US Darts Masters postponed until 2021

The 2020 US Darts Masters at New York’s Madison Square Garden has been postponed until June 2021.

The highly-anticipated World Series event was due to take place from June 5-6 in the Hulu Theater within the iconic Madison Square Garden but has now been put back one year.

The sport’s top stars, led by current World Champion Peter Wright and world number one Michael van Gerwen, were set to take on leading players from North America.

However, with the global restrictions currently in place due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the decision has been made to move the US Darts Masters and North American Championship back 12 months.

The US Darts Masters is now set to be staged from June 4-5, 2021 with its existing line-up.

“There was huge excitement about taking the US Darts Masters to Madison Square Garden, not just from the players set to compete in June but also across the wider North American darting community,” said PDC Chief Executive Matthew Porter.

“However, with the ongoing worldwide situation we felt that the right decision was to postpone the World Series’ visit to New York for 12 months.

“This decision only strengthens our resolve to make the 2021 US Darts Masters and North American Championship a success as part of our global World Series of Darts tour.”

All original tickets will be honored for the corresponding session of the 2021 event.

Meanwhile, the Nordic Darts Masters has been moved back four months and will now be held from October 23-24.

The sport’s box office stars were set to take on leading players from across the Nordic & Baltic region on June 12-13 at Forum Copenhagen.

The four PDC Tour Card Holders from the Nordic & Baltic region retain their places in the tournament, with Lithuania’s Darius Labanauskas – a World Championship quarter-finalist – joined by Finland’s Marko Kantele, Sweden’s Daniel Larsson and Latvia’s Madars Razma in competing.

Three Danish representatives will also compete in the tournament, with the final place being awarded to a PDCNB qualifier.

The PDC representatives are also set to include Fallon Sherrock, who created history and worldwide headlines as the first woman to win at the PDC World Championship last December.

PDC representatives confirmed for 2020 US Darts Masters

The eight PDC representatives for the 2020 US Darts Masters have been confirmed as the stars of the sport head to New York for the first time.

The World Series of Darts will visit the Big Apple from June 5-6 as The Hulu Theater at the iconic Madison Square Garden hosts the US Darts Masters.

Reigning World Champion Peter Wright and three-time World Champion Michael van Gerwen are among the box office names heading stateside, while global sensation Fallon Sherrock will make her World Series debut on the back of her ground-breaking World Championship run.

Reigning US Masters champion Nathan Aspinall looks to replicate last year’s success in Las Vegas and will be joined by 2018 champion Gary Anderson and former finalist Daryl Gurney..

Gerwyn Price, two-time Grand Slam of Darts winner, and 2018 World Champion Rob Cross complete the line-up of PDC stars – who will be joined by eight North American representatives.

The eight North American players will include emerging prospect Danny Lauby, who won the 2019 CDC Continental Cup, with qualification events being held in Toronto in March and Chicago in May as well as in New York on June 4.

The North American Championship will also take place on June 6 as eight American and Canadian players get their chance to take to the Hulu Theater stage in their own domestic event, from which the winner qualifies for the William Hill World Championship.

The World Series of Darts incorporates a series of worldwide tournaments throughout each year, allowing local prospects their chance to challenge the biggest names in darts, with further events in 2020 to be held in Denmark, New Zealand and Australia.

Over 300,000 fans will attend PDC events annually, while the World Series has visited Dubai, Singapore, China and Japan since being introduced six years ago.

US Darts Masters 2020 – PDC Representatives

Michael van Gerwen
Peter Wright
Gerwyn Price
Rob Cross
Gary Anderson
Daryl Gurney
Nathan Aspinall
Fallon Sherrock

US Darts Masters 2020 – North American Representatives

Danny Lauby
Plus seven more players TBC