Left arrow

Kayden Milne sees off Fallon Sherrock at the New Zealand Darts Masters

Right arrow

Gerwyn Price claims New Zealand Darts Masters glory

New Zealand Darts Masters 2022 | Day Two Preview and Order of Play

Jamie Shaw in New Zealand Darts Masters 27 Aug 2022
Clayton and MVG collide (Photo by Steve Welsh/PDC)

The 2022 New Zealand Darts Masters draws to a close on Saturday as the final eight compete for the title in Hamilton.

The sixth World Series silverware of the season is up for grabs as seven PDC representatives and one Kiwi star do battle on Day Two at the Globox Arena.

The Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and final take place in one unmissable session, with a top prize of £20,000 on offer.

Undoubtedly the stand-out tie of the Quarter-Finals sees the two most recent World Series title winners go head-to-head as Michael van Gerwen takes on Jonny Clayton.

Van Gerwen is looking to follow up his Queensland Darts Masters triumph a fortnight ago with an 18th career World Series title, having also won the Premier League and World Matchplay this summer.

The world number three began by defeating DPA qualifier Bernie Smith 6-3 on Friday with a 99 average and now comes up against ‘The Ferret’ for the ninth time all competitions this year, with the duo having shared four wins apiece.

Clayton clinched his first regular World Series title at the New South Wales Masters in Wollongong last week, dropping only seven legs along the way.

The reigning World Series Finals champion brushed aside Australia’s Mal Cuming 6-1 despite an average of just 88 but will be eyeing a marked improvement against the man he denied top spot in this year’s Premier League table.

Two players vying for their first regular World Series title face off for the second successive week as Gerwyn Price meets James Wade.

An out of sorts Price was thrashed 7-3 by Wade in the Semi-Finals in Wollongong and will have revenge in his sights after an imperious First Round display which saw him average 105 in a 6-3 win over New Zealand number one Ben Robb.

Wade, runner-up seven days ago, survived a missed match dart from Gordon Mathers on his way to a narrow 6-5 success in Round One and has won four of his last five meetings with world number one Price.

The opening tie of the day sees former World Matchplay champion Dimitri van den Bergh face reigning Masters champion Joe Cullen.

Van den Bergh is vying for a third World Series title of the year, following on from his Nordic Masters and Dutch Masters triumphs in June.

The Belgian ace began his latest campaign by dispatching World Cup winner Simon Whitlock 6-4 with a 100.3 average in a high quality encounter.

Cullen, meanwhile, made light work of Whitlock’s World Cup partner Damon Heta, sealing a 6-2 victory despite an average of 92.5.

Cullen reached the Semi-Finals last weekend before being thrashed 7-1 by eventual champion Clayton, and ‘The Rockstar’ will be out to round off his debut campaign Down Under with an even stronger run in Hamilton.

US Masters champion Michael Smith aims to avoid a major scalp at the hands of 22-year-old Kayden Milne – the last remaining Oceanic representative in the field.

Smith overcame veteran Warren Parry 6-3 on Friday despite a staggering 21 missed darts at doubles, and ‘Bully Boy’ will be determined to brush up on his finishing if he is to challenge for glory on the final day.

Milne marked a dream TV debut by recovering from 5-3 down to snatch a 6-5 victory over Women’s World Matchplay champion Fallon Sherrock, and the youngster is now looking to raise the roof in front of a packed home crowd once again on the biggest night of his career.

The action gets under way from 8am BST (7pm local time) with Quarter-Final matches to be contested over the best of 11 legs, Semi-Finals best of 13 and the final best of 15.


18+ | T&Cs Apply* | Geo Restrictions may apply | Be Gamble Aware

New Zealand Darts Masters 2022 Day Two Schedule

All times BST (local time 11 hours ahead)

Saturday August 27


Dimitri van den Bergh v Joe Cullen
James Wade v Gerwyn Price
Michael van Gerwen v Jonny Clayton
Michael Smith v Kayden Milne

Van den Bergh/Cullen v Wade/Price
Van Gerwen/Clayton v M Smith/Milne


LATEST DARTS FREE BET OFFERS (18+ | T&Cs apply | Be Gamble Aware)

Today's Top Offers

  • Watch the World Grand Prix streamed live here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register