Left arrow

Durrant continues winning run as Gurney, Chisnall and Ratajski crash out of the European Grand Prix

Right arrow

Sensational De Sousa claims European Grand Prix glory

European Darts Grand Prix 2020 Day Three preview and order of play: Silverware at stake in Sindelfingen

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 18 Oct 2020
Practice partners White and Smith collide (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The 2020 European Darts Grand Prix draws to a close in Sindelfingen on Sunday as the 16 remaining hopefuls vie for the title.

Three seeded players bowed out on Day Two of the season’s third European Tour event, leaving a host of star names still in the running for the £25,000 top prize.

Among those is world number one Michael van Gerwen as he bids to land his 33rd Euro Tour title and a first of the season.

Van Gerwen got his campaign underway with a 6-1 rout of Mervyn King on Saturday but will be eyeing a marked improvement on his match average of 94.7.

The reigning UK Open champion now faces his best friend and practice partner Vincent van der Voort – who has not won this fixture in his last four attempts since 2017.

Van der Voort opened up with a 6-4 victory over German number one Max Hopp but knows he will require a special performance if he is to deny his close compatriot.

Two former UK Open champions collide in another stand-out tie as James Wade faces Nathan Aspinall.

Less than 48 hours after his defeat in the Premier League final, Aspinall bounced back with a commanding 6-1 win over William O’Connor and is now eyeing a fifth win in six over the left-hander.

Wade averaged 101 in a high quality 6-4 success over Gabriel Clemens and will look to pick up from where he left off as he chases a third European Tour title.

Gerwyn Price aims to remain on course for a fifth title in his last six tournament appearances when he takes on power-scorer Jose De Sousa.

Price, the reigning Grand Slam, World Series Finals and World Grand Prix champion, has climbed to a career-high second in the Order of Merit and is arguably the hottest property on planet darts at present.

He brushed aside a below-par Devon Petersen 6-2 on Saturday to make it 23 wins from his last 24 games in all competitions.

Portugal’s De Sousa, meanwhile, whitewashed Host Nation qualifier Ricardo Pietreczko and is now targeting a third win in four against the Welsh ace.

Premier League champion Glen Durrant hopes to continue his unforgettable week by reaching the final session in Sindelfingen, and he comes up against dark horse Maik Kuivenhoven.

Durrant returned to action less than 48 hours after securing his first PDC major title and displayed typical Teesside tenacity to reel off four straight legs from 3-2 down to defeat German youngster Nico Kurz.

Having seen off Jonathan Worsley in Round One, Dutch ace Kuivenhoven knocked out sixth seed Daryl Gurney in a deciding leg to reach this stage of a European Tour event for the first time.

Darius Labanauskas aims to follow up his Second Round scalp of Dave Chisnall by overcoming 2019 European Matchplay champion Joe Cullen.

Reigning European Champion Rob Cross faces a tricky clash against quick-fire Dutchman Martijn Kleermaker – who averaged 98.7 in a 6-2 scalp of Krzysztof Ratajski on Saturday.

Two players with seven European Tour titles between them go head-to-head as Michael Smith takes on his regular practice partner Ian White.

White is the defending champion, having defeated Peter Wright 8-7 in last year’s final and began his campaign with a commanding 6-2 success over Scott Waites.

Smith averaged 103.6 in a 6-0 demolition of Derk Telnekes and will be determined to remain in the running for a first ranking title of the year.

Mensur Suljovic registered the highest average of the tournament so far (105.43) in a 6-3 victory over debutant David Evans and looks to follow that up when he takes on Tipton ace Jamie Hughes.

The action gets underway from 12pm BST, with Third Round and Quarter-Final matches to be contested over the best of 11 legs, Semi-Finals best of 13 and the final best of 15 legs.


European Darts Grand Prix 2020 Schedule

Sunday October 18

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)

Third Round
Maik Kuivenhoven v Glen Durrant
Ian White v Michael Smith
Darius Labanauskas v Joe Cullen
Gerwyn Price v Jose De Sousa
Mensur Suljovic v Jamie Hughes
Martijn Kleermaker v Rob Cross
James Wade v Nathan Aspinall
Michael van Gerwen v Vincent van der Voort

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)

White/Smith v Durrant/Kuivenhoven
Price/De Sousa v Labanauskas/Cullen
Kleermaker/Cross v Suljovic/Hughes
Van Gerwen/Van der Voort v Wade/Aspinall