Seeds and invites confirmed for 2020 World Series of Darts Finals

The eight seeds and twelve invites for the 2020 World Series Finals have been confirmed as the tournament heads to Salzburg in September.

The 24-player tournament will see the seeds and invited players competing alongside a further four Tour Card holder qualifiers from September 18-20.

The field is headed by world number one and defending World Series champion Michael van Gerwen, as well as reigning World Champion Peter Wright.

Grand Slam champion Gerwyn Price, Masters finalist Michael Smith, former World Champions Rob Cross and Gary Anderson and former major winners Nathan Aspinall and Daryl Gurney are also seeded.

Newly crowned Betfred World Matchplay champion Dimitri Van den Bergh is among the invited players, alongside the likes of James Wade, Dave Chisnall, Ian White and Mensur Suljovic.

Fallon Sherrock, Simon Whitlock, Damon Heta, Kyle Anderson, Cody Harris, Jeff Smith and Darius Labanauskas will also feature.

The qualifying event to determine the remaining four places will precede the PDC Autumn Series on September 11 at Halle 39 in Hildesheim, Germany.


World Series of Darts Finals 2020

Seeded Players

Michael van Gerwen
Peter Wright
Gerwyn Price
Michael Smith
Rob Cross
Nathan Aspinall
Daryl Gurney
Gary Anderson

Invited Players

James Wade
Dave Chisnall
Ian White
Dimitri Van den Bergh
Mensur Suljovic
Fallon Sherrock
Simon Whitlock
Damon Heta
Kyle Anderson
Cody Harris
Jeff Smith
Darius Labanauskas

Qualifiers x4
To be confirmed

World Series of Darts triple-header postponed until 2021

The World Series of Darts triple-header planned for Wollongong, Townsville and Hamilton in August 2020 is to be postponed for 12 months.

The World Series, featuring the likes of world number one Michael van Gerwen, World Champion Peter Wright and history-maker Fallon Sherrock, had been scheduled to visit Wollongong and Townsville for the first time this year.

Hamilton was also set to welcome back the sport’s top stars during August, following the successful New Zealand Darts Masters debut at the Claudelands Arena in 2019.

However, with ongoing global restrictions in place due to the Coronavirus pandemic, the decision has been made to move the events back 12 months to be held in August 2021, mirroring the move of the US Darts Masters in New York to now be staged next June.

The New South Wales Darts Masters is now planned for August 6-7 at the WIN Entertainment Centre in Wollongong.

The Queensland Darts Masters at the Townsville Entertainment & Convention Centre will then be played on August 13-14 as the second event before the sport’s top stars will then cross the Tasman Sea to Hamilton for the NZ Darts Masters on August 20-21.

“As with our recent decision to move the US Darts Masters in New York back 12 months to be part of our 2021 World Series of Darts, we felt that this was the most appropriate step for our Oceanic events given the current global situation,” said PDC Chief Executive Matthew Porter.

“The reaction of fans in Australia and New Zealand ahead of our World Series of Darts events had been extremely encouraging and we had been very excited about our planned debuts in Wollongong and Townsville as well as the return to Hamilton.

“To agree dates to stage the events in 2021 will now enable fans to plan with a greater degree of certainly for what should be three fantastic World Series events.”

Tickets purchased for the planned 2020 tournaments will be valid for the equivalent session of the new 2021 events.

World Series of Darts 2021 – New Dates

August 6-7 – New South Wales Darts Masters, WIN Entertainment Centre, Wollongong
August 13-14 – Queensland Darts Masters, Townsville Entertainment & Convention Centre
August 20-21 – NZ Darts Masters, Claudelands Arena, Hamilton