Left arrow

European Darts Grand Prix 2022 | Draw, Live Scores and Schedule of Play

Right arrow

Jelle Klaasen enjoys impressive Euro Tour return at the European Darts Grand Prix

European Darts Grand Prix 2022 | Day One Preview and Order of Play

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 20 May 2022
Adrian Lewis celebrates (Photo by Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe)

The 2022 European Darts Grand Prix gets under way in Stuttgart on Friday as the qualifiers battle it out in Round One.

The seventh of 13 PDC Euro Tour events this season features 47 players battling it out for £140,000 in prize money at the Hanns-Martin-Schleyer-Halle from May 20-22.

The top 16 players from the ProTour Order of Merit (as of March 29) are seeded and enter at the Second Round stage, while 32 qualifiers battle it out for the right to join them.

With Gerwyn Price having withdrawn from the event, Martin Schindler now becomes a seed and Eddie Lovely receives a bye into the Second Round.

The opening session in the afternoon features German Grand Prix finalist Martin Lukeman up against Switzerland’s Stefan Bellmont.

Andrew Gilding, finalist on the ProTour this season, opens up against Greek number one John Michael, while Latvian ace Madars Razma faces Dutch left-hander Niels Zonneveld.

Czech youngster Adam Gawlas, who enjoyed a sensational run to the Quarter-Finals on home soil in Prague last weekend, starts his latest campaign with a tie against former ProTour event winner Ryan Joyce.

Mickey Mansell, who reached the Last 16 a week ago before losing out to Michael van Gerwen in a deciding leg, returns to face Poland’s Radek Szaganski.

Ryan Meikle and Ron Meulenkamp go head-to-head in a battle of the left-handers, while former ProTour event winner Joe Murnan faces Host Nation qualifier Lukas Wenig.

The evening session features a stand-out clash between two-time World Champion Adrian Lewis and in-form Luke Woodhouse.

Lewis defeated rival Gerwyn Price in a feisty encounter last weekend on his way to the Last 16, while Woodhouse averaged 110 in whitewashing Mansell at the recent European Open.

Former World Champion Jelle Klaasen, who lost his Tour Card at the end of last season, returns to the Euro Tour as an Associate Member Qualifier to face World Championship quarter-finalist Callan Rydz.

Jim Williams, winner of a ProTour event this season, faces a tough opener against a resurgent Rowby-John Rodriguez – who reached the Quarter-Finals in Prague with victories over Michael Smith and Dirk van Duijvenbode along the way.

German number one Gabriel Clemens aims to delight his home crowd by overcoming Nordic & Baltic Qualifier Johan Engström.

Two-time European Tour event winner Kim Huybrechts faces a formidable opener against former Lakeside Champion Stephen Bunting, while Northern Irish youngster Nathan Rafferty meets Host Nation qualifier Dragutin Horvat.

UK Open champion Danny Noppert will take on Czech number two Karel Sedlacek, while Martijn Kleermaker and emerging star Danny Jansen collide in an all-Dutch show-down.

The action gets under way from 12pm BST, with First Round matches to be contested over the best of 11 legs.


European Darts Grand Prix 2022 Day One Schedule of Play

All times BST (Local time one hour ahead)

Friday May 20

First Round
Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)
Andrew Gilding v John Michael
Madars Razma v Niels Zonneveld
Adam Gawlas v Ryan Joyce
Radek Szaganski v Mickey Mansell
Stefan Bellmont v Martin Lukeman
Ryan Meikle v Ron Meulenkamp
Joe Murnan v Lukas Wenig

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)
Jelle Klaasen v Callan Rydz
Jim Williams v Rowby-John Rodriguez
Kim Huybrechts v Stephen Bunting
Martijn Kleermaker v Danny Jansen
Nathan Rafferty v Dragutin Horvat
Luke Woodhouse v Adrian Lewis
Gabriel Clemens v Johan Engstrom
Karel Sedlacek v Danny Noppert

Today's Top Offers

  • Watch the Dutch Darts Masters streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register