Left arrow

Dutch Darts Championship 2022 | Day One Preview and Order of Play

Right arrow

Van Gerwen crushes Klaasen at the Dutch Darts Championship as King punishes Price

Dutch Darts Championship 2022 | Day Two Preview and Order of Play

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 28 May 2022
Van Gerwen and Klaasen face off (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The seeded stars commence their Dutch Darts Championship campaigns in Zwolle on Saturday as the Second Round action takes centre stage.

The eighth Euro Tour event of the season features 47 players battling it out for £140,000 in prize money, with 15 qualifiers having progressed through Friday’s opening round to set up a meeting with one of the 16 seeded stars.

The evening session features a stand-out clash between bitter Dutch rivals Michael van Gerwen and Jelle Klaasen on home soil.

The pair last met in the 2019/20 World Championship at Alexandra Palace, with Van Gerwen claiming a 3-1 victory before declaring he “hated” Klaasen in a post-match interview.

Klaasen came through Thursday’s Host Nation qualifier before defeating Poland’s Sebastian Białecki in Round One, while Van Gerwen is hunting down a third Euro Tour title of the season and a sixth in total in the Netherlands on the Euro Tour.

World number one Peter Wright has gone five years without a Euro Tour title and resumes his quest with a tie against home hopeful Jermaine Wattimena.

Wright was denied a Premier League play-off spot by Joe Cullen in Newcastle on Thursday and will look to bounce back this weekend with a series of strong showings.

Top seed Gerwyn Price, who also missed out on the Premier League play-offs, starts his pursuit of a second Euro Tour title of 2022 with a clash against multiple major finalist Mervyn King.

Michael Smith aims to pick up from where he left off in winning Night 16 of the Premier League 48 hours ago when he faces emerging Dutch star Danny Jansen – who defeated Vincent van der Voort 6-5 in Round One.

Fresh from securing the fourth and final qualification spot for the Premier League play-offs, Joe Cullen returns to action to face former European Champion Simon Whitlock.

Chris Dobey, the number 16 seed, opens up with a match against Ritchie Edhouse – who received a bye on Friday following the late withdrawal of Jim Williams.

Home hero Dirk van Duijvenbode looks to thrill the crowd in Zwolle by overcoming methodical Northern Irishman Mickey Mansell in a match which brings about a distinct clash of styles.

Two-time European Champion Rob Cross, who has lost in successive Euro Tour finals, begins his bid to go one better this weekend when he meets multiple Development Tour event winner Ryan Meikle.

The afternoon session kicks off with a tie between former Gibraltar Trophy winner Krzysztof Ratajski and recent ProTour event finalist Andrew Gilding.

Multiple Players Championship event winner Ryan Searle, who has recently dropped out of the world’s top 16, takes on Ross Smith – who secured his first ProTour title last season.

Damon Heta, the number eight seed and former World Series event winner, starts out against two-time BDO World Champion Scott Waites, while UK Open champion Danny Noppert faces a tricky opener against top German talent Martin Schindler.

Former World Championship quarter-finalists and ProTour winners collide as Brendan Dolan meets Callan Rydz, while former UK Open champion Nathan Aspinall takes on Swedish star Daniel Larsson.

Jose de Sousa, former Grand Slam champion and 2021 Premier League finalist, looks to recapture his top form when he meets fellow power scorer Dave Chisnall – twice a Euro Tour event winner.

Dimitri van den Bergh, who has already reached a Euro Tour final this season, faces a tough opening test against Croatia’s Boris Krcmar – who defeated Steve Lennon 6-5 with a 99 average in Round One.

The action gets under way from 12pm BST, with Second Round matches to be contested over the best of 11 legs.


Dutch Darts Championship 2022 Day Two Schedule of Play

Saturday May 28

Second Round

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)
Krzysztof Ratajski v Andrew Gilding
Ryan Searle v Ross Smith
Damon Heta v Scott Waites
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Boris Krcmar
Nathan Aspinall v Daniel Larsson
Brendan Dolan v Callan Rydz
Martin Schindler v Danny Noppert
Jose de Sousa v Dave Chisnall

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)
Rob Cross v Ryan Meikle
Joe Cullen v Simon Whitlock
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Mickey Mansell
Peter Wright v Jermaine Wattimena
Michael van Gerwen v Jelle Klaasen
Gerwyn Price v Mervyn King
Michael Smith v Danny Jansen
Chris Dobey v Ritchie Edhouse

Today's Top Offers

  • Watch the Dutch Darts Masters streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register