Danny Jansen secures maiden PDC title at Players Championship Nine

Danny Jansen claimed his first PDC ranking title at Players Championship Nine in Barnsley on Friday with an 8-6 victory over Andrew Gilding in the final.

Less than three months after joining the PDC circuit via European Qualifying School, 19-year-old Jansen enjoyed a fairy-tale triumph to add his name to the ProTour roll of honour.

The Dutch teenager, who only took up the sport in 2016, scoops the £12,000 top prize in only his tenth ranked event since earning a PDC Tour Card in January.

“I’m feeling so good, this is unbelievable,” said Jansen. “It’s crazy, I thought I would be able to win games on the tour but to win a title so early is more than I expected.

“I love to play here in the PDC with the big names in darts, and now I feel I belong among them.

“My target this year is to qualify for the World Championship.”

Jansen began his route to glory with victories over Radek Szaganski and William O’Connor, before a narrow 6-5 scalp of world number one Peter Wright to reach the Last 16.

There, he prevailed in another deciding leg against Krzysztof Ratajski, before defeating Chris Dobey and Chisnall in the Quarter-Finals and Semi-Finals respectively.

Meanwhile, Gilding’s continuation of his strong form in 2022 saw him reach his first ProTour final since 2014 courtesy of victories over Rob Cross, Jose de Sousa and UK Open champion Danny Noppert along the way.

Simon Whitlock landed the 14th nine-darter in PDC events so far this season but could not avert a First Round exit to Belgium’s Mike De Decker.

Former Premier League champion Glen Durrant enjoyed his first ranked wins since July 2021, defeating Tony Martinez and Dimitri Van den Bergh before going down 6-4 to Dave Chisnall in the Last 32.

Michael van Gerwen was beaten 6-2 by his Dutch nemesis Noppert in the Quarter-Finals, while Belgian newcomer Mario Vandenbogaerde also enjoyed an impressive run to the Last Eight.


Players Championship Nine Results

Friday April 1

First Round
Gerwyn Price (BYE)
Geert Nentjes 6-5 Luke Woodhouse
Madars Razma 6-4 Keane Barry
Jason Lowe 6-5 Nick Fullwell
Brendan Dolan 6-1 Jason Heaver
Ricky Evans 6-2 Scott Waites
Martin Schindler 6-4 Scott Mitchell
Mario Vandenbogaerde 6-2 Jake Jones
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-0 John Brown
Glen Durrant 6-5 Tony Martinez
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Luc Peters
Peter Hudson 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse
Damon Heta 6-4 Steve Lennon
Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Adam Hunt
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Ryan Meikle
Kevin Doets 6-1 Ron Meulenkamp
Peter Wright 6-3 David Evans
Jon Worsley 6-5 Darren Webster
William O’Connor 6-4 Mervyn King
Danny Jansen 6-2 Radek Szaganski
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Jose Justicia
Steve Beaton 6-4 Jeff Smith
James Wade 6-5 Jamie Hughes
Matt Campbell 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Darren Penhall 6-5 Joe Cullen
Adam Gawlas 6-4 Steve West
Callan Rydz 6-2 Jules van Dongen
Brett Claydon 6-0 Shaun Wilkinson
Josh Rock 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Brian Raman 6-3 Danny Baggish
Chris Dobey 6-3 Mickey Mansell
Ryan Joyce 6-5 William Borland
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Jimmy Hendriks
Ted Evetts 6-1 John Michael
Mike De Decker 6-5 Simon Whitlock – *Whitlock hits a nine-darter*
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-3 Martin Lukeman
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Jim Williams
Berry van Peer 6-4 Ross Montgomery
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Richie Burnett
Devon Petersen 6-5 Damian Mol
Gary Anderson 6-4 Michael Smith
Cameron Menzies 6-2 Boris Krcmar
Gabriel Clemens 6-5 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Max Hopp 6-2 Alan Soutar
Ryan Searle 6-5 Eddie Lovely
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-2 Ricardo Pietreczko
Danny Noppert 6-1 Gordon Mathers
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 Bradley Brooks
Jose de Sousa 6-1 Ian White
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Niels Zonneveld
Martijn Kleermaker 6-4 Steve Haggerty
Kevin Burness 6-5 Graham Hall
Andy Boulton 6-2 Daryl Gurney
John O’Shea 6-4 Geert De Vos
Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Nathan Aspinall
Joe Murnan 6-1 Vladimir Andersen
Rob Cross 6-5 Florian Hempel
George Killington 6-2 Nathan Rafferty
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Zoran Lerchbacher
Connor Scutt 6-3 Keegan Brown
Luke Humphries 6-3 Jack Main
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-2 Michael Unterbuchner
Andrew Gilding 6-3 Ross Smith
Lewy Williams 6-0 John Henderson

Second Round
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Geert Nentjes
Madars Razma 6-5 Jason Lowe
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Ricky Evans
Mario Vandenbogaerde 6-1 Martin Schindler
Glen Durrant 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Dave Chisnall 6-0 Peter Hudson
Darius Labanauskas 6-5 Damon Heta
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Kevin Doets
Peter Wright 6-3 Jon Worsley
Danny Jansen 6-5 William O’Connor
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Steve Beaton
James Wade 6-5 Matt Campbell
Darren Penhall 6-4 Adam Gawlas
Callan Rydz 6-1 Brett Claydon
Brian Raman 6-3 Josh Rock
Chris Dobey 6-2 Ryan Joyce
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Ted Evetts
Mike De Decker 6-2 Maik Kuivenhoven
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Berry van Peer
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Devon Petersen
Gary Anderson 6-3 Cameron Menzies
Max Hopp 6-4 Gabriel Clemens
Ryan Searle 6-4 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Danny Noppert 6-5 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Jose de Sousa 6-2 Vincent van der Voort
Kevin Burness 6-3 Martijn Kleermaker
Andy Boulton 6-2 John O’Shea
Raymond van Barneveld 6-1 Joe Murnan
Rob Cross 6-4 George Killington
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Connor Scutt
Luke Humphries 6-1 Krzysztof Kciuk
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Lewy Williams
Losers: £750

Last 32
Madars Razma 6-3 Gerwyn Price
Mario Vandenbogaerde 6-5 Brendan Dolan
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Glen Durrant
Kim Huybrechts 6-1 Darius Labanauskas
Danny Jansen 6-5 Peter Wright
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-1 James Wade
Callan Rydz 6-4 Darren Penhall
Chris Dobey 6-0 Brian Raman
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Mike De Decker
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Stephen Bunting
Gary Anderson 6-5 Max Hopp
Danny Noppert 6-3 Ryan Searle
Jose de Sousa 6-0 Kevin Burness
Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Andy Boulton
Rob Cross 6-5 Adrian Lewis
Andrew Gilding 6-2 Luke Humphries
Losers: £1,250

Last 16
Mario Vandenbogaerde 6-4 Madars Razma
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Danny Jansen 6-5 Krzysztof Ratajski
Chris Dobey 6-2 Callan Rydz
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Danny Noppert 6-4 Gary Anderson
Jose de Sousa 6-4 Raymond van Barneveld
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Rob Cross
Losers: £2,000

Dave Chisnall 6-4 Mario Vandenbogaerde
Danny Jansen 6-4 Chris Dobey
Danny Noppert 6-2 Michael van Gerwen
Andrew Gilding 6-3 Jose de Sousa
Losers: £3,000

Danny Jansen 7-6 Dave Chisnall
Andrew Gilding 7-4 Danny Noppert
Losers: £4,000

Danny Jansen 8-6 Andrew Gilding
Winner: £12,000
Runner-up: £8,000