The Melbourne Darts Masters is a brand new addition to the ever-growing PDC calendar to be held at the Hisense Arena in Melbourne, Australia.

With the aim of taking the sport into new areas and continuing to grow the game across the globe, the tournament will be the fourth leg of the increasingly popular World Series of Darts schedule in 2017.

Like all World Series events, the 16-man tournament sees eight of the PDC's highest-ranked players invited alongside eight local favourites, who come through qualifiers for the right to take on the best in the business.

The event has replaced the long-running Sydney Darts Masters, which ran from 2013 to 2016, with Phil Taylor lifting the trophy in all four editions.

Taylor is likely to be on display during his final year on the PDC circuit, while he could be joined by the likes of Michael van Gerwen, Peter Wright and Gary Anderson Down Under.

The tournament will be held across the weekend of August 18-20 at the Hisense Arena in Melbourne, Australia.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages