telnekes 6-1 Lisa Ashton
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Bradley Brooks
Peter Wright 6-1 Robert Thornton
Steve Lennon 6-5 Jan Dekker
Ricky Evans 6-5 Dave Chisnall
Matthew Dennant 6-4 Mervyn King
Steve West 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Scott Taylor
Benito van de Pas 6-5 Danny Noppert
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-2 Nick Kenny
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Keegan Brown
Jeff Smith 6-3 Alan Tabern
Damon Heta 6-0 Ron Meulenkamp
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Max Hopp
Joe Cullen 6-5 William O’Connor
John Michael 6-3 Gary Blades
Simon Stevenson 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Kai Fan Leung
Losers: £500

Last 32
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Michael van Gerwen
Ryan Searle 6-3 Joe Murnan
Ryan Murray 6-3 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Ian White
Jose De Sousa 6-2 Adam Hunt
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Mike De Decker
Michael Smith 6-1 James Wilson
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Derk Telnekes
Peter Wright 6-1 Steve Lennon
Ricky Evans 6-4 Matthew Dennant
Jermaine Wattimena 6-2 Steve West
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-1 Benito van de Pas
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Jeff Smith
Damon Heta 6-2 Daryl Gurney
Joe Cullen 6-4 John Michael
Simon Stevenson 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Ryan Searle
Ryan Murray 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Jose De Sousa 6-3 Brendan Dolan
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Michael Smith
Peter Wright 6-1 Ricky Evans
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Krzysztof Kciuk
Damon Heta 6-3 Nathan Aspinall
Joe Cullen 6-5 Stevenson
Losers: £1,500

Adrian Lewis 6-3 Ryan Murray
Jose De Sousa 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Peter Wright 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Joe Cullen 6-2 Damon Heta
Losers: £2,250

Jose De Sousa 7-5 Adrian Lewis
Peter Wright 7-1 Joe Cullen
Losers: £3,000

Peter Wright 8-7 Jose De Sousa
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000