Left arrow

PDC Order of Merit following the European Championship: Wright reclaims second spot as Petersen nears top 32

Right arrow

European Darts Championship live stream | How to watch live online

European Darts Championship heads to Salzburg in 2021

Jamie Shaw in European Championship 27 Aug 2021
Peter Wright claimed the title in 2020 (Photo by Jonas Hunold/PDC Europe)

The 2021 European Darts Championship will take place at the Salzburgarena in Austria from October 14-17.

The top 32 players on the 2021 European Tour Order of Merit will battle it out for the title and £500,000 prize fund across four days in front of up to 3,500 fans per session.

This year’s PDC European Tour will be comprised of just two events – the Hungarian Darts Trophy (September 3-5) and the Gibraltar Darts Trophy (September 24-26).

This is in stark contrast to the 13 Euro Tour events held in 2019 and the four held in 2020 at the beginning of the pandemic.

Therefore, a number of players could be set to make their debut in the European Championship, while the likes of Gary Anderson, Dimitri van den Bergh, Dave Chisnall, Ian White, Glen Durrant and Max Hopp will all miss out.

Salzburg will play host to the European Championship for the first time, with the event having previously been staged in Hasselt, Dortmund, Gottingen and Oberhausen in recent years.

The Salzburgarena hosted the World Series Finals and World Cup of Darts last year and will now welcome the TV cameras once again for the 32-player major.

The European Darts Championship has been an annual fixture on the PDC calendar since 2008, with seven different players having lifted the prestigious trophy.

Peter Wright claimed the title for the first time last year with victory over James Wade in the final.