Left arrow

Players Championship 2022 Event 15 | Draw and Live Scores

Right arrow

Players Championship 2022 Event 16 | Draw and Live Scores

Michael Smith seals back-to-back Players Championship titles in Wigan

Jamie Shaw in Players Championship 11 May 2022
Michael Smith celebrates (Photo by Steve Paston/PDC)

Michael Smith made it back-to-back ProTour titles with victory at Players Championship 15 in Wigan on Wednesday, defeating Callan Rydz 8-3 in the final.

Having stormed to Tuesday’s title at the Robin Park Sports Centre, Smith completed a memorable double as he scooped a second £12,000 top prize in as many days.

The world number four fired in a nine-dart finish on his way to glory as he took his unbeaten run to 14 matches.

Smith’s title charge began with a 6-4 victory over Glen Durrant, before thrashing Greece’s John Michael 6-1 in the Second Round.

The World Championship and UK Open finalist then registered three consecutive ton-plus averages, starting with a 107 in his narrow 6-5 win over Ritchie Edhouse, before averaging 104 in denying Mario Vandenbogaerde by the same scoreline.

Smith’s Quarter-Final against Florian Hempel saw him produce perfection with a nine-darter in the fourth leg, eventually sealing victory with a sensational 115 average.

He then comfortably overcame Alan Soutar 7-3 in the Semi-Finals to set up a show-down with fellow power-scorer Rydz.

Rydz took the opening leg of the final but Smith responded with finishes of 70, 81 and 81 to move into a 3-1 lead.

Rydz hit back with a stunning 128 checkout, and after the pair had exchanged the next two legs, Smith turned on the style with a run of four consecutive legs to seal victory, landing a 161 checkout in the process.

Rydz’ run to the final saw him defeat Kevin Doets, Rusty-Jake Rodriguez, Chris Dobey, Dirk van Duijvenbode and Ryan Joyce, averaging above 100 in six of his seven matches on the day.

Elsewhere, Scottish youngster Nathan Girvan landed a nine-dart finish in the opening round but was beaten 6-3 by Adrian Lewis.

Soutar’s best run of the season so far saw him reach the Semi-Finals with wins over Ian White, Jose Justicia, Mickey Mansell, Steve West and Josh Rock.

Joyce’s run to the Last Four saw him knock out Krzysztof Kciuk, Ross Montgomery, Ryan Meikle, Stephen Bunting and Damon Heta.


Players Championship 15 Results

Wednesday May 11

First Round
Jose de Sousa 6-1 William Borland
Scott Waites 6-2 Keegan Brown
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-5 Jon Worsley
Steve West 6-0 Brian Raman
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Gabriel Clemens
Mickey Mansell 6-4 Steve Beaton
Jose Justicia 6-4 Kim Huybrechts
Alan Soutar 6-3 Ian White
William O’Connor 6-5 Krzysztof Ratajski
Darren Webster 6-3 Bradley Brooks
Mervyn King 6-5 Radek Szaganski
Martijn Kleermaker 6-5 Ted Evetts
Dave Chisnall 6-0 Adam Gawlas
James Wilson 6-0 Pete Burgoyne
Vincent van der Voort 6-1 Steve Haggerty
Josh Rock 6-4 Jules van Dongen
Michael Smith 6-4 Glen Durrant
John Michael 6-1 Nick Fullwell
Ritchie Edhouse 6-5 Scott Mitchell
Cameron Menzies 6-4 John Henderson
Danny Noppert 6-2 Devon Petersen
Mario Vandenbogaerde 6-0 Berry van Peer
Max Hopp 6-5 Ross Smith
Niels Zonneveld 6-4 Damian Mol
Nathan Rafferty 6-5 Nathan Aspinall
Florian Hempel 6-5 Joe Murnan
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Jeff Smith 6-0 Stu Wilson
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Brendan Dolan
Jamie Hughes 6-3 Jason Lowe
Martin Lukeman 6-4 Stephen Burton
Jamie Clark 6-4 Jake Jones
Rob Cross 6-5 Connor Scutt
Ricardo Pietreczko 6-2 Lee Evans
John O’Shea 6-3 Simon Whitlock
Mike De Decker 6-4 Kevin Burness
Chris Dobey 6-3 George Killington
Gavin Carlin 6-2 Gordon Mathers
Callan Rydz 6-2 Kevin Doets
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-2 Adam Hunt
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Vladimir Andersen
Jack Main 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Keane Barry 6-3 Boris Koltsov
Geert Nentjes 6-5 Luke Woodhouse
Martin Schindler 6-5 Luc Peters
Robert Owen 6-5 Jason Heaver
Ricky Evans 6-3 Eddie Lovely
Brett Claydon 6-2 Andy Jenkins
Damon Heta 6-4 Richie Burnett
Jim Williams 6-5 Geert De Vos
Raymond van Barneveld 6-1 Shaun Wilkinson
Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Jeremy van der Winkel
Karel Sedlacek 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Andy Boulton 6-2 Peter Hudson
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Nathan Girvan – *Girvan hits a nine-darter*
Lewy Williams 6-5 Danny van Trijp
Steve Lennon 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Ryan Meikle 6-2 Ron Meulenkamp
Ryan Joyce 6-2 Krzysztof Kciuk
Ross Montgomery 6-1 Danny Jansen
Stephen Bunting 6-2 David Evans
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-2 Boris Krcmar
Madars Razma 6-2 Jimmy Hendriks
Scott Williams 6-1 Tony Martinez

