Left arrow

Van Baelen enjoys dream debut at the International Open as Van den Bergh and Kyle Anderson also turn on the style

Right arrow

Price retains International Darts Open title in Riesa

Price begins International Open title defence in style as North stuns White in Riesa

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 14 Sep 2019
North continues his impressive form on his first Euro Tour outing of 2019 (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)
Gerwyn Price began his bid to retain the International Open title with a stunning Second Round victory over Kyle Anderson in Riesa on Saturday, while Richard North battled back to deny top seed Ian White. 
Price took victory in last year’s PDC European Tour event at the Sachsenarena, and opened his latest title challenge with a superb 6-4 comeback win over birthday boy Anderson.
The Australian led 3-2 after landing checkouts of 133 and 120 either side of an 11-darter, but Price took four of the next five as he progressed – finishing all six winning legs between 12 and 14 darts as he averaged over 106.
Price now plays Joe Murnan in the Third Round on Sunday afternoon, after the qualifier overcame Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-3, landing a 161 finish as he moved into the last 16 of a European Tour event for the first time in three years.
The other two former International Open winners in the field, Suljovic and Wright, will clash in Round Three after they progressed in contrasting fashion.
Recent Austrian Championship winner Suljovic was in clinical mood as he whitewashed Harry Ward 6-0, averaging 101 as he moved into the Last 16 in under 13 minutes.
Wright, meanwhile, had to battle back from 3-0 down before he defeated Ritchie Edhouse 6-4, taking out finishes of 100 and 107 during the comeback.
Top seed Ian White, however, crashed out as he paid the price for four missed match darts against Richard North, who hit back from 5-3 down to claim victory.
North’s third round opponent is Steve West, who made a brilliant comeback from 2-0 down against Jamie Hughes to claim a 6-3 win, finishing six doubles from ten attempts and wrapping up victory with an 11-darter.
Last weekend’s European Matchplay champion, Joe Cullen, survived a scare against Belgian qualifier Davy Van Baelen before edging through with a 6-5 success.
Van Baelen had starred with a whitewash of Ole Luckow in the first round, and came from 2-0 down to lead 3-2 and 5-4 before Cullen took out a show-stopping 132 checkout in leg ten and then won the decider with a 78 finish.
Cullen’s Third Round opponent will be Rob Cross, who averaged almost 102 in a dominant 6-1 victory over John Henderson on Saturday.
German Championship winner Daryl Gurney also remains in the hunt for a second £25,000 European Tour title of the year after coming from 5-3 down to edge out Danny Noppert, who missed three match darts in the penultimate leg.
Steve Beaton landed six doubles from 11 attempts as he came from 3-0 down against Luke Woodhouse to progress to face Gurney in the last 16 with a 6-4 win.
Jonny Clayton had to come from 3-0 down against Germany’s Steffen Siepmann before claiming a 6-4 victory, and he now plays Adrian Lewis after the two-time World Champion saw off Irish ace William O’Connor by the same scoreline after coming from 3-1 down.
UK Open champion Nathan Aspinall averaged almost 100 and finished 6/10 doubles as he defeated Justin Pipe 6-3 to set up a third round tie with Ricky Evans.
Evans’ finishing proved even more clinical as he landed six doubles from nine attempts to defeat World Youth Champion Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4.
German hopes in the event will rest on the shoulders of Michael Rosenauer going into Sunday’s final stages, after the Host Nation Qualifier landed six doubles from nine attempts in a 6-3 win over Krzysztof Ratajski.
Rosenauer’s third round opponent will be Glen Durrant, after the three-time Lakeside Champion proved too strong for James Richardson in a 6-3 victory with a 98 average to his opponent’s 100.

International Darts Open 2019 Results

Saturday September 14
Second Round
Afternoon Session
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Justin Pipe
Krzysztof Ratajski 3-6 Michael Rosenauer
Glen Durrant 6-3 James Richardson
Rob Cross 6-1 John Henderson
Adrian Lewis 6-4 William O’Connor
Daryl Gurney 6-5 Danny Noppert
Steve Beaton 6-4 Luke Woodhouse
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Kyle Anderson
Evening Session
Ricky Evans 6-4 Dimitri van den Bergh
Jamie Hughes 3-6 Steve West
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Steffen Siepmann
Jeffrey de Zwaan 3-6 Joe Murnan
Joe Cullen 6-5 Davy Van Baelen
Ian White 5-6 Richard North
Mensur Suljovic 6-0 Harry Ward
Peter Wright 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse