Left arrow

Fallon Sherrock handed World Series of Darts wildcard for 2020

Right arrow

Peter Wright to miss World Series of Darts triple-header in Australia and New Zealand

World Series of Darts triple-header postponed until 2021

Jamie Shaw in New Zealand Darts Masters 23 Apr 2021
The Claudelands Arena in Hamilton hosts the NZ Masters (Photo by DPNZ/PDC)

The World Series of Darts triple-header planned for Wollongong, Townsville and Hamilton in August 2020 is to be postponed for 12 months.

The World Series, featuring the likes of world number one Michael van Gerwen, World Champion Peter Wright and history-maker Fallon Sherrock, had been scheduled to visit Wollongong and Townsville for the first time this year.

Hamilton was also set to welcome back the sport’s top stars during August, following the successful New Zealand Darts Masters debut at the Claudelands Arena in 2019.

However, with ongoing global restrictions in place due to the Coronavirus pandemic, the decision has been made to move the events back 12 months to be held in August 2021, mirroring the move of the US Darts Masters in New York to now be staged next June.

The New South Wales Darts Masters is now planned for August 6-7 at the WIN Entertainment Centre in Wollongong.

The Queensland Darts Masters at the Townsville Entertainment & Convention Centre will then be played on August 13-14 as the second event before the sport’s top stars will then cross the Tasman Sea to Hamilton for the NZ Darts Masters on August 20-21.

“As with our recent decision to move the US Darts Masters in New York back 12 months to be part of our 2021 World Series of Darts, we felt that this was the most appropriate step for our Oceanic events given the current global situation,” said PDC Chief Executive Matthew Porter.

“The reaction of fans in Australia and New Zealand ahead of our World Series of Darts events had been extremely encouraging and we had been very excited about our planned debuts in Wollongong and Townsville as well as the return to Hamilton.

“To agree dates to stage the events in 2021 will now enable fans to plan with a greater degree of certainly for what should be three fantastic World Series events.”

Tickets purchased for the planned 2020 tournaments will be valid for the equivalent session of the new 2021 events.

World Series of Darts 2021 – New Dates

August 6-7 – New South Wales Darts Masters, WIN Entertainment Centre, Wollongong
August 13-14 – Queensland Darts Masters, Townsville Entertainment & Convention Centre
August 20-21 – NZ Darts Masters, Claudelands Arena, Hamilton