Second Round
Scott Waites 6-4 Jose de Sousa
Steve West 6-3 Maik Kuivenhoven
Mickey Mansell 6-3 Matthew Edgar
Alan Soutar 6-2 Jose Justicia
Darren Webster 6-4 William O’Connor
Martijn Kleermaker 6-4 Mervyn King
James Wilson 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Josh Rock 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
Michael Smith 6-1 John Michael
Ritchie Edhouse 6-4 Cameron Menzies
Mario Vandenbogaerde 6-2 Danny Noppert
Max Hopp 6-5 Niels Zonneveld
Florian Hempel 6-2 Nathan Rafferty
Jeff Smith 6-4 Mensur Suljovic
Jamie Hughes 6-5 Andrew Gilding
Jamie Clark 6-5 Martin Lukeman
Rob Cross 6-2 Ricardo Pietreczko
Mike De Decker 6-5 John O’Shea
Chris Dobey 6-2 Gavin Carlin
Callan Rydz 6-2 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Jack Main
Keane Barry 6-3 Geert Nentjes
Robert Owen 6-1 Martin Schindler
Ricky Evans 6-2 Brett Claydon
Damon Heta 6-1 Jim Williams
Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Darius Labanauskas
Karel Sedlacek 6-4 Andy Boulton
Adrian Lewis 6-1 Lewy Williams
Ryan Meikle 6-3 Steve Lennon
Ryan Joyce 6-1 Ross Montgomery
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Madars Razma 6-4 Scott Williams
Losers: £750

Last 32
Steve West 6-4 Scott Waites
Alan Soutar 6-3 Mickey Mansell
Martijn Kleermaker 6-3 Darren Webster
Josh Rock 6-3 James Wilson
Michael Smith 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse
Mario Vandenbogaerde 6-3 Max Hopp
Florian Hempel 6-4 Jeff Smith
Jamie Hughes 6-1 Jamie Clark
Rob Cross 6-1 Mike De Decker
Callan Rydz 6-2 Chris Dobey
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Keane Barry
Robert Owen 6-3 Ricky Evans
Damon Heta 6-5 Raymond van Barneveld
Adrian Lewis 6-1 Karel Sedlacek
Ryan Joyce 6-5 Ryan Meikle
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Madars Razma
Losers: £1,250

Last 16
Alan Soutar 6-4 Steve West
Josh Rock 6-4 Martijn Kleermaker
Michael Smith 6-5 Mario Vandenbogaerde
Florian Hempel 6-1 Jamie Hughes
Callan Rydz 6-1 Rob Cross
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Robert Owen
Damon Heta 6-2 Adrian Lewis
Ryan Joyce 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Losers: £2,000

Alan Soutar 6-4 Josh Rock
Michael Smith 6-2 Florian Hempel *Smith hits a nine-darter*
Callan Rydz 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Ryan Joyce 6-4 Damon Heta
Losers: £3,000

Michael Smith 7-3 Alan Soutar
Callan Rydz 7-1 Ryan Joyce
Losers: £4,000

Michael Smith 8-3 Callan Rydz
Winner: £12,000
Runner-up: £8,000

  • Watch The Masters streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register
  • Get £40 in Bonuses when you register and stake £10
  • Price Boosts and Specials on all Darts events