Left arrow

Wade and Van Gerwen play out thrilling draw in Birmingham as Cross and Suljovic also held

Right arrow

Dutch Darts Masters 2019 Draw, Live Scores and Tournament Schedule of Play

Durrant doubles PDC title tally at Players Championship 15

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 18 May 2019
Teesside thrower Durrant celebrates (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)
Glen Durrant secured his second PDC ranking title at Players Championship 15 in Barnsley on Saturday, thrashing Darius Labanauskas 8-1 in the final.
Durrant, who opened his PDC account with victory at Players Championship Four in February, claimed another £10,000 title on a memorable day at the Barnsley Metrodome.
The reigning and three-time Lakeside Champion followed up a sensational 7-2 scalp of Michael van Gerwen in the Semi-Finals with a demolition of his former BDO rival in a one-sided final.
“It feels absolutely fantastic, I can’t put into words how happy I am right now,” said Durrant, who has all but sealed a debut in July’s Betfred World Matchplay.
“Last weekend on the Euro Tour was really difficult to me but this weekend has been perfect. I had a fabulous week in practice and I knew I was playing well.
“I was determined to enjoy today but to win another title is pretty special. I joined the PDC for moments like this.
“Before I played Michael [Van Gerwen] I asked if I could have his shirt which I immediately regretted as it showed weakness, but he didn’t play his best game and I was able to capitalise.
“I’ve totally exceeded the initial targets I set myself at the start of the year and soon my goals will be changing but I’m not putting too much pressure on myself at the moment.”
Durrant began his charge with back-to-back 6-0 whitewashes of Matthew Edgar and Simon Stevenson, before overcoming Kyle Anderson and Danny Noppert 6-4.
The 48-year-old then defeated world finalist Michael Smith 6-4 in the Quarter-Finals, before inflicting MVG’s heaviest defeat of the season so far in the Last Four.
A one-sided final saw Durrant punish Labanauskas’ missed darts at double as he raced into a 3-0 lead, before Labanauskas chalked his first leg on the board to make it 3-1.
However, that was as good as it got for Labanauskas, who made history in becoming the first Lithuanian player to reach a PDC ranking final, as Durrant ruthlessly reeled off five consecutive legs to run out victorious in his third PDC final since joining the circuit.
Labanauskas, who will represent Lithuania in next month’s BetVictor World Cup of Darts, claimed victories over Gabriel Clemens, Bradley Brooks, Cristo Reyes and Steve Beaton.
His Last Eight meeting with Ryan Meikle saw him prevail 6-2, before a 99.9 average saw Labanauskas get the better of Ron Meulenkamp 7-4 to reach the final.
A bittersweet day for Dave Chisnall saw him hit a nine-dart finish in his Second Round clash with Cristo Reyes, but only for the Spanish number one to claim a last-leg victory.
It was also a positive day for four-time Development Tour title winner Meikle, who reached his first senior PDC quarter-final, and for Chris Dobey, who made it through to his second quarter-final of 2019.
Dutch left-hander Meulenkamp also made it through to his third PDC ranking Semi-Final, but once again failed to make it past the penultimate hurdle.

