Left arrow

PDC Order of Merit following the 2021 Grand Slam of Darts

Right arrow

Grand Slam of Darts 2022 Qualifier Entries | Gary Anderson opts out

Qualification criteria confirmed for 2022 Grand Slam of Darts

Jamie Shaw in Grand Slam of Darts 29 Jun 2022
The Grand Slam returns to the Aldersley Leisure Village (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The qualification criteria for the 2022 Grand Slam of Darts has been confirmed ahead of November’s event in Wolverhampton.

The prestigious 32-player ranking event returns to the Aldersley Leisure Village from November 12-20, as a host of tournament winners and qualifiers battle it out for the Eric Bristow Trophy.

Reigning champion Gerwyn Price, who sealed his third Grand Slam crown 12 months ago, headlines this year’s field alongside World Champion Peter Wright and three-time winner Michael van Gerwen – the recently crowned as Premier League champion.

The finalists from PDC televised events over a 12-month period will make up 16 places at this year’s Grand Slam, and 11 of those spots are currently occupied.

Price, Wright and Van Gerwen are among the players to have won televised events during the qualifying period, alongside Masters champion Joe Cullen and UK Open winner Danny Noppert.

Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock will also feature after guiding Australia to their maiden World Cup of Darts success in Frankfurt in June.

World Championship runner-up Michael Smith has sealed his spot, with Dave Chisnall, Ryan Searle and Jonny Clayton also amongst the current qualifiers.

The World Matchplay, World Grand Prix, European Championship and World Series of Darts Finals provide four more opportunities for players to seal their qualification through televised events.

Jose De Sousa, the 2020 Grand Slam champion, has yet to book his Wolverhampton return, while James Wade and Gary Anderson are battling to preserve their ever-present records in the tournament.

However, if the 16 places are not filled from the televised events, winners from the 2022 PDC European Tour and then Players Championship events could also secure Grand Slam spots.

A further eight players will come through the PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifier on November 6, before the 32-player field is completed with an additional eight qualifiers.

Reigning World Youth champion Ted Evetts and last year’s runner-up Nathan Rafferty have confirmed their qualification, while North American Champion Leonard Gates will make his debut in a PDC major.

The trio will be joined by the Challenge Tour, Development Tour and Women’s Series Order of Merit winners, as well as the inaugural Women’s World Matchplay and PDC Asian Championship winners.

There are no places awarded to the reigning WDF Men’s or Women’s World Champion or the current World Seniors Champion.


Grand Slam of Darts 2022 Qualifying Criteria

Qualifying Players (invited in the following order)
2021/22 PDC World Champion – PETER WRIGHT
2021 Grand Slam Champion – GERWYN PRICE
2022 Premier League Champion – MICHAEL VAN GERWEN
2022 World Matchplay Champion
2022 World Grand Prix Champion
2022 Masters Champion – JOE CULLEN
2022 UK Open Champion – DANNY NOPPERT
2022 European Champion
2021 Players Championship Finals Champion (Peter Wright)
2022 World Series of Darts Finals Champion
2022 World Cup Champions x2 – DAMON HETA & SIMON WHITLOCK
2021/22 PDC World Championship runner-up – MICHAEL SMITH
2021 Grand Slam runner-up (Peter Wright)
2022 Premier League runner-up (Joe Cullen)
2022 World Matchplay runner-up
2022 World Grand Prix runner-up
2022 Masters runner-up – DAVE CHISNALL
2022 UK Open runner-up (Michael Smith)
2022 European Championship runner-up
2021 Players Championship Finals runner-up – RYAN SEARLE
2022 World Series of Darts Finals runner-up
2022 World Cup runners-up x2 – (Gerwyn Price) & JONNY CLAYTON

2022 European Tour Event Winners

In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order. Currently (provisional qualifiers listed in capitals):
LUKE HUMPHRIES (x3), (Michael van Gerwen x3), (Gerwyn Price), (Michael Smith)

2022 Players Championship Event Winners

In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order. Currently (provisional qualifiers listed in capitals):
(Michael Smith x3), (Michael van Gerwen x2), (Joe Cullen x2), (Peter Wright), (Gerwyn Price), (Damon Heta), (Luke Humphries), DIRK VAN DUIJVENBODE, RYAN SEARLE, NATHAN ASPINALL, JIM WILLIAMS, Scott Williams, Danny Jansen

PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifier (Sunday November 6)

Eight Players (TBC)

Additional Qualifiers

2021 World Youth Champion – TED EVETTS
2021 World Youth Championship runner-up – NATHAN RAFFERTY
2022 Challenge Tour Order of Merit Winner
2022 Development Tour Order of Merit Winner
2022 Women’s World Matchplay Winner
2022 Women’s Series Order of Merit Winner
2022 PDC Asian Championship Winner
2022 North American Championship Winner – LEONARD GATES

  • Bet £10 and get £20 in Free Bets + £10 Casino Bonus when you join
  • Full House Price Boost - Every player, every match