Right arrow

Ladbrokes Darts Masters 2020 Day One preview and order of play: Star names eyeing winning start to the season

Ladbrokes Masters 2020 Draw, Live Scores and Tournament Schedule

Jamie Shaw in The Masters 02 Feb 2020
Michael van Gerwen is the reigning and five-time champion (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The first televised tournament of the new season sees the world’s top 16 collide at The Masters, and you can follow the latest results and fixtures here.

The curtain is officially raised on the 2020/21 PDC season with the elite invitational at the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes.

The eighth staging of the £200,000 tournament features the top 16 players in the PDC Order of Merit battle it out over three darts of action.

Michael van Gerwen has made this tournament his own in recent years, winning the title on five consecutive occasions to remain unbeaten since 2014.

After his heartache in the World Championship final on New Year’s Day, MVG will be determined to return to winning ways at the first time of asking and extend his stranglehold on this trophy.

Second seed Peter Wright will be introduced as reigning World Champion for the first time as he looks to pick up from where he left off at Alexandra Palace.

Grand Slam champion Gerwyn Price, World Matchplay champion Rob Cross, former world finalist Michael Smith and two-time World Champion Gary Anderson are also eyeing glory.

Nathan Aspinall is the sole debutant in this year’s Masters, while 2014 winner James Wade is the only other former champion involved.

The tournament runs from January 31 to February 2, with First Round and Quarter-Final matches contested over the best of 19 legs and Semi-Finals and Final best of 21.


Ladbrokes Masters 2020 Tournament Schedule

Friday January 31

First Round

Michael Smith 10-6 Mensur Suljovic
Nathan Aspinall 10-4 James Wade
Michael van Gerwen 6-10 Jonny Clayton
Rob Cross 5-10 Adrian Lewis

Saturday February 1

First Round

Daryl Gurney 8-10 Dave Chisnall
Gary Anderson 10-8 Ian White
Peter Wright 10-7 Joe Cullen
Gerwyn Price 10-9 Simon Whitlock

Sunday February 2

Afternoon Session (12.45pm-4.45pm)

Adrian Lewis 6-10 Michael Smith
Jonny Clayton 8-10 Nathan Aspinall
Gerwyn Price 2-10 Gary Anderson
Peter Wright 10-0 Dave Chisnall

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)

Michael Smith 11-10 Nathan Aspinall
Peter Wright 11-7 Gary Anderson

Peter Wright 11-10 Michael Smith

Prize Fund
Runner-up: £25,000
Semi-Final losers: £17,500
Quarter-Final losers: £10,000
First Round losers: £5,000