Left arrow

Danish Darts Open 2019 Day One preview and order of play: Qualifiers collide in Copenhagen

Right arrow

Clinical Chisnall claims Danish Open crown in Copenhagen

Burness shocks Durrant in Danish Darts Open as Nilsson whitewashes Lennon

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 15 Jun 2019
Kevin Burness celebrates (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)
Kevin Burness shredded the form book with a deciding-leg victory over Glen Durrant in Round One of the Danish Darts Open in Copenhagen on Friday, as Dennis Nilsson pulled off a whitewash win over Steve Lennon.
Burness, who had won just two matches in ranked competition all season, held his nerve with a 14-darter in the final leg to claim his first ever victory on the European Tour.
The Northern Irishman had opened up a 2-0 lead before Durrant responded with legs of 13 and 11 darts to level.
Burness regained the upper-hand at 4-3 before landed a superb 121 checkout on the bullseye to extend his lead, and though ‘Duzza’ asked the question by breaking back immediately, Burness hit a timely first 180 and finished 68 to complete the victory.
Republic of Ireland’s Lennon, a beaten finalist at the World Cup of Darts last weekend, slumped to a shock 6-0 defeat at the hands of Sweden’s Nilsson – who will now take on James Wade in Saturday’s Second Round.
William O’Connor continued the form which took him to the World Cup of Darts final alongside Lennon as he landed six 180s in a 6-3 defeat of Luke Woodhouse.
The Irishman will now be looking ahead to a match-up with Peter Wright – having lost out 4-2 in their Singles tie during the World Cup final on Sunday.
World Championship runner-up Michael Smith began his hunt for a fifth European Tour title by averaging 100 in an impressive 6-4 defeat of Steve Beaton.
World number six Smith, who was competing as an unseeded player for the first time in almost five years, fired in four 180s and hit 50% of his doubles to prevail over 2019 European Tour ever-present Beaton.
“Tonight I showed again that I’m a fighter. I’ve been struggling with a foot injury but I always get up there and play no matter what,” said Smith, who will meet Jermaine Wattimena in round two.
“I just want to keep playing darts, keep fighting and show people what I’m about.
“Getting Steve was a tough draw, and even my family said to me that I might be coming home early, so I’m really pleased with the result and how I played.”
UK Open Champion Nathan Aspinall moved through to face Simon Whitlock following a confident 6-3 win over Mick Todd, finishing six doubles from eight attempts, landing a 160 finish and averaging over 100.
Chris Dobey came through a nervy affair with Steve West 6-3 to edge closer to a World Matchplay debut in July, and the Bedlington ace will now meet Ricky Evans in the Last 32.
Reigning Danish Open Champion Mensur Suljovic will face Gabriel Clemens after the German continued his progression with a 6-3 victory over Mervyn King.
Australian number two Kyle Anderson secured a 6-2 win over Belgium’s Mike De Decker to set up a second round tie with Adrian Lewis.
Number one seed Ian White will come up against German youngster Martin Schindler, who stormed past Kim Viljanen 6-0 to secure his first European Tour win of the year.
Gerwyn Price will play Ryan Harrington, who fended off a spirited comeback from Danish Qualifier Niels-Jorgen Hansen to win 6-4 and advance to the second round of a European Tour for the first time in over three years.
Danish number one Per Laursen fared better on home soil, delighting the passionate Copenhagen crowd with a 6-4 success over Reece Robinson, and he will now meet Jonny Clayton.
Former World Champion Rob Cross will face Kirk Shepherd in his first assignment of the weekend, after Shepherd saw off Vincent van der Voort 6-4 to taste success on the European Tour for the first time in almost a year.
Krzysztof Ratajski will face Dave Chisnall after beating Krzysztof Kcuik 6-3 in an all-Polish affair, while Portugal’s Jose de Sousa was impressive in his 6-3 success over Scott Taylor, and he will now take on Darren Webster.
New Zealander Cody Harris enjoyed a 6-1 European Tour debut win over Teuvo Haverinen to set up a clash with Stephen Bunting, while Ryan Joyce will meet Daryl Gurney after overcoming Spain’s Jose Justicia 6-2.

Danish Darts Open 2019 Results

Friday June 14
First Round
Afternoon Session  
Luke Woodhouse 3-6 William O’Connor
Mick Todd 3-6 Nathan Aspinall
Mike De Decker 2-6 Kyle Anderson
Per Laursen 6-4 Reece Robinson
Cody Harris 6-1 Teuvo Haverinen
Jose De Sousa 6-3 Scott Taylor
Jose Justicia 2-6 Ryan Joyce
Krzysztof Kciuk 3-6 Krzysztof Ratajski
Evening Session
Kim Viljanen 0-6 Martin Schindler
Glen Durrant 5-6 Kevin Burness
Niels-Jørgen Hansen 4-6 Ryan Harrington
Steve West 3-6 Chris Dobey
Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Mervyn King
Kirk Shepherd 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
Steve Beaton 4-6 Michael Smith
Dennis Nilsson 6-0 Steve Lennon

  • Watch Premier League Darts streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register
  • Bet £5 and Get £20 in Free Bets when you join
  • Premier League Darts specials and price boosts
  • Get £40 in Bonuses when you register and stake £10
  • Price Boosts and Specials on all Darts events