Left arrow

Van Barneveld recovering after collapse at the PDC Super Series

Right arrow

Van Gerwen “Won’t win a TV title this year” insists Wright

Wright opens his title account for 2021 at Players Championship 8

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 19 Mar 2021
Peter Wright celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Peter Wright picked up his first title of the year with victory in Players Championship 8, defeating Gerwyn Price 8-3 in the final.

Wright had last tasted victory in November but the world number three showed his quality as he averaged 103 across seven matches in the fourth and final event of PDC Super Series 2.

The Scot dropped just four legs in his opening three games, defeating Jack Main, Adam Hunt and William O’Connor, before being taken the distance by Steve West in the Last 16.

Wright then averaged 108 in his 6-4 Quarter-Final win over Steve Lennon and proved too strong for Joe Cullen with a clinical 7-2 Semi-Final success.

He then ended Price’s run of seven successive final wins with a dominant display to claim the £10,000 top prize and head into next month’s Premier League in winning form.

The 2020 World Champion began the final with a 14-darter before breaking throw with a superb 161 checkout for a 12-darter.

Price hit back with a 14-darter, but Wright took the next two with tops and double eight before firing in six perfect darts en route to an 11-darter to make it 5-1.

Price took out 116 for a 12-darter to respond again, but the reigning European Champion broke on double 16 and finished tops to move 7-2 up, with a 12-darter from the Welshman stemming the tide before a 14-darter sealed victory for Snakebite.

“Coming to the venue I said that I felt it was coming,” admitted Wright. “Today I felt on a different level to everyone else.

“After the First Round, it was going to take someone special to stop me.

“It’s really weird and it’s a great feeling, and if I could put it in a jar and then take it out for the next tournament it would be fantastic – but tomorrow I could pick up the darts and throw absolutely terrible!”

Price was bidding to follow up Wednesday’s Players Championship 6 victory with a second ProTour win of the week and showed his World Champion class with averages of over 108 in a win over Joe Murnan and 107 in his Quarter-Final defeat of Jason Lowe.

He also whitewashed Luke Woodhouse 6-0 and overcame Tuesday’s champion Brendan Dolan 7-2 in the Semi-Finals.

Dolan’s run to a third Semi-Final in four days completed an outstanding week at the Super Series as he defeated former World Champion Rob Cross and current Grand Slam of Darts champion Jose de Sousa along the way.

Cullen was a semi-finalist for the second time this week and a fourth time in 2021 before losing out to Wright as he continued his consistent spell of form.

Lowe and Lennon were joined in the Quarter-Finals by Poland’s Krzysztof Ratajski and Germany’s Martin Schindler – who produced an encouraging run only a month after regaining his PDC Tour Card.

Mickey Mansell achieved a nine-dart finish during his First Round tie with Jamie Hughes, although the Northern Irish star lost the tie 6-5.

The day also featured an hour-long suspension in play as Raymond van Barneveld required medical treatment after falling ill inside the venue, before the Dutchman returned to his hotel room at the Marshall Arena to be further monitored.


