The World Grand Prix is a PDC darts tournament held at the CityWest Convention Centre in Dublin each October.

Established in 1998, this unique tournament has shorter opening rounds, which can lead to some surprise results, and players must commence and finish each leg on a double including the option of the bull.

This also makes achieving the nine-darter more difficult but, with the standards always rising, the sport's Holy Grail has been achieved on three occasions in the event's history.

Brendan Dolan made the first during his semi-final against James Wade in 2011, while Wade and Robert Thornton also achieved the feat during the same match in 2014 - the first time this has happened during any televised event.

The £400,000 tournament is comprised of 32 players with the top 16 on the PDC Order of Merit competing against the 16 highest-ranked on the Pro Tour Order of Merit for a top prize of £100,000.

However, like most events on the calendar, the World Grand Prix has been dominated by Phil Taylor, who has lifted the trophy on 11 occasions with his most recent triumph coming courtesy of a 6-0 whitewash of Dave Chisnall in the 2013 final.

Although, the Power, like many big names, has also fallen foul of the quick-fire format, suffering first-round exits on five occasions including each of the last two editions.

The more recent history of the event has belonged to Michael van Gerwen, who has won the title four times in the last seven years.

World Grand Prix Darts live streaming (18+)

World Grand Prix roll of honour

YearFinal Result
1998Phil Taylor 13-8 Rod Harrington
1999Phil Taylor 6-1 Shayne Burgess
2000Phil Taylor 6-1 Shayne Burgess
2001Alan Warriner 8-2 Roland Scholten
2002Phil Taylor 7-3 John Part
2003Phil Taylor 7-2 John Part
2004Colin Lloyd 7-3 Alan Warriner
2005Phil Taylor 7-1 Colin Lloyd
2006Phil Taylor 7-4 Terry Jenkins
2007James Wade 6-3 Terry Jenkins
2008Phil Taylor 6-2 Raymond van Barneveld
2009Phil Taylor 6-3 Raymond van Barneveld
2010James Wade 6-3 Adrian Lewis 
2011Phil Taylor 6-3 Brendan Dolan
2012Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Mervyn King
2013Phil Taylor 6-0 Dave Chisnall
2014Michael van Gerwen 5-3 James Wade
2015Robert Thornton 5-4 Michael van Gerwen
2016Michael van Gerwen 5-2 Gary Anderson
2017Daryl Gurney 5-4 Simon Whitlock 
2018Michael van Gerwen 5-2 Peter Wright 

You have unread messages

You have unread messages