Left arrow

BDO rebuilding task “far more difficult” than anticipated admits Des Jacklin

Right arrow

BDO World Darts Trophy to go ahead as new venue confirmed

BDO crisis deepens as Finder Darts Masters is scrapped

Jamie Shaw in BDO Darts News 04 Jul 2019
The Finder Masters stage (credit:British Darts Organisation)
The future of the British Darts Organisation remains in doubt after it was confirmed that the Finder Masters has now been removed from the calendar.
The tournament, formerly known as the Zuiderduin Masters until 2014, was held in the Netherlands and sanctioned by the BDO and the WDF.
It became a BDO ranking event in 2008 and has been won by the likes of Gary Anderson, Stephen Bunting, James Wilson, Jamie Hughes, Danny Noppert and Glen Durrant before they joined the Professional Darts Corporation.
However, Dutch darts commentator Jacques Nieuwlaat revealed on Twitter that the Finder Masters is no longer, commenting: ‘Another institution that is forced to close its doors. It’s really a shame there’s no room for it anymore. I will miss it.’
The tournament is believed to have been scrapped due to a failure to find a new title sponsor following the end of the contract with international operating company Finder.
The news comes as a fresh body-blow to BDO players – who face continued uncertainty over the World Darts Trophy, which is due to take place from August 30 to September 1 but currently has no venue or sponsorship in place.
BDO Chairman Des Jacklin insisted last week that he was confident the World Trophy would go ahead and that he planned to make an announcement early this week.
However, no announcement has been made and Jacklin is currently on holiday with his wife.
The World Trophy is part of the BDO’s nine-event broadcast deal with Eurosport which also covers the Lakeside Championship and World Masters, and Jacklin is now facing a race against time to fulfill that contract.
A number of BDO players have taken to Twitter to express their frustration at the current situation:

The BDO was founded in 1973 and is made up of 66 member counties in Britain, catering for both amateur and professional levels.