Left arrow

Wes Newton completes 2019 BDO World Championship line-up

Right arrow

Mikuru Suzuki dubbed ‘Phil Taylor’ of ladies darts after historic Lakeside triumph

BDO World Championship 2019 Draw: Durrant handed potential Smith-Neale show-down

Jamie Shaw in BDO Darts News 23 Nov 2018
Durrant aims to extend his Lakeside dominance (credit:PDC)
Back-to-back BDO World Champion Glen Durrant will begin the defence of his title against either Adam Smith-Neale or Mark McGrath at Lakeside in January.
The BDO’s show-piece event takes place at the Lakeside complex in Frimley Green from January 5-13 and will be shown live on Eurosport and Quest.
Durrant, the number two seed, is bidding to become the first player since Eric Bristow in 1986 to win three consecutive BDO world titles.
The Teessider faces a potential re-run of this year’s World Masters final with Smith-Neale if the 25-year-old can overcome New Zealand’s McGrath in the Preliminary Round.
Former UK Open finalist Wes Newton will mark his Lakeside debut with a Preliminary Round show-down against veteran Paul Hogan – Lakeside quarter-finalist in 1995 and 2006.
Former PDC World finalist Andy Hamilton also starts out in the Preliminary Round and will open up against Canada’s David Cameron.
Other stand-out ties include 2018 runner-up Mark McGeeey, the number one seed, versus Dutch ace Derk Telnekes.
Number three seed Jim Williams has been drawn to face either Belgium’s Roger Janssen or Wouter Vaes of the Netherlands, while Scottish stalwart Ross Montgomery meets Scott Baker.
Scott Mitchell, the 2015 Lakeside king, awaits the winner of the Prelim tie between Serbia’s Oliver Ferenc and Ryan Hogarth.
Scott Waites, the 2013 and 2016 champion, will take on Belgian debutant Jeffrey van Egdom, as 2018 semi-finalist Michael Unterbuchner, marks his return with a clash against either Mal Cuming or Justin Thompson.
Wesley Harms, semi-finalist in 2012 and 2013, will face three-time world finalist Tony O’Shea, while Welsh veteran Martin Phillips plays former World Trophy quarter-finalist Conan Whitehead.
The pick of the women’s First Round ties sees reigning and four-time World Champion Lisa Ashton take on Japanese soft-tip star Mikuru Suzuki.
Three-time champion Anastasia Dobromyslova, who recently booked her place in the PDC World Championship, begins her BDO campaign against Laura Turner.

BDO World Championship 2019 Draw

Preliminary Round
Mal Cuming v Justin Thompson
Brian Lokken v Krzysztof Kciuk
Paul Hogan v Wes Newton
David Cameron v Andy Hamilton
Oliver Ferenc v Ryan Hogarth
Mark McGrath v Adam Smith-Neale
Jim Widmayer v Nigel Heydon
Roger Janssen v Wouter Vaes
First Round
Mark McGeeney v Derk Telnekes
Martin Phillips v Conan Whitehead
Richard Veenstra v Widmayer/Heydon
Scott Waites v Jeffrey van Egdom
Michael Unterbuchner v Cuming/Thompson
Wayne Warren v Mark Layton
Wesley Harms v Tony O’Shea
Willem Mandigers v Hogan/Newton
Jim Williams v Janssen/Vaes
Daniel Day v Dean Reynolds
Scott Mitchell v Ferenc/Hogarth
Dave Parletti v Lokken/Kciuk
Gary Robson v Cameron/Hamilton
Chris Landman v Kyle McKinstry
Glen Durrant v McGrath/Smith-Neale
Ross Montgomery v Scott Baker
Ladies First Round Draw
Lorraine Winstanley v Casey Gallagher
Trina Gulliver v Karolina Podgorska
Anastasia Dobromyslova v Laura Turner
Aileen de Graaf v Paula Jacklin
Deta Hedman v Maria O’Brien
Fallon Sherrock v Corrine Hammond
Lisa Ashton v Mikuru Suzuki
Sharon Prins v Roz Bulmer