The Masters

The Masters News

The Masters

The Masters is the first PDC tournament of the new season and is played at the end of January into the beginning of February.

The Masters is the top 16 players in the PDC Order of merit and is a non-ranked event, meaning prize money won does not affect the order of merit.

The inaugural tournament was held in 2013, where 16-time World Champion Phil Taylor won the title by crushing Adrian Lewis 10-1 in the final.

The first two years of The Masters were held in Edinburgh before it was relocated to Milton Keynes in 2015.

Since the move, the Masters has been dominated by Michael van Gerwen, who has won the season opener for the last five years.

For many, The Masters is traditionally seen as a warm-up event prior to the start of the new Premier League season the following week. This is always a great chance for players to start the new season with a bang. Although not ranked it’s still a TV title, so sits well on the CV. Starting the season well is so important for players, as can boost confidence early in the year and can set them up for a great year.

First Round and Quarter-Final matches are contested over the best of 19 legs, with Semi-Finals and the final best of 21.

Since the move to Milton Keynes, the prize fund has stood at £200,000, with the winner pocketing £60,000. This won’t help the players ranking, but always great for the bank balance. For some players, this is the only chance to play on TV, before the UK Open. Unless you are in the Premier League.

Peter Wright 2020 Masters Winner