Left arrow

Rydz tops Challenge Tour Order of Merit as Noguera also secures PDC Tour Card

Right arrow

April’s darting schedule decimated by further postponements

Mitchell tops Challenge Tour Order of Merit following opening weekend

Jamie Shaw in Challenge Tour 27 Jan 2020
Scott Mitchell celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Scott Mitchell leads the way on the PDC Challenge Tour Order of Merit following the opening four events of the 2020 campaign.

Mitchell, the 2015 BDO World Champion, came up short in his first attempt at Qualifying School a week ago but enjoyed a dream start to life on the Challenge Tour.

The 49-year-old picked up the Event Two title in Wigan on Saturday and reached the Last 16 of Event Four the following day, picking up £2,200 in prize money.

That tally is enough to see ‘Scotty Dog’ top the early Challenge Tour ranking list, £50 clear of Robert Collins – who claimed the Event One title.

The opening Challenge Tour weekend of the year saw record entries as a knock-on effect of more than 800 players attending the UK and European Q Schools.

The Challenge Tour is open only to PDPA members who competed at 2020 Q School and did not win a PDC Tour Card, with each event costing £55 to enter and carrying a prize fund of £10,000.

If entries for PDC Players Championship events fall short of 128 players, the field is topped up via the Challenge Tour Order of Merit, meaning Mitchell, Collins, Matthew Dennant and Jitse van der Wal could be in line to feature in the upcoming ProTours.

The top two players on the final Challenge Tour Order of Merit following Event 24 will earn a two-year PDC Tour Card, with the winner qualifying for the William Hill World Championship.

The top eight non-Tour Card holders from the 2019 Challenge Tour Order of Merit also qualify for the 2020 UK Open.

PDC Challenge Tour Order of Merit (Top 30 plus ties)

Position Name Prize Money
1 Scott Mitchell £2,200
2 Robert Collins £2,150
3 Matthew Dennant £2,100
4 Jitse van der Wal £2,050
5 Adam Huckvale £1,300
6 Andrew Gilding £1,200
6 Nathan Rafferty £1,200
8 Arjan Konterman £1,100
9 Cameron Menzies £900
10 James Hubbard £800
11 Eddie Lovely £700
11 Gordon Mathers £700
13 Daniel Ayres £650
14 Graham Usher £600
14 Ryan Hogarth £600
16 Boris Koltsov £550
16 Brian Raman £550
16 Justin Hood £550
19 Darren Beveridge £500
19 Maikel Verberk £500
19 Scott Taylor £500
19 Tytus Kanik £500
23 Danny van Klompenburg £400
23 Paul Williams £400
23 Scott Williams £400
23 Stu Wilson £400
27 David Ladley £350
27 Kyle McKinstry £350
27 Richie Burnett £350
30 Cody Harris £300
30 Connor Scutt £300
30 Danny van Trijp £300
30 Dom Taylor £300
30 Jacob Gwynne £300
30 Jamie Clark £300
30 Johan Engstrom £300
30 Kevin Burness £300
30 Paul Phillips £300
30 Rhys Hayden £300
30 Ritchie Edhouse £300
30 Ronny Huybrechts £300