Players Championship 15 Results

Saturday May 18
First Round
Van Gerwen, Michael 6-0 Prins, Dave
Huybrechts, Kim 6-3 Boulton, Andy
Alcinas, Toni 6-4 O’Connor, William
Bates, Barrie 6-2 Clark, Matt
Aspinall, Nathan 6-1 Kanik, Tytus
Hudson, Peter 6-5 Owen, Robert
De Zwaan, Jeffrey 6-1 Norris, Alan
Van Duijvenbode, Dirk 6-5 Lerchbacher, Zoran
Gray, Adrian 6-5 Cullen, Joe
Edhouse, Ritchie 6-4 Whitehead, Conan
Dobey, Chris 6-1 Killington, George
Bunse, Christian 6-2 Askew, Jason
Clayton, Jonny 6-0 Kuivenhoven, Maik
Van der Meer, Vincent 6-3 Newell, Tony
Van Baelen, Davy 6-5 Wilson, James
Jones, Wayne 6-0 Dootson, Eddie
Pipe, Justin 6-5 Lewis, Adrian
Meeuwisse, Yordi 6-5 Shepherd, Kirk
De Sousa, Jose 6-2 Smith, Ross
McGeeney, Mark 6-2 Derry, Nathan
Smith, Michael 6-4 Atkins (Leeds), Martin
Burness, Kevin 6-4 Harrington, Ryan
Hopp, Max 6-5 Hunt, Adam
Kantele, Marko 6-4 Worsley, Jonathan
Wade, James 6-5 Gilding, Andrew
Anderson, Kyle 6-3 Schindler, Martin
Durrant, Glen 6-0 Edgar, Matthew
Stevenson, Simon 6-1 Robinson, Reece
Whitlock, Simon 6-2 North, Richard
Tabern, Alan 6-1 Bain, Jamie
Noppert, Danny 6-0 Lennon, Steve
Monk, Arron 6-4 Dolan, Brendan
White, Ian 6-4 Razma, Madars
Van den Bergh, Dimitri 6-4 Justicia, Jose
Payne, Josh 6-5 Murschell, Dawson
Searle, Ryan 6-3 Kamphuis, Vincent
Wattimena, Jermaine 6-2 Carroll, Shaun
Robbe, Mario 6-3 Dudbridge, Mark
Ratajski, Krzysztof 6-2 Burton, Stephen
Wilkinson, Carl 6-4 Zonneveld, Niels
Evans, Ricky 6-1 Rodriguez, Rowby-John
Joyce, Ryan 6-3 Eastwood, Gary
Evetts, Ted 6-4 Brown, Keegan
Meulenkamp, Ron 6-0 Klaasen, Jelle
Webster, Darren 6-3 Cadby, Corey
Petersen, Devon 6-4 Mansell, Mickey
West, Steve 6-3 Van Duivenbode, Mike
Pallett, David 6-3 Taylor, Scott
Chisnall, Dave 6-2 Kist, Christian
Reyes, Cristo 6-4 Carlin, Gavin
Labanauskas, Darius 6-5 Clemens , Gabriel
Brooks, Bradley 6-4 Thornton, Robert
Beaton, Steve 6-5 Baker, Scott
Nentjes, Geert 6-4 Huybrechts, Ronny
Henderson, John 6-2 Murnan, Joe
Dekker, Jan 6-5 Richardson, James
Wright, Peter 6-4 Webster, Mark
Meikle, Ryan 6-3 Todd, Mick
Van der Voort, Vincent 6-1 Temple, Terry
Lewis, Jamie 6-4 Wilson, Mark
Rafferty, Nathan 6-3 Bunting, Stephen
Michael, John 6-3 Van de Pas, Benito
Ward, Harry 6-4 King, Mervyn
Van Barneveld, Raymond 6-5 Hughes, Jamie
Second Round
Van Gerwen, Michael 6-3 Huybrechts, Kim
Alcinas, Toni 6-4 Bates, Barrie
Hudson, Peter 6-0 Aspinall, Nathan
De Zwaan, Jeffrey 6-4 Van Duijvenbode, Dirk
Edhouse, Ritchie 6-2 Gray, Adrian
Dobey, Chris 6-3 Bunse, Christian
Van der Meer, Vincent 6-4 Clayton, Jonny
Van Baelen, Davy 6-5 Jones, Wayne
Pipe, Justin 6-4 Meeuwisse, Yordi
De Sousa, Jose 6-3 McGeeney, Mark
Smith, Michael 6-1 Burness, Kevin
Hopp, Max 6-4 Kantele, Marko
Anderson, Kyle 6-2 Wade, James
Durrant, Glen 6-0 Stevenson, Simon
Whitlock, Simon 6-3 Tabern, Alan
Noppert, Danny 6-2 Monk, Arron
White, Ian 6-1 Van den Bergh, Dimitri
Searle, Ryan 6-3 Payne, Josh
Wattimena, Jermaine 6-3 Robbe, Mario
Ratajski, Krzysztof 6-1 Wilkinson, Carl
Evans, Ricky 6-5 Joyce, Ryan
Meulenkamp, Ron 6-3 Evetts, Ted
Petersen, Devon 6-0 Webster, Darren
Pallett, David 6-5 West, Steve
Reyes, Cristo 6-5 Chisnall, Dave
Labanauskas, Darius 6-3 Brooks, Bradley
Beaton, Steve 6-2 Nentjes, Geert
Henderson, John 6-1 Dekker, Jan
Meikle, Ryan 6-4 Wright, Peter
Lewis, Jamie 6-3 Van der Voort, Vincent
Rafferty, Nathan 6-3 Michael, John
Van Barneveld, Raymond 6-4 Ward, Harry
Losers: £500
Last 32
Van Gerwen, Michael 6-0 Alcinas, Toni
Hudson, Peter 6-5 De Zwaan, Jeffrey
Dobey, Chris 6-4 Edhouse, Ritchie
Van der Meer, Vincent 6-2 Van Baelen, Davy
Pipe, Justin 6-4 De Sousa, Jose
Smith, Michael 6-5 Hopp, Max
Durrant, Glen 6-4 Anderson, Kyle
Noppert, Danny 6-3 Whitlock, Simon
White, Ian 6-4 Searle, Ryan
Ratajski, Krzysztof 6-1 Wattimena, Jermaine
Meulenkamp, Ron 6-3 Evans, Ricky
Pallett, David 6-5 Petersen, Devon
Labanauskas, Darius 6-4 Reyes, Cristo
Beaton, Steve 6-3 Henderson, John
Meikle, Ryan 6-1 Lewis, Jamie
Rafferty, Nathan 6-3 Van Barneveld, Raymond
Losers: £1,000
Last 16
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Peter Hudson
Chris Dobey 6-3 Vincent van der Meer
Michael Smith 6-5 Justin Pipe
Glen Durrant 6-4 Danny Noppert
Ian White 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
Ron Meulenkamp 6-3 David Pallett
Darius Labanauskas 6-5 Steve Beaton
Ryan Meikle 6-3 Nathan Rafferty
Losers: £1,500
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Chris Dobey
Glen Durrant 6-4 Michael Smith
Ron Meulenkamp 6-5 Ian White
Darius Labanauskas 6-2 Ryan Meikle
Losers: £2,250
Glen Durrant 7-2 Michael van Gerwen
Darius Labanauskas 7-4 Ron Meulenkamp
Losers: £3,000
Glen Durrant 8-1 Darius Labanauskas
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000