PDC Super Series 2 Event Four Results

Friday March 19

First Round
Ricky Evans 6-5 Gavin Carlin
Ryan Searle 6-1 Raymond van Barneveld
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-5 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Scott Waites 6-5 Dave Chisnall
Michael Rasztovits 6-3 Keegan Brown
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Jesus Noguera
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-3 Daniel Larsson
Devon Petersen 6-2 Ron Meulenkamp
Jelle Klaasen 6-4 James Wilson
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 Martin Lukeman
Lewis Williams 6-0 Peter Hudson
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Lorenzo Pronk
Mike De Decker 6-5 Brett Claydon
Niels Zonneveld 6-5 Mervyn King
Steve Beaton 6-3 John Brown
Peter Wright 6-1 Jack Main
Adam Hunt 6-5 Jake Jones
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Adrian Lewis
William O’Connor 6-3 Keane Barry
Danny Noppert 6-3 Martijn Kleermaker
Matthew Edgar 6-1 Eddie Lovely
Steve Brown 6-1 Vincent van der Voort
Steve West 6-3 Ryan Murray
Steve Lennon 6-4 Jonny Clayton
Geert De Vos 6-4 Boris Koltsov
Darius Labanauskas 6-1 David Evans
Andy Hamilton 6-0 William Borland
Damon Heta 6-2 Chris Dobey
Boris Krcmar 6-3 Josh Payne
Callan Rydz 6-5 Krzysztof Kciuk
Jason Heaver 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Darren Webster 6-5 Chas Barstow
Ross Smith 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Luke Humphries 6-2 Gary Blades
Brendan Dolan 6-0 Steffen Siepmann
Ryan Meikle 6-4 Alan Tabern
Rob Cross 6-4 Justin Pipe
Karel Sedlacek 6-3 Nick Kenny
James Wade 6-3 Andy Boulton
Bradley Brooks 6-4 Gordon Mathers
Martin Atkins 6-4 Madars Razma
Martin Thomas 6-4 Adam Gawlas
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Wayne Jones
Ritchie Edhouse 6-0 Gino Vos
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Martin Schindler 6-3 Danny Baggish
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Peter Jacques
Joe Murnan 6-3 Berry van Peer
Jamie Hughes 6-5 Mickey Mansell – *Mansell hits a nine-darter*
Scott Mitchell 6-1 Derk Telnekes
Jeff Smith 6-5 Ian White
Luke Woodhouse 6-3 Ciaran Teehan
Gabriel Clemens 6-1 Luc Peters
Aaron Beeney 6-1 Mark McGeeney
Kai Fan Leung 6-5 Michael Smith
Alan Soutar 6-5 Max Hopp
Ryan Joyce 6-5 Ted Evetts
John Henderson 6-4 Jon Worsley
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Andrew Gilding 6-3 John Michael
Jason Lowe 6-1 Glen Durrant
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-2 Lisa Ashton

Second Round
Joe Cullen 6-3 Ricky Evans
Ryan Searle 6-1 Zoran Lerchbacher
Scott Waites 6-2 Michael Rasztovits
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Devon Petersen
Lewis Williams 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Mike De Decker
Steve Beaton 6-5 Niels Zonneveld
Peter Wright 6-2 Adam Hunt
William O’Connor 6-4 Stephen Bunting
Danny Noppert 6-1 Matthew Edgar
Steve West 6-3 Steve Brown
Steve Lennon 6-2 Geert De Vos
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Darius Labanauskas
Damon Heta 6-1 Boris Krcmar
Jason Heaver 6-2 Callan Rydz
José de Sousa 6-2 Darren Webster
Luke Humphries 6-4 Ross Smith
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Ryan Meikle
Rob Cross 6-5 Karel Sedlacek
James Wade 6-5 Bradley Brooks
Martin Atkins 6-4 Martin Thomas
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Ritchie Edhouse
Martin Schindler 6-3 Kim Huybrechts
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Joe Murnan
Scott Mitchell 6-3 Jamie Hughes
Luke Woodhouse 6-3 Jeff Smith
Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Aaron Beeney
Kai Fan Leung 6-2 Alan Soutar
Ryan Joyce 6-2 John Henderson
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Andrew Gilding
Jason Lowe 6-5 Maik Kuivenhoven
Losers: £500

Last 32
Joe Cullen 6-2 Ryan Searle
Scott Waites 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Jelle Klaasen 6-1 Lewis Williams
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-5 Steve Beaton
Peter Wright 6-1 William O’Connor
Steve West 6-4 Danny Noppert
Steve Lennon 6-2 Andy Hamilton
Damon Heta 6-3 Jason Heaver
José de Sousa 6-4 Luke Humphries
Brendan Dolan 6-2 Rob Cross
Martin Atkins 6-4 James Wade
Martin Schindler 6-5 Mensur Suljovic
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Scott Mitchell
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Gabriel Clemens
Kai Fan Leung 6-4 Ryan Joyce
Jason Lowe 6-3 Nathan Aspinall
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Joe Cullen 6-2 Scott Waites
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Jelle Klaasen
Peter Wright 6-5 Steve West
Steve Lennon 6-2 Damon Heta
Brendan Dolan 6-2 José de Sousa
Martin Schindler 6-3 Martin Atkins
Gerwyn Price 6-0 Luke Woodhouse
Jason Lowe 6-2 Kai Fan Leung
Losers: £1,500

Joe Cullen 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
Peter Wright 6-4 Steve Lennon
Brendan Dolan 6-4 Martin Schindler
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Jason Lowe
Losers: £2,250

Peter Wright 7-2 Joe Cullen
Gerwyn Price 7-2 Brendan Dolan
Losers: £3,000

Peter Wright 8-3 Gerwyn Price
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000